Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Creatures from beneath the surface

by schnüt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Prepare for a.... really short... Adventure in the depths of dark caves!
Will you be brave enough to jump down the entry? Will you be strong enough to get back up? How is it possible to ascend the tower on the east of this land? What kind of creatures are you going to encounter in the shadows of the sunken world? And why am I asking all of these questions?

This is my first time at Ludum Dare. I didn't have quite as much time as hoped, but it was fun nethertheless. ^^
As a consequence, there is no real end. Consider the game won if you get to the top of the tower in the east. :-)

This game is made with pure Javascript, without any framework, the sounds were made with sfxr.
Now, have fun!

Controls:
Movement: Arrow Keys
Set an action point at current location: Space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Theme3.82
#525Graphics3.21
#530Mood3.00
#558Fun3.00
#564Overall3.18
#699Humor2.24
#734Audio2.41
#810Innovation2.71
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08am

Really like the art, Not sure what i was supposed to be doing exactly though. I think I made it to the end?

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice game. The creatures sometimes dont work as intended. I would have enjoyed the full game a lot. You should make a full game with this mechanic :)

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

This comment contains spoilers.

At first it looked very simplistic. Then I fell down the cavern, and found a nice new tileset, with pretty columns. Then I found a bouncing blob. Not really sure if it reacted to my space bar or just randomly grew on its own, but anyway it helped me going back to the upper levels. Then I found a second blob, and reached the top of the tower, and I guess it was the end of the game even if no message announced it? The scrolling is a bit jerky, and it's not too deep or complex a game, but still nice and cozy.

Oh, thanks alot for using arrow keys!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Well not bat at, its a bit hard to end up something thats not that short to win, but in general its ok! you should keep making it. Good Luck! :)

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Took me a while to understand what the blue blob did, but once I got it, the rest of the game fell into place. One thing that might have been nice was having two buttons, one to place the blue blob and one to place the green. I didn't realize they were both getting placed right away.

v26 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Was going to explore to the left after I reached the top of the tower to the right...but my poor blob got stuck up there :'-( Neat mechanics but needed more usage of the green blob (unless I've missed something)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Couldn't get web to work.

uRLgR3y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Really didn't understand what was going on. Really enjoyed the graphics but wish there was music and sounds.

eastes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:11am

The guy is cute. Dark mood. 5 stars for mood.

schnüt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58am

Hi there, thanks for all the feedback! :D
It is really great to see some reactions, that really shows where I can improve and motivates me a lot.
I might start a bit earlier next year, to have a bit more time for everything. ^^

Sorry that it doesn't work in some browsers (I heard of problems with IE and Opera), I wasn't aware that wavs aren't supported everywhere. Chrome or Firefox should do the job.

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:56pm

I liked the little square creatures, they were really cute :3

May 1, 2014 @ 9:57am

loved the mechanic with the litte guys following you :) took me a little bit to figure out what they do, but it was awesome to jump around with them once i found out!
I think this game has a lot of potential with a goal to achieve or something!

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:01pm

very nice li'l puzzle platformer! I got to the top of the tower, followed by two creatures. did I win?

Belvar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Fun game and original idea with the two little cute square creatures ! Figured out the "end" on my own, which means a clever level design I think.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]