Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

What Could Go Wrong In A Submarine?

by JPLynk - Jam Entry

Keep your submarine from sinking! Don't let too much water in, and don't let the reactor flood!

Hold Z to repair leaks
X to open doors
Arrow keys to move
Space bar to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#268Innovation(Jam)3.25
#268Theme(Jam)3.37
#280Audio(Jam)3.26
#326Graphics(Jam)3.50
#382Humor(Jam)2.53
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#543Mood(Jam)2.76
#571Fun(Jam)2.60
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Hahah it's not as easy as I thought ! I like the animation of the character, it's very well done ! The music is also very nice. Unfortunately for me, everything that could have get wrong with my little submarine got wrong :P

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I'm not sure I can fix leaks. The music was nice though :)

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I like the idea and the style, but the game was a little too big to see all of it at once in my browser!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:54am

Pretty creative idea, but really tough. Good game!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:21am

Man, whoever engineered that submarine should be fired. It leaks at every seam!!! It would be nice to have more visual feedback on how much water is coming in, because when you lose, you just kind of suddenly lose. Is there a way to win? I couldn't hold off the leaks for very long but I'm wondering if there's a win condition or not. And screw that old man sleeping! DO SOME WORK, MAN, WE'RE SINKING!

Jonapulse says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:22am

That was not a well made sub! Someone should be sued!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:26am

Interesting game. I played it a couple times and it seems like losing is inevitable which I feel like doesnt encourage replaying. Sound and graphics where nice and I liked the 2d platformer style for a game like this.

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:30am

Tough to tell when you're about to lose or which leaks are a priority to fix. That said, I like the concept and the graphics are pretty good!

hyouko says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:30am

Oh god everything is flooding! Reminds me a bit of FTL.

Fun and funny, but for some reason the collision detection appears to be off in the lower-right room, making it impossible to fix some leaks that occur there.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:43am

A bit challenging... hard to jump on top of the bookcase, for example.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Very cool idea :)

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Controls were kind of weird. Cool concept tho

Erkberg says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:28pm

A nice game, good idea, graphics and sound, but the controls are really annoying for someone with a non-qwerty keyboard layout like me, please consider providing alternative controls in the future.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]