Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Big in NY

by BigGiantHead - Jam Entry

How to play

Use [ w ] [ a ] [ s ] [ d ] to move + [ shift ] to run.

Follow the yellow arrow to collect coins, worth
1 mill $ each, to reset the timer in the upper right
corner of the screen.

If you jump or run in residents' private space
(2 yellow lines) the timer will go down.

If you touch the police officer the timer will go down.

When the timer runs out the terrain is cut in half.

When the terrain disappears you lose the game.

Story

You are trying to make it in New York,
as you discover a black and white copy beneath.
Unless you make it without pissing
off the residents, both cities will
be decimated in a horrific explosion.

I dedicate this game to my girlfriend,
whose greatest wish is to live in New York.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#112Humor(Jam)3.38
#246Mood(Jam)3.34
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#335Innovation(Jam)3.09
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#387Overall(Jam)3.18
#419Graphics(Jam)3.26
#633Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

loved the atmosphere!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50am

Nice entry, loved the art style

Agreon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32pm

A very cool idea :)

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Nice, very nice)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Nice use of music to set the tone.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

It was really relaxing to play your game :-)

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nice entry with great art!

I would have loved some more mechanics, the game was basically running and jumping back and forth.

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The music is really good. I don't really understand why there is a black and white copy of you, and what's the link with the theme, though.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

There are supposed to be "power-ups" that you can pickup with the guy on the other side. Didn't have enough time to implement them. One idea is to get like a time stop power-up.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Great work !
it's a nice idea !

Loneshark says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:58am

I made 40 million and I STILL couldn't make it in New York!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:31am

32 million here. I bow to you sir. You broke my record.

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Creative way of showing the town as falling down 3D blocks in the background

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:33am

The style of the buildings and the mirrored city are pretty cool, but the spacing of the coins feels strange. On one playthrough, coins were really far apart and would have been impossible without the run; on another they were all within 2 screen lengths.

BigGiantHead says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Yes, I am aware of that. I already created a better version yesterday, but it's not uploaded yet. I don't know if I'm supposed to upload it.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:09pm

You can upload it if you keep a link to the original and clearly specify wich link is the original submission, and wich is your post-compo

BigGiantHead says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Already changed it. Hope you like it. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]