Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ramen Master

by RowdyGhosts - Jam Entry

Give the customer a delicious bowl of ramen! But beware, you must must make sure the correct ingredients make it BELOW THE SURFACE of the broth or they won't be happy! =(

Have fun! =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#203Humor(Jam)3.03
#438Innovation(Jam)2.85
#482Graphics(Jam)3.09
#483Audio(Jam)2.76
#639Fun(Jam)2.37
#644Mood(Jam)2.49
#644Overall(Jam)2.68
#745Theme(Jam)1.74

Comments

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

An interesting idea, though the ties to the theme are a bit forced haha.

I was doing pretty horrible before I switched from using a trackpad to using a mouse but then it got interesting. It was till difficult to know if I'd dropped the food in the right spot or not but it was easier than before.

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56am

Your comments are very correct! haha

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

More vegetableness, some meatiness, and gimme that dang cookie.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19am

That's quite a title screen you've got! I get that the whole physicsness of it is the point, and it could be cool, but I found it more annoying than funny. I had a hard time knowing what my hand would grab. I think it'd work better if you could sort of fling things around with a flick, that way you could 'dig' through your ingredients and just toss the right ones in. I think that could actually make it into a fun mobile game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Funny game, original and well implemented. The artwork is really well done. Great work !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Liked the graphics style but I found the controls a bit frustrating

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Fun concept. You probably could've gone 'deeper' with it. Needs a bit more instruction at the beginning, and definitely make sure the drop targets are easily detectable.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

I found placing things in the bowl to be more frustrating than not; likely because of the "below the surface of the broth" bit ;).

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

Playing is quite fiddly (partially because the game window is so tall, but it was amusing to play. It might have fit the theme better if the order of the ingredients mattered, so some are BELOW THE SURFACE, and some rise above.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18am

I had trouble understanding the instructions of what ingredients to place in the soup. The placing mechanic is tough to use (my items regularly missed the bowl), and timing feels very fast. I think the concept is funny and could be fun with a bit more tuning though. I enjoyed the silly music and the graphics. You have also made me crave ramen!

kidder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48am

Love the graphics and concept. Difficulty curve could use some work, it ramps up pretty slowly.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:02am

Really creative idea!

Loneshark says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:50am

Screen is a bit too tall for 1600x900...

Man, now I crave Ramen...

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:03am

A lovely starting page and nice graphics; however, there's some issues with use of screen real estate. You have all that nice space between bowl and ingredients which doesn't seem to be used for anything, but the ingredients are placed just at the bottom border of the screen--where clicking and dragging is at a maximum likelihood to just deselect the window. I also couldn't understand why I lost the game when I did, so some information on the loss condition would be helpful.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:08am

Nice music, graphics, and game!

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Hard to understand the instructions, doesn't fill the jam theme

pikkpoiss says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:08am

I like the idea of trying to figure out the ingredients which would suit the customer's request, but got too hung up on the difficulty of dragging items fast enough that I didn't really get to think about what I was doing. Adjusting the timing and accuracy constraints would help I think, but this is a promising start!

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Nice idea, but I could barely guess what the clients requested (english is not my main language :( )

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:39am

I don't see how it fits with the theme but is a very nice game. The only thing I would suggest is to make the 'grab' mora accurate

tchem says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:42pm

great,, crazy concept, i like it.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I also ask for my noodles to have fillingness!

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:29am

I love whole pigs in my noodles. Especially ones that smile at me

TobiasW says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Was it intended that it's hard to grab/drop things at the right position? I often had the feeling that it should've been put into the pot, but missed it anyway.

Apart from that, the gameplay was easy enough to understand and fun. The graphics work fine and the sounds are great.

A bit more feedback would've been nice - I was suddenly game over, which came as a surprise to me.

Here, have some votiness and commentings!

PS: We are not a fast food restaurant! Damn youngsters always in a hurry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]