Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Whack-a-Meme

by GameGrape Corporation - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ALERT! The memes have taken over the under world! Its up to you to knock-em-out! Welcome to Whack-a-Meme! Hit those crazy meme's back into their holes in this fun, and past paced game. Don't hit the grapes! You'll lose health. Can you get the most points?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#315Humor2.84
#936Audio1.87
#1192Mood1.78
#1213Fun1.92
#1255Innovation1.66
#1257Graphics1.53
#1260Theme1.53
#1273Overall1.83

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

Haha, 5 star on humor.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44am

A few technical problems. The link provided in sourceless copy is invalid. It's fine, you can just browse to the exe manually, but I thought you might want to know. The game automatically went fullscreen at a very small resolution, one that my video card didn't like, so I sat at a flickering black screen for about two minutes while the music, which seemed way too loud, blared in the background. Once the game actually started, it ran way too fast. It looked like flashing heads above each cup. At one point it lagged for a second and I could see that they were supposed to be coming out one at a time, but that made the game functionally unplayable. I just mashed the hammer above one of the cups until I died.

pichifino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

the game starts really hard,and im not sure if i have to click the memes or not because i lose no mater what, also i would like to keep playing without having to restart the game each time i lose

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

the game has a few technical problems, and i think @empyrealhell covered most of it. good luck fixing your bugs and congrats to your first LD!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Double You Tee Eff did I just play!? XD

tylerb1 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

I'm going to mention it again, but yes, there are a couple technical problems, but overall, a very pointless, but pretty funny little game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Thanks Everyone! :D

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

I feel like I have jus been trolled

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

haha terraco, glad you like it! :D

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

Congrats on your first LD. Keep making games!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

thanks @EmberKirk! :D GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com and good luck to you! :)

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

The games unplayably fast. It starts up and its over in about 5 seconds.

tomhunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

no .exe included, just a link to a file location presumably on the dev's computer.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

@tomhunt don't worry it's there, its a shortcut to the executable double tap and open the game :D Have fun!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50am

@eerongal sorry to hear that, I'll slow down the speed in a future update, thanks! :D GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

I somehow ended up with a dead shortcut to the game, trying to find it on the F:\ drive. Also, relax on the GameGrape Corporation links a bit. Ludum Dare isn't a place to through ads all over, it's getting ridiculous.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Either the hammer's hit box or the meme faces hitboxes are too small, because I could hit grapes consistently, but I barely could hit any faces at all.

Great try!

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Um... two things. First, I don't know when I whack something. Or maybe I never did.

Second, if I just press the mouse key, the... flypaper? keeps down, then after a while the game closes with an alert saying a number. What does that mean?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

Thanks @hissssssssss! You have to hit them on the head :D so alittle over there heads :) thanks for the feedback! :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

@muramasa :) The alert at the end gives you your final score :D When you whack it plays a little whack sound, and when you hit a meme it plays a "ding!" :) Thanks for your feedback!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04am

Hahahaha cool game you have here! :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21am

um. ok.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00am

thanks! haha @ENDESGA

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00am

:) glad you liked it @sPoCkEr2! :D

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25am

Well man, you sure did something...I'm speechless O_O

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

LOLOLOLOLOL!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

Oh god.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

Funny game, really like it!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Confusing? It's weird, but gameplay is simple and it's funny!

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

The game shortcut does not work.
For people wondering: just run \bin\Whack a meme.exe
You should repack your game so the exe is in first folder.

Not to be that bitch but: the game should be a jam entry, since some of the images you used are not original content.

Lastly, on my pc the game runs too fast to be playable and I was not able to play. I will rate it once you rebuild it with some kind of fps limit. ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

ahahh good job:)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I can't.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Really trolling game :)

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

please...

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

no

rubna says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

<:(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Thanks Guys! :D @Muu? I will look into the .exe error, thanks!

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

thank you game grape corporation. I have always wondered what it would be like to whack the may-mays and this has fulfilled that dream.

simplesmiler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

It's great that you have so much energy and aspiration, but you need to learn how to do thing properly from technical point of view. It may be hard and boring, but your games will only became better.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

lol no problem @Afal :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

@simplesmiler alright, I understand. Thanks for your feedback! :)

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18am

Sadly, it's unplayably fast-moving on my (fairly modest) computer. If you haven't already, you should implement a timing loop that limits the game logic to run at a steady pace, regardless of how fast the game renders.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:06am

It is a nice game... I really dislike how the game closes itself when the game is over...

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10am

ow my ears :(

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52am

jesus, that killed my parallels desktop
like literally gave it seizures

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:51pm

It runs way too fast on my computer :(

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Sorry to hear that, @spotco and @Gins

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:43pm

thanks @metkis! :D

minibutmany says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The link didn't work for me either...
Having the score pop up in a second window after the game finished was kind of annoying. Nice music tho.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:47am

uhhhhh wat

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:14am

Well, that was quick.. still pretty cool tho!

davidB says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:59am

run too fast then crash on my computer.

May 5, 2014 @ 9:06am

Whaaat?

jtpup0 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:51am

Lovely incorporation of the meme faces, The game needs a start button or something so I don't lose immediately.

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:30am

Hope the game will be more developed in the future, but the meme idea is really awesome :)

May 18, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Thanks jtpup0! I normally do that with my games, but I took too much time trying to think of a game idea that i had to use my alternative entry i made at the beginning of the jam. Thanks! -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

May 18, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Thanks aelita1992, Will DO! :D -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:16pm

This is basically the LSD bad-trip of someone who spends too much time on 9GAG :P

May 19, 2014 @ 11:21pm

xD haha glad you like it @wilbefast :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]