Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

MechSpider

by Sebastião - 48 Hour Compo Entry

####
new version stable, you can play it now.sorry for inconvenience
no web player because it´s corrupted, unity3d web player fault
###

Play 3 levels full of action against bad robots.
###No Source Code because this game has used Playmaker for all programming.
Thanks for your time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#626Audio2.63
#777Graphics2.82
#926Mood2.57
#988Humor1.79
#1061Innovation2.34
#1149Theme2.22
#1166Fun2.14
#1172Overall2.41

Comments

Guennor says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

...There are no links

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

web version didn't open from dropbox....?

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I'm getting an "invalid data file" error when I click on the web link.

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Broke, Invalid Data File. You must have misnamed your .unity3d file

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

neither working over here...curious though how this goes with the theme :D

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Invalid Data File as well :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Also getting invalid data file.

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Windows version error!
Failed to load mono:
Unable to load mono library from "****/#3_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126).

bentosmile says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I also had the same problems getting it to run as everyone else. Sorry :(

Sebastião says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

It´s all fixed now!

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

The movement is a bit glitchy, but the sounds and the graphics are really nice ;). Good job!

Adam Gould says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Buggy (no pun intended) but good! The controls need to be better, but a great idea!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Not a fan of the hammering walking sound. It's a bit too loud and takes all the space.

A softer collision system would have made the game a lot easier. (Which is strange, as usually Unity handles it pretty decently.) Game still plays fine and looks great. Good job!

PS: While it doesn't matter to me, if you couldn't upload the source, you should probably have entered the Jam instead. It's more relaxed on the rules and less headache-inducing.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

The mouse sensitivity is way too low and when I turn right, the mouse leaves the screen the games on, so firing minimizes the game. kinda not what you wanna do when being attacked! otherwise is looks amazing well done!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

The spider animation was very cool, and the audio had very neat touches as well, congrats!

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

The game is greate but you forgot to lock the mouse on the screen witch makes the game difficult to play with m'y dual screen :/

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

As other have said, there is a problem with mouse focus and sensitivity. But a nice effort nonetheless. I liked the music.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice work with the spider! The game was a bit difficult to play due to running into walls. Enjoyed the audio, good work!

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

the soundtrack was nice, but the sound effects could use a little work. Other than the mouse leaving my screen, it was a nice game.

fermenter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:51am

Had some trouble moving around because of sticking to walls.

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Music is a pleasant arpeggio cavern to crawl inside of, but footsteps are very clangy. Control was difficult. Spider legs look very nice.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Sound effects are repetitive and very distracting. Very glitchy when making turns with camera. Also couldn't find a way out to exit the game without killing my self.

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:17pm

The main soundtrack was ace, and the lighting was good. Nice job!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Like the mood, looks very promising!

guimonpa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice music and mood. I think the enemies should have been easier to kill, there are situations where even if you start shooting as soon as you see them they get to you before they die.

Sim00n says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Is there a way to rotate the spider? There needs to be some kind of help screen. I like the graphics though.

JayPC says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Interesting Idea, the walking sound was kind of grating, and no matter how many times I shot the blue cubes, I always got hit. Also I use 2 monitors and there was no mouse lock, so I kept clicking outside the game window. overall interesting idea!

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Weird, the concept reminded me of Amaurote, back in the 80s, but the execution is more towards Xybots, which is good. Had a strange bug, as neither the title and menu appeared. I could eventually work around it by clicking with the mouse where the start option was supposed to be.

Zed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I love a game I can get lost in, and this is definitely one of those, because... I did. The clicking noise was a bit annoying, but I guess you can't be picky when you're a MECHSPIDER. Laser beams out of its face and everything. Brilliant.

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:52pm

The graphics of the game worked great, but the collision system was very difficult to play with. I was never able to kill a robot.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:39am

Really great audio! Well done!

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:24pm

The graphics were really cool but sometimes the spider would get stuck in the corner. Also, it would be nice to have a health bar for enemies.

TheSheep says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I'm not sure if that is intended, but I could only turn about 90 degrees -- possibly because the mouse cursor reached the edge of the screen then. The mouse cursor doesn't re-appear when you die, so clicking "Quit" is a little difficult.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]