Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Falling

by StrykerKKD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is HTML5 game was made with Dart+StageXL.
I tested it in mostly chrome and sometimes Firefox, so in those it should work.

The game was an experiment to try out my newly made State Machine and to test my programming skill with Dart and StageXL. This competition for me was an experiment to make my State machine better and maybe in the future i can use it to make a HTML5 framework with it.

The game is playable and has an suprise at the end, but the main strong point of the game is the machine that makes it work.

The final built version of the game is worse than the Dart version, because there was a name collision, which i could not solve.

I hope you guys will like my game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#1028Humor1.65
#1062Audio1.26
#1197Mood1.62
#1210Fun1.94
#1221Graphics1.84
#1259Theme1.54
#1262Innovation1.50
#1265Overall1.92

Comments

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24am

It's pretty simple and short, the platform and the ball is nicely drawn though

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08am

Art is OK, and it doesn't fit the theme. but as a game it is pretty fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Neat idea!

somehow I can only move in 1 direction though :(

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

I'm really bad at controlling falling balls.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

Cool take on the falling-sort of game. :) Good job!

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

over 9000!

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

It's a shame that it stops at 9000, would be pretty addictive otherwise.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29am

I also tried to get as far as I could.. didn't make it past 6k

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30am

Simple, but it works. It'd be nice if it had some music and maybe some powerups/bonuses along the way. Interesting to see that you used Dart.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Simple and fun, I like it!

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

simple and fun

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Had to laugh at the end!

How did StageXL feel? All my games so far are in Dart, but never used StageXL because I've got my own little thingy.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I like StageXL, because it has a clean codebase, has a lot of examples and makes my life easier because i don't have to care about rendering(webGL or canvas), render loop, resource management, tweens etc..

All in all, it does it's work splendidly.

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

It's over nine THOUSAAAAAAND ! That's actually pretty good if you're learning HTML5 and it's not made in a game engine. I'd have probably had a hard time if I had to use the same tools as you :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

too simple...

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Completed. Easter eggs, it all made sense ;) !

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Where is the game?

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Nice.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41am

Yeah, a very minimal game, good luck with your state machine.

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48am

over 9000 :(

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Simple, stable game. I like that you state what your programming goals were!

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Collision is off (no, it could neeeever be my fault! ;)). Is my hit volume a box? :(

StrykerKKD says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Collision is done with bounding box, so sometimes it's unfair. My next game won't have this problem because i found out how to do shape based collision.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:41pm

A bit too basic for my liking, although I'm not really smart enough to know what your state machine is all about so maybe some of the technical impressiveness is lost on me. Could be made into something fun though!

May 17, 2014 @ 2:20pm

The viewport should be long enough for the player to plan his moves, otherwise it becomes just a luck game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]