Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jeremy Brain: Brain Doctor

by idovingx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A first person adventure game - as a therapist, you enter the mind of your patient and attempt to cure his sexual hang ups. if you like it, follow me on twitter at @jessebarksdale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#60Humor3.74
#83Theme3.90
#113Mood3.71
#124Innovation3.79
#166Audio3.46
#203Overall3.58
#540Fun3.03
#693Graphics2.95

Comments

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Epic! That thing going around and around! Loved it!

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Interesting idea and fun to play. Great game!

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I think this should be fun, but it wasn't much funny for me. And movement was sloooow.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Called it XD

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

someone's been playing the Stanley Parable! very cool!

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

this is a really great idea and take on the theme. more video games need to talk about human problems. great job

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

The first thing I thought when I started playing was "Oh cool,it's Antichamber". That impression stuck pretty well too, except that this is a lot more light-hearted.. I really like Antichamber, so you can probably guess what I thought of the game.

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Saw the twist coming from a mile away but nonetheless this was a solid entry, good job!

mouse25 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

cool story bro Xp

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Some really nice aspects to this, the narration was great and when the geometry synced with the narrative (going round and around) that was the best moment.

pereubu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Great work ! Very stanley parable-ish.
I especially like the idea of depicting the dialogues with the level design :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Thoroughly enjoyed this.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

That was certainly interesting. Very good story driven experience, taking a touchy subject and representing it well without putting in any really base humor. While it might not be much of a game, it certainly is entertaining.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Amazing work, fun to play, wish it was longer!

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36pm

By far the most creative game I saw in this compo so far!
I need to complain about the camera shaking.. You probably used Unity's Character Controller.. it's really bad.. it hurts my eyes! Maybe you should consider buying a better asset or making your own.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

Really interesting take on the theme. Also one had one of the funniest buttons I've ever seen.

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Yeah, wonderful use of theme. Gameplay-wise, there's a bit too much backtracking for my liking, but the core idea was nevertheless effective and well-employed. Would love to see this polished up post-comp.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Really really good writing and voice-over!
Only downsides:
- Paths were too long AND silent sometimes. No problem walking a lot if you're listening to the audio, but walking an empity corridor is quite dull.
- Platforming was standing in a weird middle ground here - it should either be challenging or easy and short.
- Audio should never overlap. I've triggered a text while one was still going on and they both went on in a terrible cacophony. That reveals two issues: one is that audio files are playing alongside and other is that the pacing at the final scene should be adjusted to the audio file durations.

One of my favorites so far. Kudos!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Hehe, yes, got a very Stanley Parable vibe going on here, which is great. That tiled wall texture though...I can see some people getting sick from that xD

May 5, 2014 @ 12:38am

Hey! The world's favorite Brain doctor named "Brain" is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

May 6, 2014 @ 2:27am

AMAZING!!!
Im a little biased to say that because i love games with daily life plot and interactive storyline, but the execution was also great!
My only complain is that the lack of background music gets the game a little creepy... even if it was a simple song or just some notes could break this feeling.
Other than that, the game and the plot was superb. Thanks for the experience

shadow64 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I thought that this was really well done. It executes on an original idea very nicely. The humor is solid, the level design is nice. It's not the most complicated game in the world, but there are definitely many elements that I absolutely loved in the telling of it. The interactivity between player and story is really well thought out here, too.

I will say that the movement could be a little faster for how much of the territory you wind up retreading. If possible, I'd try to eliminate the retread entirely - you don't have to go back to the same room to have the father haunting him. Also, the timing on some of the audio meant that it was silent a lot for me, but then it overlapped a few times when it did come in. Overall design was good, but I did get impatient going up the stairs only to come back down so I just jumped off, "died", and returned to the front of the room where I could just walk. Again, I think I just wanted to get to it. My last critique would be to consider some other patterns if you turn this into something larger, the checkers and electricity lines were cool, but eventually everything felt too same-y - I'm assuming that's the nature of it being on a time limit, though. :)

All in all, I think this was a very well done game and I'm excited to see what you come up with next/if you make this into a full game with multiple characters.

People keep saying Stanley Parable, which I sadly haven't played yet, just by reading the description my brain went to Psychonauts and I'd say it holds pretty true to that idea.

Nice work! :D

GFM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:58am

Woooow! So amazing! Your use of the theme was great, and the narrator... Awesome game!

flrn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:11am

Cleverly executed! Great entry here.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]