Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In search of an Artist

by suurin - Jam Entry

Windows, Mac OS X, Linux here!

AD - move left/right
Space - jump, double space - double jump
E - use

Hold right mouse button to aim, press left mouse button to shoot (only while pressing RMB, ofc).

You playing as Stickman and like an cool man he strike his own destiny. Your mission is to rescue our gamedev team's Artist. But be aware of evil in this caves...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#182Audio(Jam)3.48
#297Humor(Jam)2.76
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#465Graphics(Jam)3.15
#487Mood(Jam)2.86
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#506Innovation(Jam)2.70
#629Theme(Jam)2.55

Comments

v26 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Really like the animations in this, reminded me a bit of 2D version of one must fall. Monsters also looked awesome but they didn't shoot / move fast enough. Nice look overall.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Nice ! The animation of the character and enemies are beautiful ! The music is awesome too :D Thanks for the soundtrack link :)

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04pm

That is one hell of a technobeat! The animation on the character is really nice and well executed

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Liked the simple designs and the run animation was done well.

starfeesh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Great animations, especially the run animation. Platforming was a bit hard at times with collision, but overall it had a really nice look and feel.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11pm

So, i really like the visuals and the whole pointing and shooting mechanics, i think it would suit really well for a megaman-like pc game.
That said,
- the "run" button was unnecessary, running should be the default movement since there is no need to walk slowly during the game
- besides the turret, no enemies ever did me any harm
- returning to the starting point as a punishing mechanic only works if you force the player to repeat the same steps (even tough usually i'm against this kind of stuff, but it's a design decision). Making the player walk every single pixel again just because he lost, while all the quest items and enemies are gone is just a boring thing to do :(

Oh, and i like the music. Kudos on that one too.

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Well, it's beautiful and it has a good music, but platforming is really hard with that stick man.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37pm

like the line art style, but that first jump was impossible for me.

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

great start! i like the characters. Their animations were great. I think my only major pain point was the controls, movement is a bit too sluggish and the jump is too floaty. nice job.

wheelsx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

This is a pretty awesome game. The line art is awesome, and the sound is good. The story seems pretty decent (given the short amount of time to write it). However there are a few flaws, the biggest being the controls being a little clunky and non responsive. Running should be default, and holding to right click is a bit pointless.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Really liked the style going on here, sparse graphics animated well looks stylish as hell. Music is good too, gameplay a little clunky though. Everything feels a bit too... clunky, I guess? Too physically real, almost.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Cool story and unique art style. The controls were a bit tricky (shift to run and space to jump), up (or W) for jump would have probably been easier on my fingers. Well done bro!

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20am

Great music, and interesting graphics. I didn't quite see the need for 2 different movement speeds, but the game was a fun playthrough.

Yword says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58pm

The music is pretty cool! But the controls is quite difficult, and faster movement will be better.

InfectionTeam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:59am

Very cool work on the run animation and general art-style. Pacing of the gameplay and controls needs some finetuning however. Pretty cool overall!

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:04am

The visuals were nice, crisp and stark. I agree with what baykush_figtree said about the inputs, in addition, it took me a while to figure out I had a double jump (I see it in the instructions now, but had just glanced over them before playing).

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:52pm

I really like stickman sprite, and animation. It reminds me of rayman :)
Some thoughts
- Too bad that first enemy just pushes me around, but cannot make me fall from platform or sth.
- I think that puck-up button is unnecessary. After all I must pick up all parts...

May 4, 2014 @ 6:45am

Ha, love the artstyle!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]