Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Swashbuckler Patrol

by Lolninjacatz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a captain out in the open sea with a jet powered boat. Your goal is to avoid icebergs and to collect treasure (more features were to be added the further I got). The game uses LibGDX and Box2d.

Right now I only have a boat in water that can double jump, but the goal was to have obstacles and treasure float up from beneath the surface.

You move with the arrow keys/WASD. Going down is not intended for final product; it was there only so I could test the bottom wall.

My game can handle animations, but I didn't have time to draw a sprite sheet; during the competition I was using the running man sample from the LibGDX wiki. For the buoyancy effects I referenced the iforce2d.net tutorial and ported it to Java.

This is my first Ludum Dare, and I really appreciate how it got me to get motivated. I have little experience creating games, and I had tried studying LibGDX before to little success. Just throwing myself into it really helped and I was able to learn LibGDX and Box2d. I definitely want to get this game working.

I plan to get icebergs, treasure, score system, and a main screen working at the very least. I would like to add some sharks or something and a way for the boat to shoot cannonballs or something, as well as tuning up the water effects.

The game takes a while to load on the website, so please wait a bit. Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1174Fun2.12
#1177Theme2.13
#1226Graphics1.81
#1228Innovation1.89
#1268Overall1.89
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

It seems cool, but I don't really get it. All you can do is move around on the screen! I looked at the stuff you plan to add, and it'll be really fun when you add them! Good luck!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

A pretty ok boat simulator.

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

good concept! the boat physics felt really good (maybe a little too fast). would have been nice to see it a little more complete.

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

Cute bouncy boat. I enjoyed being a submarine. Extremely buoyant. A wish for Seagull or other Boat Friend.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

Great use of Box2D, the physics felt really nice. I really wish you had gotten some of your obstacles implemented so I could really give this a shot! Keep working at it.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57am

If it was finished little more, it could be fun. Next time you will do better, believe me ;-)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

This is surprisingly fun ;P

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59am

Not as many icebergs as I expected ;)

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Great first effort. Hope you enjoyed working on it, don't stop making games!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:47am

Hi. Yes agree LD (and Mini-LD!) are great for getting motivation, from seeing what other people do and the time constraint. Despite nothing to do except move the boat around, this was still fun to play with... Excellent job on the control mechanics and physics. Like to see you extend this game.

Blanky says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:02am

I could unfortunately not open the game. Probably do to a terrible internet connection. Webpage stopped loading and I received a SuperDev Refresh link. Clicking on it didn't help either. I tried this on IE Chrome and Firefox.
I was really looking forward to seeing the bobbing effect and the double jumping boat. I love you approach to the theme. Playing above the ground with but the purpose of the game being to collect stuff from beneath the surface. Quite original from what the general and obvious approach is, everything being underneath the service. I like.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Give me a cannon and another boat to shoot at and this could keep me entertained for hours!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]