Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elemental Serpent

by Lafie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A snake-like game with some twists, including digging, gravity and the inclusion of elements (water, lava and steam) beneath the surface.

Created using the open-source Godot Game Engine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#523Humor2.47
#749Fun2.80
#751Innovation2.80
#793Theme2.97
#874Graphics2.66
#895Overall2.83
#1049Mood2.38

Comments

x1212 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

I tested this on Linux, looks like it works fine.
Not beeing hurt by wather and lava was a bit confusing, but it might become a little to hard if they did hurt.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:51am

It's as if Death Worm and Snake had a illegitimate love-child. With height, and the steam, lava, and water game mechanic, it does go beyond the Snake comparisons, but got old fairly quickly.

myachin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:59am

good game, but quite hard

my best score is 13)

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:29pm

This is an interesting take on the classic Snake game. Perhaps you will spawn a new wave of Snakelike games? Good job pal!

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Pretty cool combination of things here. Making steam was neat. You should add more levels and sounds and stuff, and release a post-compo version :)

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:15pm

really good idea with the steam made from lava and water !

tuxxilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Well done! I managed to get all the apples I wanted until I bit my own tail :)

Sim00n says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I gave it some time but I'm still having trouble understanding the mechanics. What's up with those gold and blue boxes?

May 3, 2014 @ 4:16pm

fun (- : good work. Nice twist on the snake formula

mneubrand says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Interesting take on Snake. I found the lava and water very hard to control, but it was fun to play.

Jarob22 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Hey - thanks for the comment! Interesting take on snake - quite like the idea of water + lava = steam :)

Some criticisms:
The snake moved quite fast, making it fairly difficult to control where to go.
It was VERY difficult to see where the apples were, due to red/green colour blindness. Might wanna think about that :D
The steam disappearing after it going up, although sensible from a realism PoV, actually makes it really difficult to get up into the trees.
Following on from that, I think that if any part of you is in the trees, all of you should be able to stay up there, currently it seems like if the tail falls off, you just fall down.

Cheers!

metkis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Thanks for providing so many sources!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Simple, yet addictive!

I love the idea of making steam, and possibility of stopping snake wherever I want.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Interesting take on mixing classic mechanics, I would have liked at least some effects even from sfxr, the snake control was maybe too quick, I also found it really cool that you used a fairly new engine such as Godot, kudos.

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:06am

Cool mechanics concepts. I felt like the snake moved a little too quickly, making him sometimes difficult to control.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]