About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 21 hours, 44 minutes, 53 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 21 hours, 56 minutes, 53 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 22 hours, 44 minutes, 53 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Beneath the surface - Norman12 - Jam Entry

    Game created by @kubasienki and @kebab_xxx. We're both extremely proud of it :D

    Scenario is simple. You had been walking down the street when you has fallen into puddle. You had been falling long time and has fallen onto portal to burrowed (UFO/covert military base) (choose one). You has been taken into cell in bottom of base/UFO. Now you must escape using vent system. Gigantic vent system, which looks like a supports of base or part of base not used for a long time.

    On linux run the game with run.sh

    PATCHED LEVEL 5 TO NOT CAUSE PLAYER'S MOVEMENT BUGS.

    View Norman12's journal. | View all entries by Norman12

    Ratings

    Coolness98%
    #365Audio(Jam)3.09
    #401Fun(Jam)2.96
    #508Graphics(Jam)3.02
    #518Overall(Jam)2.96
    #558Humor(Jam)2.10
    #610Mood(Jam)2.59
    #677Innovation(Jam)2.27
    #689Theme(Jam)2.26

    Comments

    kubasienki says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

    We've made cool game

    atlantian says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

    Your web link downloads a zip file

    Norman12 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

    because web is requred an we dont have web implementation

    Fritzendugan says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06am

    Norman12 : you can rename the categories. It's not that web is required, it's that you're required to have at least one platform. Rename web to windows :)

    Norman12 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07am

    oh ;P

    petey123567 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:10am

    Interesting platforming, but very tough!

    mclewis says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

    Very Super Meat Boy like, which is great thing!

    stephan_h says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

    Man, that got frustrating fast. But I still kept on playing. So I assume it worked? :)
    The music did match the game, although it was a bit too noisy for me.

    KirbiKaka says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

    Definitely liked the opening and the music! :D The physics takes a bit getting used to though :b

    hyouko says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

    Screenshots look neat, but it doesn't appear to want to run on OS X:

    JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
    _NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
    JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit
    AL lib: ReleaseALC: 1 device not closed

    Fritzendugan says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30am

    I know level 5 is possible, since ONE time (out of like 200) I managed to get above the first two things, but it's just too damn irritating for me to continue past that point. I like hard games. I like it when games are maddening frustrating and difficult. If a game has a "hardcore" mode, I play on that--but level 5 just felt like some really arbitrary level of difficulty where this this one pixel-perfect way to make it that's likely highly dependent upon framerate and what milliseconds your update ticks end up on. You might want to reconsider the balance/level-design for that reason.

    There also seemed to be a small bug where occasionally my character would be on the ground, but unable to jump. Also another time I was unable to move left. This only happened once or twice, but something you guys might want to look into.

    But other than that this was a pretty fun game. The music was good, looped well, worked well as background music. Graphics were minimal but effective. Jumping mechanics were out of this world, and took some getting used to, but I assume that's intentional because it made for a somewhat novel platforming experience.

    AdamCClifton says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

    Felt a bit too floaty. Having different friction on the ground might help with this.

    At some points my jump button stopped working.

    HBurd says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

    Someone likes super meat boy :D
    Cool game, the player is really jittery when he moves, but overall quite a good platformer

    Zathalos says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

    Like Super Meat Boy but way more floaty which makes it more difficult. The music was almost good, it was just a little too loud or "crunchy". I couldn't get past like level 5 because my guy couldn't jump high enough though. Good job.

    Xangotrick66 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40am

    Super meat boy - like, Very difficult! Fond of the pixel art!

    PaperBlurt says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43am

    That little guy looks so funny!
    Simple and elegant I'd say as gameplay doesn't have to be that complex.

    eriksundqvist says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

    Cute graphics, a bit buggy player movement but otherwise very nice game.

    mtinkerhess says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

    Starting at about level five the levels get seriously impossible. Nice wall jumping, that's a cool mechanic for a platforming game!

    SoupWithBits says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56am

    Fantastically frustrating, in a good way

    manabreak says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30pm

    Super Meat Boy, anyone? ;)

    Nice job, really polished. The controls were a bit slippery, though.

    Tomski says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30pm

    Great stuff guys, feels really good to play.

    WhiteVoidia says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30pm

    Movement was kind of annoying...but very meetboy-like and fun! (and hard!!)

    I had issues running the .jar on Ubuntu 13.04, but when I ran it from the terminal it was fine.

    Good job :D

    SirJson says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

    The character controller is kinda imprecise but I like the graphics.

    Gravity Games says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

    This game reminds me a lot of Super Meat Boy, and its surprisingly polished for 72 hours. However, the game did glitch out once, and I was unable to jump.

    Crazi456 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54pm

    Game got pretty crazy hard pretty quickly! Was entertaining, great job

    Gamepopper says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18pm

    Pretty good game, like the art style. Bit easy for me.

    theengineers says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

    Frustrating and Addictive, the most dangerously perfect mix.

    Lucariatias says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Can't load library: /var/folders/70/9my2nv792yn72xw4k_5fcv100000gn/T/libgdxross/3741154320/liblwjgl.dylib
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1817)
    at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Runtime.java:809)
    at java.lang.System.load(System.java:1083)
    at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:70)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
    at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
    at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
    at org.lwjgl.openal.AL.<clinit>(AL.java:59)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.openal.OpenALAudio.<init>(OpenALAudio.java:70)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.<init>(LwjglApplication.java:80)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.<init>(LwjglApplication.java:64)
    at com.hexa.bts.Main.main(Main.java:15)

    Did you forget to package the LWJGL OS X natives?

    TaleLore says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

    I only jumped about 1/4 of the time that I pressed up, leading to a lot of deaths.

    eerongal says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

    neat platformer. Reminds me of a super-simplified super meat boy. I kept running into a bug or something where i couldnt jump after dying, though.

    dook says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

    The controls are super weird, but I got the hang of them after a few tries. Felt a lot like Super Meat Boy :D Good job

    mrbungle says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

    Extremely strange physics make this somewhat difficult to play. Maybe you'd get used to it though... Music is kinda cool.

    Katamori says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

    Challenging!

    muramasa says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

    Oh Jesus, that was frustrating! But challenging. It was the same kind of frustration you feel with those old games you want to kick their butt so hard.
    I feel pleased and had a lot of fun with it. Graphical assets and audio are pretty good!

    And I like how I can edit some levels. I made one little torture room just by editing lvl1 image layout a little. See if you can beat it! http://puu.sh/8sLUZ.png Just override 1.png with this (Sadly I was unable to add it as 10, not even editing the lvls.txt file).

    This game needs a level editor! Ahahaha!

    Norman12 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13am

    Soon i'll create tutorial on how to create levels. And maybe in some time even a editor

    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:58am

    Definitely reminds me of super meat boy which is a good thing. and the music works well with the gameplay.

    terraco says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 9:20am

    Super meat boy.

    rincewind_cz says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 4:03pm

    And they say that my game is hard! :D

    csanyk says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 5:48am

    MeatBoy ripoff:) I got as far as level 7. Died a lot, but not as much as you might think. Good play.

    danbo says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 11:40am

    Solid entry. It probably took years for Super Meat Boy to get movement physics down pat, this is about halfway there in 3 days - but then, you know what they say about 90% / 10%.

    I like the way you've done level editing as just simple PNG files and text files - not exactly documented, but it always brings a smile to my face to see people use very open formats like that.

    I found the music a wee bit annoying.

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]