Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I Rarely Go Outside

by Blokatt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Great news everyone! The bucket bug is GONE. I found the cause of it and fixed it. (one line of code)

This is a short "adventure" game. Joel is a lonely arrogant man. He rarely goes outside.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Audio3.80
#97Mood3.76
#126Humor3.39
#162Graphics3.87
#197Overall3.60
#328Innovation3.40
#339Theme3.51
#558Fun3.00

Comments

iceferret says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:16pm

I got 14 trash, and i can't find a fifteenth one.

Blokatt says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Try to look behind plants and other objects.
It's randomized.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52am

I really like this one!

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Very spooky! I eventually went outside after ruining my shirt cleaning the bathroom.

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14am

Damn, I can't believe I spend several minutes of my life with cleaning of a virtual home. And you know what? I like it!:) Great game!

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Thanks! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Really great game! The highway bit made me jump, and the atmosphere you created was excellent!

I was left wondering what happened when he went outside though...

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really well produced (art and music), but controls made it painful to play.
Felt impossible to control the guy (since he moves to the mouse but the mouse relative position changes when he moves).

Also gameplay wasn't inherently exciting, and got stuck on the "clean the bathroom" part. (It said to click to pick up the bucket, but it wasn't working).

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

A game about my life, well done!

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:03pm

spotco: Sorry for that. I have no idea what causes the bug, it occurs randomly.

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

spotco: I'll fix the controls.

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18pm

spotco: It should work now.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I wish I could clean my apartment as fast as I do in this game. ;) Great work!

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Seraphina: Thank you. :)

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Very interesting! The music brings out the atmosphere nicely.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Very nice game, but great effects and interesting graphics. I love the mood and the controls. Good job!

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I liked the mood of this game, the descriptions and the general cleaning up I had to do (compulsively it seems).

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I really like the menial tasks... Some how games like this are always strangely enjoyable i don't get it. Amazing game!!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44pm

If I wanted to do chores I wouldn't be playing video games :P
Sweet game! Love the music and sound fx

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Fantastic! Very interesting and fun to play, is the end when your shirt gets ruined or is there away around that`?

Blokatt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Linus Lindberg: Unfortunately, there isn't. I wanted to make multiple endings, but there just wasn't enough time to do that.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I really like the mood of your game !

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:35am

Lol, such introversion :P

Spaceoff says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:36am

Really enjoyed this- the menial tasks were surprisingly engaging, kept me playing til the end.

JoshRespawns says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Great Good

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

You'd think a recluse like him would have packed multiple shirts...

Anyway, pretty nice. It got kind of annoying that the only place to get water was the kitchen, though.

Blokatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Dominator_101: Once again, I was in a rush. It would've been a nice feature, though.

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:34am

I loved it! Especially the sense of impending doom!

GarethIW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Haha, this was great. I thought there was going to be some huge pay-off while I was watering all those plants but you actually made us finish the job :D

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Doing chores, like in real life was WAY too tedious. I'm sure there was some twist payoff at the end but man that was drawn out way too much...

shasharala says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I appreciated a game about an extreme case of introversion. Certainly our protagonist could be a bit more happy if they chose a different perspective, but that's just the problem, isn't it?

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:07pm

The atmosphere of that is very nice, and the history is quite original, one of the best games I played in this LD

mcapraro says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:38am

funny how fun mundane virtual chores can be!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:23am

Really well made game and overall eary feeling of the the entire game.. except that it's damn annoying to be doing chores like this in a game, especially when it's watering 14 plants where you gotta go fill water each time.. and no real payoff in the end either, not sure if that was what you were aiming for, but I think it would be more fun if the tasks felt a bit more meaningful and less repetetive.

Blokatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:51pm

jsmars: I agree. I wanted to do more, but there just wasn't enough time. It didn't work out the way I wanted.

May 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

The game started well enough, but then there simply was too much backtracking; it just felt like pointless padding. Being able to carry the trash can around, and not emptying your can on every plant, would make these a lot more bearable.

Doors should be set to right click. The controls work fine, but once defined you should keep the clicks' usage constant throughout.

Overall it's a good engine, with a lot of potential. The graphics do their job nicely, and you made good use of sound.

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Awesome entry! The visuals are very well done, the audio is good, the mood and theme are good, and it is a complete game. My only complaint is that it basically turned into chore simulator 2000 after a while, but you could definitely continue this further.

May 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Love the use of theme, love the look, love the feel of the game, love the title even. Well done. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

Gamepopper says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Like the effects, shame you didn't actually see the outside, missed opportunity for a sudden twist.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]