Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Descent

by niculistana - Jam Entry

Descent is a 5 minute infinite vertical jumper made under 48 hours for Ludum Dare 29. You can read about our progress on making this game over here:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?p=346986
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?p=349489

Programmer/Art: Nicu Listana (@apebeast)

Art: John Funtanilla (@iJohnF)

Music: SFXR and Scoreoid Mega Assets Pack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#128Fun(Jam)3.46
#228Audio(Jam)3.38
#344Overall(Jam)3.26
#355Humor(Jam)2.61
#412Innovation(Jam)2.92
#463Theme(Jam)2.98
#539Mood(Jam)2.77
#601Graphics(Jam)2.75

Comments

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

This is awesome >:)

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Nice music and graphics.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Very nice ! Maybe the music is a little repetitive :D

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Addictive, simple and nice soundtrack (although short, could have done with a little more development)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Nice game, it should ne perfectly suitable for mobiles!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

be*

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Love the music! =)

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

It kept crashing on chrome as soon as I said I'll allow the plugin to run, so I had to use firefox. That games was amazing. Great job!

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Pretty addicting, took me a minute to realize you can up your score by jumping on the same block.

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Very simple game. The jump was a little hard to use at fist since the gravity is quite high.

Good job on your game.

st33d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

There's something really compelling about the awful physics in this game that you should explore some more.

That said there were some blatantly impossible jumps in there and that irked me because there's hard and then there's simply broken.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57am

It's a decent lil' game with a pretty nice presentation. The somewhat imprecise or sluggish controls sapped some of the fun though.

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

This game has lots of potential. I like that one.

JokerDen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

I like the music. THe gameplay is rather hardcore, this is an advantage.

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29am

Alright, one of the best games I've tested so far!

- Gameplay feels stiff, character jumps like a rock. While it seems "hardcore" to some, it could cripple the game experience for others. I think you could make an "easy" and "hard" modes, where the player density is lighter on the first.
- It's simple and addictive.
- I find it great that you placed a barrier on top before the game starts. It gives the user a chance to learn the controls and space to make mistakes.
- Song is great, but since you didn't created it, take as an inspiration for the next games.

You should seriously consider making a mobile version; it's addictive, simple and the gameplay fits nicely with phones and tablets!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22am

"a 5 minute infinite" how does that work? :P
Pretty cool! The jumping mechanic could use some more work (it's more "falling" than actually jumping atm), but the concept is certainly great!

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39am

I think this has the potential to be a very fun game. The jump feels a bit awkward as it is.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42am

Pretty good game (controls feel sluggish) but really love that chiptune.

HernanZh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

The game is a lot of fun! I especially liked the fact that you can jump on blocks several times!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

This a lot of fun. It's easy to play, hard to master. Easy to sink a lot of time into, I like it!

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46pm

The music is pretty cool! But I think faster movement will be better.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:03pm

At first I thought I was supposed to jump on the black shapes in the background, and collect the colored square on the way... It failed

The random placement of block should not be totally random I think. I had several instances of completly unsolvable situations

pansapiens says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:49am

This was quite fun (I think you saw my video) - a little challenging at first but not frustratingly impossible (especially once I figured out to use wrapping through walls to my advantage). Nice subtle nod to Flappy with the font too :) I'd like to see some mystery removed from the colour-coded block types to avoid having to rote learn how many hits they will take. Either a simple number on each block indicating how many hits it has left, or use a series of 'cracked block' sprites to indicate the same thing. Alternatively you could show how many hits it will take, without updating the number displayed as hits are depleted so as to require more attention from the player.

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:03am

Hello, there!
FYI your game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:40am

simple yet challenging! nicely done

shadow64 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Great work. I found the controls to be a little too precise (if that makes sense) there were times that I wasn't landing where I thought that I would or was maybe a pixel away. I also don't know about the wrap around world. I think I would've gone with rigid walls, personally.

The music was really happy but not annoying - which is incredible considering how short the track is and how often it loops. And the programmer art wasn't terrible! ;)

I played the game multiple times and got to about 30 as a high score before deciding I'd had enough. I think that you might want to give some instructions about the colors, but it was sort of fun figuring that out too - just a thought.

Solid design, I could definitely see you improving the art and adding some faster levels/higher difficulty/obstacles to round out the experience.

Thanks for sharing and good luck!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]