Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

European water vole ATTACK

by Scam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect all carrots and evade the poison flow in the tunnels. Use arrow keys to move, esc to quit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#65Humor3.70
#147Theme3.77
#261Fun3.40
#324Mood3.26
#365Innovation3.35
#439Overall3.30
#465Audio2.90
#1092Graphics2.29

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

This has some really old-school vibes to it :) from the movement to the graphics and the gameplay, I like it !

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

The Prodigy reference. :D

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15am

Looks like classic win 3.1 Games :D

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Definitely old-school though -- would have liked to see that taken further. :)

petrih says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Acid!

Anti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I really like it! It's like a classic arcade game. Just one question though, don't the rat die either way because the poison flows in all directions?

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Good game, I enjoyed it

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Very nice poison mechanics, I liked it.

vitor.navarro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Yep the unity web version gets a little to heavy from 4 level on but hey it's quite a nice game. Take it further!

Scam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Thanks for the feedback everybody! I had a blast doing this and I'll definitely want to explore the mechanics and gameplay further. And of course it might be a good idea to invest some time to learn drawing some nice pixels...

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Amusing! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Funny take on the theme, had the idea about some kind of mole game as well initially. Some juicyness to the movement would have helped, maybe a particle when your digging away earth. I really had some fun moments.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

Look, behind you, a three headed monkey! I could have been a programmer .. oh, wait, I'm a programmer and I'm reviewing your game. Had a good fun playing it, thanks!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Fun! I liked the water "physics" a lot :) You can dig an underground lake for the poison to go there giving you more time to get to the carrots :)

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:15am

me gusta.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Gimmie da carrots!

sink_t says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Generally good. Not exactly polished, but the idea is very successful, in my opinion.

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I thought this was a really fun.

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Reminds me of something on the Spectrum or likewise. I like the basic consideration of where to break the surface and set the farmer against you - it's a heist game.

Hamsternator says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:41pm

It's like some kind of action version of Pipe Dream, and I love it =D An "upgraded" version with simulated water would be really neat and present some interesting puzzle challenges. One of the best games I've had the pleasure to try out during this LD-event ^^

The music could be a little quieter though. Started of nice and after a few moments MY SPEAKERS SCREAM AT ME!!!
Since I can lower my speakers it's not a biggie, but I felt I had to mention something to improve upon ^^

tuxxilla says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Thanks for this funny game :)

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Cool. Good sense of urgency, and easy to play!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]