Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sub-Surface Walk

by LewisG0400 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to get to the end(55 blocks) without using all the breaks. Get extra breaks by picking up the fully coloured blocks. It is buggy and usually impossible. Sometimes you spawn in a block and can't move. WSAD or arrow keys to move. Tap W or up to jump and keep tapping to jump higher. Click to break blocks. Jar should work on all but I haven't tested linux. The end is a just a void.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#835Theme2.92
#1007Graphics2.48
#1020Humor1.68
#1022Audio1.50
#1073Mood2.33
#1183Innovation2.06
#1213Fun1.92
#1238Overall2.13

Comments

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I didn't understood how to play... but the game is not ugly.

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Had trouble moving the character after the first game and wasn't sure what the controls were at the start.

alshirah says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

The Java JAR file “Build.jar” could not be launched.
There is a problem with the jar file. I using macbook pro maivrecks

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Nicely done, you should stat you need to click to break the blocks, and I can verify it works on linux.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Key presses don't work, can't move around. (win7, java7)

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I would spawn inside the blocks at times and most of the time it was impossible to get to the finish with only 3 breaks.

xensky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:02pm

interesting little game. I liked how blue was bad.

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33pm

A nice game, but the limited amount of block breaks makes it too challenging, taking me 6 attempts until I reached the red block which I'm assuming is the goal. Not impossible, but not easy either

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I had problem with the camera, and the game doesnt reset when you die.. its strange. I hope that you will fix, the game with more polishing could be interesting ;-)

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice puzzle, but I couldn't finish the game. Had a lot of empty space at the end which led to a sort of Flappy Bird scenario.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:35pm

the concept was interesting but it wasn't very accessible. could be a great game with some more work though!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:24pm

There are some bugs like you could touch a cube in diagonal, I couldn't break blocks sometimes i dont know why. Graphics are not bad.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Interesting idea. I did try the game a bunch of times, but never got to the end. How far is the end anyways?

I found it a bit weird that the game ended as soon as you used up your last break, even tho you can still pick up blocks and get more breaks. You just can't seem to get more score after that.

Also, since you can jump in mid-air as many times as you want, it would probably make more sense if you could just walk up/down normally.

I like the camera with the fading out into black effect tho. Looks good!

The game works great on Linux btw :)

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Oh man.. it didn't work for me. It seems just... unfinished. Just keep working on it.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:51am

A fun idea, although I think it's important to be able to see more blocks on the screen so it's not as luck-dependent and so you can plan a route a little bit more effectively.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]