Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

VR Mowing Hero 2014

by garbagetrucks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Put on your Oculus Rift! Mow your lawn! Don't run out of beer!

Mow at least 75% of the lawn before you get too thirsty and run out of beer.

Pick up beers by driving by them and grabbing them with your arm. They are BENEATH THE SURFACE of the tall grass.

Don't run the beers over or they will be RUINED and you will become OVER-THIRSTY.

For any feedback please hit me up on Twitter at @ben_throop.

Controls:
ASWD or Arrows - Drive Tractor
Mouse - Move Arm
Mouse Button - Stab Arm

PS - I do not know if this game is winnable. If you win it PLEASE tell me!
Tweet @ben_throop with any questions/feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

This is awesome

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

that's funny, i like it! Good job

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great effort! I loved the idea and driving around. Hard to play without an Oculus as it was hard to see the arm. Me best time was about 1:00. Nice art and sound effects. I can see Homer Simpson driving around on a Saturday afternoon. :)

garbagetrucks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

Thanks George. Yeah I was really focused on the VR experience but with the way it evolved I suppose the arm could be coupled to the camera for non-VR players.

garbagetrucks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

Oh by the way my best time so far is 4:50 with 57% of the lawn mowed before running out of beer. Still not sure 75% is possible.

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Hahaha, nice! Totally satisfies that OCD thing you only get from mowing a lawn. Love it, great theme and scope! I really need to learn from your example next time.

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:05pm

haha, love it

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:53am

Fun idea and awesome to make a Oculus game, too bad I didn't have one to test the game, should have connected the mouse to look around for those who didn't have oculus.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]