Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underline

by eufrik - Jam Entry

Hulloo. This is our entry for the jam. Basically, it's a hardcore platformer game with a twisted mechanic.

Game Description:

You are trapped and lost in limbo and all that's left to show you the way are some strange, glowing orbs in the darkness, and the beautiful world you once lived in... under your feet. But what is reality? Which way is up? Collect all the orbs to unlock the exit and finish the game!

Controls are arrow keys/WASD and spacebar.

Simply jump at the orb to start the game.


Developer notes:

This is our first time joining Ludum Dare. First game ever, too. We had a lotta fun making this and learned a freaking lot. This basically is just one level with many challenges packed in it. We really hope you play, enjoy, and comment on this. We are seriously considering to push on with this and turn it into an indie game. Your thoughts would be reaaally appreciated.

If you do finish this game, please leave a comment :> We'd love to know your accomplishment in finishing this game. (It was even a feat for us just to finish it once).

Edit: We added a post-jam version. Just fixed a few bugs and added checkpoints. The original submission is still up for judging. (Quite frankly, we're not sure if adding checkpoints is allowed as a 'fix' as described, can anyone verify this?).

Edit2: We're seeing a lot of control complaints, especially about inconsistent jumping. We'd really love to improve the game and we're grateful for your feedback, but could you guys be a little more specific? Based on some of the comments, it seems like some of you haven't fully understood the concept of the game yet. That's for you to figure out on your own ;)

Edit3: Added a description. Just to give you a tiny hint.

-kevyee&eufrik

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#71Theme(Jam)3.81
#95Audio(Jam)3.75
#98Innovation(Jam)3.68
#161Overall(Jam)3.54
#209Mood(Jam)3.44
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#292Fun(Jam)3.13
#577Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Okay, I couldn't complete it, but it was really fun. And I loved the music.

mattpattie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice concept. i did find it very difficult though trying to work out what i was doing to start off with.

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Gets stuck at the second jump. Jump mecanics doesn't seem to work the same way all the time, or there are something invisible in the way. Couldn't get through. It looks pretty though =)

Rose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Very cool! The concept, visuals, and audio are all great. It took me a while to figure out about the inverted platforms though. You could make it more clear by starting with a couple steps down or something.

evilDan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

It took me a couple minutes to figure out the primary mechanic... But LOVED that it wasn't told to me explicitly.

Controlling where you land is kinda hard though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Loved the graphics, but I couldn't finish it... I'm really bad at platformers :(

geounknown says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Good JAb ! Like it

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Controls were one of the shittiest i've seen (stop moving after i release the damn key!)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Great idea, and nice graphics. Not having checkpoints (at least at the beginnning) is frustrating.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Lovely idea well executed, the atmosphere is great thanks to the well done minimalist art and the top notch soudtrack ! You did an amazing job :)

Teejay5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59am

This game mechanic blew my mind! Really nice design + music + art + EVERYTHING. It is pretty hard to without checkpoints!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

Pretty good! The inversion mechanic confused the crap out of me initially, but was good! The music and animation on the whole thing is very good. Good stuff, I hadn't completed it yet though :(

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

Nice! Just add some checkpoints next time :) Your title screencap is wonderful as well.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

The core mechanic, though a bit inconvenient, was really cool! The actual level is what's beneath the surface...great use of the theme, too! And that soundtrack. It was beautiful! Amazing atmosphere thanks to that.

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

Really nice game you created! Great Idea and you got a nice style -- with graphics as with audio. Good job!
I personally cannot comply about the controls (worked good for me) but one or two checkpoints would have been nice since doing all the things at the start of the level again is repetetive if not quite boring.

Gathering says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

Fine Spun :)

Loved the idea from beginning, so i mean after falling at the 2nd hole ^^ Become addictive u want to finish it even if it will take long ! Bored with the red plattforms coz they didn´t come back so u can get stuck even if u are still alive. Enjoyed to start it from beginning coz u want to be faster and after many times I sometimes re-did the basic mistakes from beginning or some new :) Though tough to think (& or look) up and down ^^ + I found the game beautiful, music, and the main charachter ( made me think about this TV animation "La ligne" ). Otherwise I thought it could be cool also to have a timer (no time limit) or a tries count maybe for some future version. Anyway thanks for this really entertaining game!

JayPC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

I BROKE IT D: haha in the first level if you die and immediately hold left, you fall off the level and don't restart

good game though, tough but fun so many times I was like, "...so am I under or over that platform?"

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

Was really excited about the idea, then started playing and realized the movement controls feel very... off. Couldn't jump consistently and couldn't make it very far into the game without dying repeatedly. Definitely a good rough prototype and lots to work with here, but the controls are breaking it for me. Good luck guys!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02am

Hey congrats on your first LD! This is a neat idea you have here. If you really want to keep working on that game I think you will have to take the player by the hand and explain the mechanics progressively. Discovering via trials and error might feel frustrating

7elephants says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Very cool game! It was a bit hard to understand at the beginning but it was great to understand it by myself.

Although it was a risky move, I think it is a good idea to avoid including a tutorial in this game.

Congrats! great game :)

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Really difficult but cool!

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

A lovely game, but really hard! I only got as far as the blocks which drop away under you. Also, if you fall to the left at the beginning of the level, you can fall outside the game world

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I played the original version as to give a fair rating :-)
I like the concept, there's another game around this dare with a similar, concept, although it isn't as "secret" as yours :-) You should consider telling people though, I was about to call it bugged as well until I read the "edit" notes you put in- Anyways- I liked the game. The music added to the mood, and (after understanding the concept) the game felt quite polished. I didn't finish the game since it is quite hard- Not that I mind hard though :-)
You guys did a good job :-)

kidder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54am

Lovely. Simply mechanics, but nicely polished and good ambiance. Very hard, I didn't make it very far at all - I may try the version with checkpoints later.

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:48am

Lovely game, I'm embarrassed by how long it took me to figure out why I was bumping into invisible walls.

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

I love the idea! Figuring it out does take some time though. Maybe showing the player some part of the upper world obstacle (like a lantern in a dark room) when he first bumps into it would be a nice tutorial.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45am

Very nice and interesting game. Two worlds has broken my mind :)
P.S. Compo build so hardcore.

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I really liked the gameplay mechanics, very creative.

sam101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice controls, at the begining I was lost, but when you understand the concept it just works. Congrats ! Good idea, well executed.

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:40am

The idea is a fun one, but I don't know how enjoyable it is to execute in practice. The character's control is very twitchy (I appreciate the increase in speed from standing, but it feels way too fast for small, precise jumps), and sometimes jumps failed to execute, which may have been the collision detection or just how my comp wants to respond to simultaneous inputs, I can't really say.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:35am

Really really interesting take on the theme. The moment when I figured out the game mechanic was really good!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:21am

animations looks sleek. But are the invisible walls bug or intended? I found it difficult to proceed. Looks fun. gj

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:46am

Nice idea. Maybe a little too simple but it's fun and beautiful. I didn't have any issues with jumping. Well, controls are kinda funny, but I guess it's just the way it works, found no bugs definitely.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:01am

That was great! I didn't realize that the platform were mirrored beneath the surface. Awesome! :)

May 6, 2014 @ 2:30am

What a mind screw. Real neat idea there. Good audiovisuals, too.

Falling platforms pass right through the upper area, and when falling into pits the character goes through the stuff shown there, which looks a bit weird. I'm guessing you're using two cameras; setting their viewport rects so that each camera draws exclusively to one half of the screen would feel cleaner, IMO.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:55am

Love the music. I just hung out on the title screen for a long time :)

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:26am

Really Good! I finished it ^^
Hard but fun.
Good game! I think I just player some game like that, but is a nice idea with the theme.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:48pm

I like the idea!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:19am

cray cray good.

Simon says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:44am

Great entry! Been a while since the last time I had fun with a puzzle platformer :)

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Cool audio. Graphics are quite cool and the concept is huge.

Interesting concept of hidden platforms, especially the platform mirroring concept (which is also an original take on the theme).
The beginning is a bit challenging especially if you don't get the mecanism. It could have been improved to be more straightforward (getting the actual mirror mecanism wasn't obvious at a start). In the same time, that is a cool way to let the player discovering the game mecanism, so I'm not so so sure about this opinion. Anyway, maybe you could have made the beginning a bit easier.

klianc09 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Sounds are good and create a dreamy mood.
I managed to complete it, although the movement controls had a bit of a delay. Either make the player accelerate smoothly, or move as soon as the button is pressed, the way it's currently done just makes it feel unresponsive.

mcapraro says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:59am

really nice concept!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]