Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underneath Our Faces

by madhoe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A pretentious game about pretending to be happy. Inspired by Super Hexagon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#261Fun3.40
#487Innovation3.15
#502Overall3.23
#525Audio2.83
#659Humor2.29
#718Graphics2.91
#730Mood2.80
#1181Theme2.10

Comments

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Quite fun!

kivifreak says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Challanging! And depressing when you don't have skills :3

sfdnetwork says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Really nice concept. But I have a headache now.

Kimba says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:48pm

LOL so nicee!!
love this

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very interesting. Kinda gives me a headache though.

monaarc says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Wow! very cool and addictive

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

Hard to get into the rhythm, but when you do, it feels really good

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Really fun and challenging! I have a headache just like all these commentors too xD

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03am

I liked this a lot, although the music gets a bit annoying after a while imo

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

Pretty Interesting & quite disorienting. I first played with my focus only on one and later realized i've to keep track of 4 faces which seems a daunting task. Music could've been improved btw.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

To everyone: Thanks for the feedback!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

Fun and addictive!

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

Wow, very good spin off of Super Hexagon! I like how you've adapted the concept to fit your theme. Being able to rotate the faces to different paths makes for neat moments of trying to rearrange which one will take a forced sad face.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

Quite fun. I find it kind of impossible keeping tabs on how all 4 characters are doing happiness-wise in all of that chaos, but I still had a good time with it.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

Challenging, i quite like the concept and i would like to see it taken further.

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

It stays a bit slow, the pace should pick up a bit. Really fun game!

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

Love the concept, seems simple at first but it is quite challenging. Nice!

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37am

Very well presented, super challenging, I wish there was a slower mode, and effects for when i catch a happy face or get hit (sometimes i lose track of how I'm doing

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49am

cool.. so nice and fun!

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

I think overall the game did not fit the theme. But it's a good concept! (I haven't played super hexagon then I have no idea in what to expect!). Very challenging!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Superhexagon style :) I like it.

ahmeni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Nicely done!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Didn't know what I was doing, but hey it was fun

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Quite disorienting and hard to get in the rhythm. Some feedback to the player when you get hit would have been nice. But quite addictive too.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Nice idea, and quite well executed! I agree that it could do with some feedback when you pick up good/bad faces.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Best score: 18 sec.
Well done mechanics

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

15 point something seconds. Gah. Wow this is hard. EXCELLENT.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Nice job, very hard for me.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Hard game 0_0, but fun and okay

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Too challenging and disorienting for me but I love the idea!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Awesome Super Hexagon-like ! Good job !

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Emulates the Superhexagon feel quite accurately, although with four things to control instead of one it feels even harder! :)

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Nice toy.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Nice work! Pretty fun, i'm bad with this kind of games where you need to pay multi-attention but Really fun! Something i dont understand is where is the theme? :/

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

@WhiteWolf93 and those wondering about the theme:

It's a game about pretending to be happy. When you're depressed and you try to stay happy, waves of sadness usually hit you and it's hard to look fine. Beneath the surface, you're all messed up. This is, btw, coming from a sometimes-depressed 19 year old.

Any who, this is why I said the game was pretentious (;

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

So.. this is what seizure feels like :)

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

challenging and addicting

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Great stuff. Love the challenge!

Beavl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nice mechanics (love to change lanes when one of the faces is about to “hurt” and I get two sad faces together). With some minor tweaks in speed and enemy/sad faces spawning and some polishing, this could be great. Good work!

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Solid concept and well executed. That music tho D:

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Love it, surprisingly difficult for a simple concept. And hooray HaxeFlixel!

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

I like how you mentioned that it was inspired by super hexagon, but it's clearly got a different feel to the game. I haven't seen anything quite like this before. It's cool that just focusing on one of the lanes doesn't get you the best result, you have to be aware of all of them.

madhoe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

I understand the concerns for music, but it's hard to generate energetic music. I'll look for better music post compo.

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08am

Pretty awesome idea, I was definitely unable to keep up with all four sides though :<

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

An interesting take on Super Hexagon. Sort of annoying in the same way Super Hexagon is with the pulsing, but it's a thematically sound game and I enjoyed it.

KeyMaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Quite interesting concept, but I think the thing about having the face be differently happy and moving them into the unavoidable obstacles so you don't fail was a bit overcomplicated. Still a nice game overall!

May 2, 2014 @ 3:39am

Love this game. I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Challenging game but well done. I'ld like to see few ease modes: 2 lines, 3 lines.

Belvar says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:49am

Being a Super Hexagon fan, I could only love your game ! I like the challenge. The graphics are simple but good nonetheless.

glbs says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:59am

As you said it's seems at first much inspired by Super Hexagon, with the patterns and rotation, but the "lives" system you added makes it really different!
At first I thought that double "enemies" would just piss me off and forbid me for happiness (and winning), but then I saw the good guys : the difficulty rose as the possibility of succeeding!
Thank you for that!
I must admit, that my scores are'nt much high though.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Very easy to pick up and play, well done! I'm not too sure on the connection to the theme but I suppose it's about hiding emotions and how you are feeling beneath the surface. Good stuff :)

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Trying to pay attention to all of the faces at the same time is way too hard for me. Got to 25 seconds or so by paying attention to only one of them though.

I think the style is ok, both the graphics and the audio work well enough for such a (deceivingly) simple game.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]