Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reflection

by thebmxeur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lacks a lot of things.
Left / Right arrow to move.
Up arrow to jump.
Space bar to flip.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#121Innovation3.80
#204Theme3.67
#220Fun3.47
#308Overall3.44
#639Mood2.90
#892Graphics2.63
#1039Humor1.59
#1068Audio1.20

Comments

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

I really wish the box above the surface didn't disappear when you switch to the bottom controls D:

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Good mood, great innovation and fun to play!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Interesting concept, was a little hard to figure out what was going on with the swapping though.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Great game idea, it takes a while to get accustomed to the switching behavior bet its good fun.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Pretty tricky!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Pretty cool!
The swapping can be really disorienting though.
And when the "bottom" block has to go "high" (near the bottom of the screen), the wiggling can become a bit obnoxious.
But this is an original concept, really fun and quite challenging! :)

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

This is a really cool concept that you should definitely expand on.

Thijsku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice game! In the beginning, I found it a little bit difficult to get the hang of the controls, but this improved as I played the game. I like the concept and I think it's a quite original one! Good job.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Tough to get the hang of, but I like that - it's rewarding. Cool concept and cool reflection effect.

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

It took me reeeeeally long to finish this one, lot of swearing included. In fact, I'm so happy about it, that I provide proof http://aborium.com/public/misc/reflection_end.png

Really solid gameplay with just the right difficult curve.

You should create a post-ld version with sound, updated graphics and more levels!

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:49pm

brilliant idea, gets frustrating after some unsuccessful switch jumps.. spacebar smasher

thebmxeur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Thank you for the comments.

tinykidtoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

This is such a cool platformer.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Wish you'd had gone a bit further with this (graphics, audio), because the concept is very solid.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I actually bookmarked this to come back and play a bit more later. This is a fun little mind-bender.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

An awesome idea!! I really loved it- The learning curve is a bit steep, as it gets hard rather quickly.. Or maybe I'm just getting too old and slow :P - Very impressed about the idea! Good job!

javierecf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Very interesting game, it has good puzzles.

sometimes you can get a bit stuck to the side of wall while switching places.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nice gameplay! It's hard to coordinate moving and changing to the reflection, but once you get it you start to enjoy it. It even made me smile when I started failing continously :)
Some slow-paced music would fit perfectly. Reflection effect is awesome!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

pretty cool game. I like the water effects.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

Very nice execution of the concept, I wish the learning curve was a little bit lower though, it gets hard before I'm accustomed to the mechanics. But great job!

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

very neat mechanic, and cool rippling effect

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Well done! Add some story and you'll able to beat "Thomas Was Alone". ;)

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10pm

The controls could be tigher, but it was a nice game! Good job!

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Cool concept! I really liked the lower half's resonating display.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:52pm

The switch jumping is a great mechanic, feels good when you first work what's going on. Definitely think this idea has potential.

soy_yuma says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:56pm

It's a nice idea. I had some problems with the controls.

mjau says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12pm

The controls (switching in particular) felt a little imprecise and unresponsive at times, but i think that was actually mostly because of the lack of a "shadow" in the top half. It's more difficult to tell where you are without that, and there's no feedback to tell you if you tried to switch into a wall. Some audio would've helped there =). The first ring was by far the hardest because of that, i think.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:47am

This game is great evidence how a good programmer/level designer can make a really fun game without flashy art/sound. Really good stuff, exactly the right amount of challenge, exactly the right amount of tricks. Very clever/fun game. Well done.

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:19pm

WOW, this really messed with my head. Would love to play a super flushed out version of this. Really great job :)

meszka says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great mechanic, and some nice tricky platform-placements. I found the "jumping through walls" parts a bit too frustrating though. I'm guessing some audio-visual feedback on the switch action could help. With a little polish this will be an awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]