Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

CavEscape

by thomz12 - Jam Entry

CavEscape

Our first entry to Ludum Dare!

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RNpSVSOhFYU

Help:
Drag the miner through the cave without losing his head! If his head pops off, you lose!

features:
Infinite Cave Generation
High-Scores
2 Game Modes: Marathon & Time Attack

Created under 72 Hours for Ludum Dare 29 Jam. We also streamed the making of the game on twitch.
Created by Remco96Remco & thomz12.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#149Humor(Jam)3.20
#157Fun(Jam)3.38
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#370Innovation(Jam)3.02
#393Graphics(Jam)3.34
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#492Theme(Jam)2.92
#562Audio(Jam)2.47

Comments

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

That's really quite addictive! Great concept, great graphics and two game modes which are each good in their own right. The only thing missing is a soundtrack, but I'm not sure whether that would ruin the ambience.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Crazy game, but fun enough for me to play it a whole bunch of times. They should write on that dudes tombstone, "If only his neck, were as strong as that helmet."

jmf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

This is fantastic. Really like the movement idea though I am terrible at it. :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice graphics and exciting gameplay!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

The sound when you break your neck gives me the shievrs for some reason! Still, I like the idea, really fun and simple to play.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Fun to play, quite hard. nice graphics.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This is gloriously dumb. I love it.

Excellent work! :D

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

Awesome! Loved the slow down/decapitation when he dies. Really nice graphics (but I'm a sucker for voxels.) Difficulty seemed to ramp up too quickly, never made it very far at all. With some tweaking, this could be really cool!

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05am

Very excellent game! I could only get a few meters but was reward each time with gore!

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

Lol, pretty funny, I really enjoyed the pixelated blood and rocket propelled miner. It could really use a good theme song, but overall it was good :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27am

Beautiful lighting, but why is my avatar so floaty?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36am

omg. I loved it. you really need to add screams when his head falls off. great job.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

Interesting, decent graphics, nice concept. Could have been polished, maybe some better audio and music, but overall enjoyable.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

Can't really get the hang of the controls, so I can't really rate the rest of the game sadly. I really like the death effect though, haha. And of course the neck snapping.

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Fun to play. Loved the movement style and the fact that is score based.

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Not entirely sure how the mechanics actually work but I enjoyed it all the time! Pretty addictive :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Great game, that neck snapping sound is creepy :)
I imagine this would make a great app.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Bunch of really cool stuff! I like how the game mechanic is so simple yet challenging at the same time that requires the player to actually focus :D
Kudos to you!

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:52am

Love the art style! Awesome for 72 hours!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]