Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Keep the Gem!

by lukepilgrim - Jam Entry

Escaping is no easy task: You stole a powerful diamond in an underground base at Area 51. You have to face a lot of cops, but there will also be other thieves who want to take the diamond.

Note:
- You need to jump on the dead blocks to get to the top!
- Use Bombs to destroy dead blocks when you get stuck or when you need to get to the diamond!

Hint: thieves are spawning every 8 seconds. try to kill both thieves as fast as you can and then use the next 8 seconds to climb as high as you can. with this tactic I managed to beat the game in under 50 seconds.

Good luck!

*EDIT: I fixed a bug and added Touchscreen support. But I would recommend to play it with a keyboard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#43Innovation(Jam)3.85
#65Humor(Jam)3.63
#111Fun(Jam)3.50
#276Mood(Jam)3.25
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#361Graphics(Jam)3.42
#565Theme(Jam)2.71

Comments

smbe19 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Nice artwork! But I don't see how I'm supposed to escape, I mean I can't fly...

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Thanks for the comment! You need to jump on the dead blocks to get to the top.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

Entertaining game. I kept getting stuck under the bodies. But shooting and exploding things is satisfying. There seems to be a bug when I get to the end, I think it's triggering the same sound effect over and over again, creating sort of a terrifying wall of sound.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

Great art, great feedback on losing the diamond. I love the use of physics too, but I don't know that any rock is worth that much carnage.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

Haha I laughed pretty hard when I figured out I was using dead bodies to climb higher!
Fun game when ignoring the physics getting me stuck and spamming bombs!

Yaru says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55am

Good idea, but I find it too hard, since I was constantly stuck under a wave of corpses every time I tried to move forward. My half hour of game consisted of drop bombs and try to climb without success.
Still, with some touches here and there, it could be very fun.
Good job!

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19am

a bit laggy, but that's understandable. :) easily got the diamond bugged down under dead police..

Verspagen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

I like the Idea of the game. Walking your way up using dead bodies. But I do get stuck underneath the bodies as they pile up.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Pretty tricky right at the top there, to get enough bodies piled up to climb up! A great idea though.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Awesome art style and very suiting audio. I really enjoyed this game. It is a little hard to distinguish who's got the diamond and whether it is taken or just sitting there and where there is some lag (because of the dead bodies) it becomes a bit frustrating when the diamond just flies away from you and then you realize it has been stolen. It was indeed hard to escape, but it was definitely funny.

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Wow, I like it ;)

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Lovely idea. It took me a while to understand whats going on, but then I had much fun with this game.
In mid-game, my position was reset to the exit, but without the diamond. I was able to retake it ...

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I BEAT THE GAME! I sort of got stuck everywhere but it was fun and I really liked the idea.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice, i like the idea, and the physics use. What about to shoot a bomb over the head? this would clean the pile of corpses and make the burial less frustrating.

Cash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Great idea but I kept getting stuck under dead bodies and I couldn't complete the game

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Hi. Got stuck in corner wedged under piles of dead robbers and FBI... manic game. Good job!

CapsE says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Great Game! I love the creative thinking of using dead enemys to climb to freedom. Sadly I got stuck verry often and glitched around a bit.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

very nice game! on of the best i played so far
sometimes the enemies seem to stack and when you kill them there is like an explosion of dead bodies : D

had quite some fun! looking forward to see more games from you! 4/5

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Omg I get it you need to stack the enemies. So awesome. :)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Little bit "glitchy" but excellent idea and presentation makes up for it! Definitely worth a play as is, and it's an idea that could be developed upon with some physics/collision changes!

Adding bombs was a great workaround though.

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43am

Very fun mechanic, though extremely difficult to actually get out. I spent a good 15 minutes on it before giving up. Not being able to shoot upwards made me more or less powerless against other thieves jumping on me and taking the diamond underneath a pile of corpses.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55am

The concept is brilliant. I wanted to attempt to play until the end, but there quickly came a point where the game ran too slowly for me to proceed.

flavio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Yeay I did it in 70 seconds ! :)

Nice !

Yword says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Interesting gameplay! Maybe it will be better that the player can push away the dead blocks.

Nelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:54pm

fun&hardcore)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Wow, cool character design. I kept losing the diamond to the bottom of the pile XD

May 1, 2014 @ 1:08am

Man that gets tough near the end. I did have a hard time getting the bombs to work, but fun overall!

AmmoreChicks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

I like the concept idea!

zanenga says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:25am

Fun game! I liked the mechanics. I think with more elements (power-ups, more enemies, more stages, traps, etc) and some polishing it could become a very nice game.

Waterman7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great idea. Loved the chaotic gameplay and the endlessly spawning incompetent cops.
Getting stuck under the pile was fun for a couple of times, but after that it got kinda frustrating.
Sadly, I couldn't make it to the top. :(

SoupWithBits says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:06am

Controls went against my natural urge to jump with "space" but enjoyed making ladders of bodies!

May 7, 2014 @ 1:09am

Looks like some files are not loading properly.

http://tinypic.com/r/35i6qnk/8

lukepilgrim says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:26am

@brian I heard from no one else who had problems playing the game... could you please tell me what didn't work?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]