Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The hive

by Zolkren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal is to score 1,000 pts and beat the boss (he will come about 5 - 15 seconds after you reached 1,000 points).

Move your mouse to the left or right to change direction of fire.
Fire with LMB.
To skip the opening screen press enter.

Game story -
The year is 3255.
Hipsters has invaded the earth so an android built by the government (you) is sent to destroy the hipster's underground (beneath the surface) hive.

All of the project's files are in the rar.

My teamate did not do anything (ditched ludum dare) so I did
it by myself.

The tools that I have used are listed at the read me file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#207Humor3.10
#881Audio2.06
#1058Fun2.39
#1128Mood2.20
#1161Graphics2.12
#1211Innovation1.97
#1236Overall2.15
#1238Theme1.82

Comments

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

The game is super straightforward but I have to admit that it gave me a good laugh. :)

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:30pm

It is funny, but gets boring and annoying after a few minutes.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

yes,it is bugged and the music is shit beacause I had a tight schedule and some tests.
Also, after you reach 1,000 pts the boss will come about 5 - 15 seconds later.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Game is very repetitive, but fun for a few minutes.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Always fun to shoot hipsters! But the loud music/sound effects and screen rattle effect make it irritating.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

A bit silly, and buggy, but the storyline is worth it! :)

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Funny.

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This game is not really good, but it's not "that" bad. The sounds are too loud and the graphics seems to be made on paint (even though flash gives a better drawing system than paint...). Game is too simple and gets a little bit annoying. I think you spent most of the time working on the code and not enough on the resources. If only you had worked on a non programming software, you could have made even better than this. Good luck for your next entries :D

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Fun at the begining, but very borring after that. I was hoping for a well known hipster at the end.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

@skymen
I had exams so I didn't had alot of time.
@MSaul
The boss comes about 5 - 15 seconds after you reach 1,000 points.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I like that the game has an ending. The boss was a disappointment, the game was too grindy for the amount of content in it. The music was too loud. Could use any kind of depth to the gameplay.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

This game is a fun-ish idea but the gameplay gets boring almost instantly. Good try and cool idea. Thats it. Also too easy

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

I had my volume way too high when I opened this game! :D Nice effort though :)

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

The game was a little bit too easy. Maybe variety of enemies would make this a better game :D

May 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Simple, easy game! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]