Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

hellcrossing

by Martin Ysa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is you. Imagine that you have not been the best person in the real world and that when you die, do not go to heaven, you're going to hell.

But you still have one last chance, you have the option of escape. You must run, jump, dodge and give the best you have to cross the boiler souls.

Cross the hell, this is it

Good Luck!

*) 1st person runner simulator.
*) Fast action game, need reflexes. (Is hard sometimes)
*) Minimalistic art.
*) Procedural Graphics & Level Design

It's my first game in LD. Let me know your thoughts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#210Audio3.36
#668Fun2.89
#676Graphics2.97
#748Mood2.78
#876Overall2.86
#914Humor1.93
#1046Innovation2.38
#1193Theme2.05

Comments

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

This action game is very good. I run, I dodge, I have fun.
PS: Why don't you make different levels of hardness?

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Nicely composed music - fits the game really well. I found the length of the jump mirrored the length of the platforms a bit too closely. Very, very hard game! :) But very cool. How about pulsing some of the visuals in response to the music? Would be a nice effect.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Music was cool, and I like the art style, although the jumping distance just didn't feel right, which makes the game incredibly hard.

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Love the audio!

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Pretty cool, stylistic and challenging. The jump could really use variety in force by input strength/amount (longer press = higher jump) or else it's very difficult with the stock jump distance. Relevance to the theme is also a little loose.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Quite addictive, good job!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Looks fantastic and is hard as hell :D

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

No variable jumping? :( Otherwise, cool game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Well done ! Great mood thanks to the perfect audio. I like the minimalist graphics and love the gameplay ! It's a lot of fun ! Congrats !

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

You weren't kidding when you wrote that it can be hard! The gameplay is solid and the presentation is excellent. Some music could really help add to the ambience. Oh and it would be nice to have an option of using the arrow keys instead of A/D too.

pixelpun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Nice music to die to :) I like the simplicity of the graphics. good job!

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

The jump is a little bit too far, requries more luck than skill, since I dont know when to jump many times because I will just fall into the next gap. I enjoy the music. Something happening in the background would be neat too.

acerunox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Great game, really good music. Played few times. It's really hard - my highscore was 9. :P I'm sure that I'll play it later again.

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Good minimalist design and sound but becomes quickly repetitive.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Cool entry and challenging! Nice music, too.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Really, I went here watching your video on youtube lol. I dislike a bit runners BUT this one is fun and a bit addictive, graphics are simple, and that fits perfects, graphics, sounds and music makes a good feeling when playing. You may make more levels!

samooJAM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

Definitely make the jumping scalable so the jump height isn't fixed.
Nice first ld entry, good job.

Scam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I died too many times on my first jump -> frustration and ragequit. I liked the concept a lot, reminded me of the old classic SkyRoads.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44pm

It's nice how the jump sound complements the music.

Martin Ysa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:45pm

"You must find your inner jump ... :)" ... you should really avoid jumping when the gaps are small.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Lack of variable jumping and properly timed gaps really ruins this.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Good job !
The music is really cool (:

GamerTaters says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:04am

Love the minimalist approach. Enjoyed the audio. Jumping could use some improvement though. I think the game would really shine with variable jumping. Nice work.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice art and catchy tune, good job

I think having more control on the jumps would make the game more enjoyable. As it is, I feel like doing a hail mary pass each time I press the jump button

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Hi. Not rated yet just leaving comment. Unity Web Player starts but get error "failed to download data file" displayed just under progress bar. Have retried a couple of times. Chrome/W7.

Martin Ysa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Try to uninstall unity web player and then reinstall again. Must work

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:32am

Really cool design, but very hard. I wish there were more space between the jumps. And few bugs make this less playable, sometimes you jump like 3 times higher than you should. But it has some style and the gameplay is nice overall. I believe it could be a great and addictive game if you improve it a little.

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:29am

Really cool game. Used to Super Hexagon it wasn't that hard, but that was just an expectations-reality thing.
At the beginning I was trying to jump the tiny gaps and the jump felt mis measured.

conormn says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:06am

Very cool! Visuals and music were a lot of fun. Well done!

mollymus says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I think its a cool game but the jump mechanic could need some more work. Quite often I found myself jumping over an entire platform and landing inbetween that and the next one.

davidc02 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Pretty cool, I like the music a lot.

DonovanWu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Nice audio. The game kind of depends on luck sometimes.

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Cool music and nice minimalist graphics. The gameplay is quite hard to me.
I like that you use this running effect (left-right shaking) but I wish it would come with actually seeing the feets because it makes the controls a bit confusing IMHO.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:46am

It has a great vibe, but it is a bit hard.

Bashosha says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:42pm

strange idea, I like it reminding me with a very old game played on DOS called sky I used to love it

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]