Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Behind The Smile Face

by Aomeas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gameplay :

Arrow keys or wsad to move,
Espace or enter to validate.

You have to keep your fake smile mask on your face, but it's not that easy. Discussing with this guy isn't good for your nerves. Prevent yourself from swearing while you follow the conversation!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#35Theme4.06
#58Innovation4.03
#70Humor3.64
#96Overall3.82
#179Mood3.53
#350Graphics3.48
#361Audio3.06
#376Fun3.24

Comments

diemer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59am

Really cool idea, and well executed! The dialog lines were pretty great!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59am

Wow. This is actually quite good!
The lines are also nice.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05am

This is a brilliant interpretation of the theme and a lovely game too.

I think this is how conversation systems should be in RPGs, where you get to become more and more irritated by the person you are talking to.

Really well done, a great little song in the background and some funny dialogue. Played it for 10 minutes.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I worked on a game about keeping the right expression, but I abandonned it after day one, because I couldn't find a way to make it fun.
You managed to do that, so I applaud you!
Original game mechanic, that combination of arcade and conversation choices.

It's a bit easy, but for a Ludum Dare that's a good thing (we all have another 100 games to play, right?).

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:46pm

A really great game! I have nothing bad to say about it. The graphics are great, so is the music, and I just love the gameplay.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Great concept, I know how you feel!

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Nice visuals, and a great approach of the theme.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Wow, very innovative! I enjoyed it, but it was too easy

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Reaaly hard to control, but a good idea. Not fitting the theme too much though :c

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25am

that was a pretty creative idea, well done! :)

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40am

Wow awesome! I definitely love your interpretation of the theme! The whole neuron + dialog thing is a really cool idea :D! It was a little easy though, even if you have a full swear bar you can pick out the good answer. It took me a while to figure out what was going on (at least I hope I know what's going on now) but once I got it, I could enjoy the entertaining lines! Awesome :]

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Awesome game good, good graphics, good philosophical interpretation.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

The controls are very hard to master, the cursor moves around too fast. The concept is interesting and well executed though.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54am

Cool game! I like the game-play, rather original.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Great take on the theme!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:54am

Very interesting concept, matches the theme perfectly. Some advice, the pushing was not very pleasant nor fun, it was ok but it felt not responsive, lacks feedback and fx I guess. Also in the dialog I didn't know who was talking to who, but maybe it's just me. Anyway great job, great idea ! Keep up the good work !

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28am

I like the concept of the brain. I see there was someone else also had a similar interpretation of the theme. Good job

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:42am

I found the dialoge options very amusing and also liked the two layers that you have in the game. One being the well implemented "bump the words" and the other handling the dialog. Well done!

mrfriedfish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:43am

pretty much I put 5 stars. A good polished 48 hour game. You can continue developing it and put some progression mechanics into it and a little bit more gameplay. the conversations are entertaining though.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Cool idea. The controls are a bit difficult, but I guess that's part of the game ;-)

Nice interpretation of the theme and looks good!

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Neat arcade style game with unique dialogue entries. It got pretty tough towards the end!

csanyk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:26am

Unique concept, decent humor. The music was soothing. I think every game should have a swearmeter.

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Got a tad boring in the end, but I managed to have a nice conversation (even though it ended with a few "F*CK YOU"s :D).

Nice simple visuals and good background track. Well done.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Aomeas says ...
May 23, 2014 @ 10:06am

Thanxs to everyone who played it ! I know it's not that good, but my first LD entry reached the top 100 thanks to you.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]