Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Dive - I`ll spend the next 5 minutes Drowning

by Filecreation - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To start off, there is a slight issue with the camera that I didn't manage to fix in time.
At least, not by myself.
So when you start the game or transition between levels, the character and camera start bouncing up and down in a weird glitchy way. This should fix itself without any problem.

-------

The Dive - I`ll spend the next 5 minutes Drowning.
Click in the game or press the A button on your Xbox controller to start the game!
[Game best viewed in 16*9 resolution, 1920*1080 recommended]

-
In this game, you are a diver who jumped into the water without a lifeline or oxygen tank. Why? Good question. Ponder about that while you make sure that the diver lives as long as possible.
However, with its limited oxygen supply, everything must come to an end.
-
Controls:
Use A or D, Left arrow or Right arrow, or the horizontal joypad on your Xbox controller to move the diver around in the sea.

If you hit 10 obstacles, you lose!
Can you survive the jump into the deep dark sea?

----------------

This is my first time partaking in the Ludum Dare and the first time I made a game (by myself) in 48 hours. It's quite the experience..
Lets do this again next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Mood3.92
#70Theme3.92
#104Humor3.47
#118Audio3.60
#144Overall3.69
#158Graphics3.88
#408Fun3.19
#596Innovation3.00
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

loved the pep talk :)

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Wow, dark! Simple gameplay but the animation's fantastic. Love the narration, but my favourite part must be the screen cracking to represent your health. Very nice

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Really immersive experience, I liked the narrator's voice - the game was pretty relaxing in a way. Good job!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Intro is really nice animations, nice work. The enemy spawn is impossible to dodge sometimes though.

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Ahhh it was really good ! Despite the extremely classic gameplay and its lack of variation, as long with some visual glitches, I really loved the original narration (I listened to it until the end, even after I died) and the visuals (the slit glass effect for health and the pixel art).

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

didnt survive - loved the talk

leddkire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

A simple game overall. I kept playing wanting to know what the voice would say next. The good thing was that the game was not so complicated that it would distract from the recording.

It felt like a journey, a conversation with yourself in those last moments. I liked it.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Fantastic entry. Beautifully used the theme (literally and figuratively!) and was delightful to experience. I only wish you didn't pitch-shift your voice.

Lurieh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

Yay survived on first try :>
Liked the talk, I'm okay with the pitch shift, it goes well with the under sea ambiance. Maybe a fancier sound effect would have been more appreciated?

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Man, really great game. Very engaging. You must also have a really big monitor :)

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:38am

liked the voice over, great colours, and reallly great little animations

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21pm

great graphics and audio, sweet gameplay that makes you want to go deeper. Liked that game even if I didn't understand why I died

pLaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23pm

The narration made me play the whole thing and it really fits the whole atmosphere. The animations are pretty good, too. Nice work!

Filecreation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

For those in the dark about why they die in the end, its because of the water pressure buildup.
you cannot expect to go on forever, do you?

So once you reach level 5, your health slowly counts down till you pass out.

Thank you all for the great feedback, I would love to hear what I could improve for the next time!

TeamFlare says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:35pm

cool idea

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]