Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Approaching Void

by Celt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

With 'Approaching Void' i tried to realize an atmospheric yet entertaining no-brainer...i failed

I lost nearly a day because of using a broken alpha build of AGK without testing it before the jam...got myself to blame.

Sadly because of that the game is unfinished and ends when the fun should start, killing spooky ghosts with your flashlight.

Have fun anyway, be sure to crank up the volume and thanks for playing!


Controls:
On Windows you can use a gamepad (be sure to plugin before starting the game) or the keyboard as fallback if no gamepad is available

- Boost the cradle left & right: A, B, X, Y (gamepad), Q, E (keyboard)
- Move flashlight: analog stick (gamepad), W, A, S, D (keyboard)

Thx to Aenigma for the free font (http://www.dafont.com/visitor.font)
Everything else done in nearly 24h

Celt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Audio3.42
#282Mood3.33
#559Theme3.26
#785Graphics2.81
#820Humor2.06
#823Innovation2.70
#837Overall2.89
#892Fun2.63
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

Ah, the rare mac-only-game. Props for sticking to the platform!

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Controls are really bad

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

There is no reason for putting the player at the bottom where it is impossible to dodge.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Pretty good, I was a little let down when it went on telling me that this is the early end, but when the ghosts started coming with the spooky music, I felt pretty tense. Nice job on that atmosphere. I found it a little hard to dodge the incoming rocks though. Nice one :)

SethR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56pm

I couldn't quite get to the ghosts!! Neat experience

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

@Kragnir: not sure if this is a bug, the player should be located near the top...anybody else having the same experience?

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Great mood. The controls were a little bit annoying. Dodging the rocks were quite difficult.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

The audio is amazing and made me really felt lonely and lost beneath the surface. That being said I found the controls really imprecise. I don't know if it is this way to make it more realistic but the thing is I wasn't able to get much farther than where you get the illumination.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

The controls need improvement - sometimes colliding with a rock is unavoidable due to the response behavior of the player. The last part of the game was really tense and a great combination of visuals and sound. I liked the music a lot.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

Can't get past the "Press SPACE" thing... I'm on Mac OS 10.8, strange

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:30am

Even though it was short, i loved it! Especially the ending was freaky.
Thanks.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13am

@Oddly Shaped Pixels:

Do you have a joystick or gamepad plugged in? The mac build of the framework i used was broken unfortunately so it won't recognize keystrokes and neither button presses in this case...

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:23am

Like the attempt at atmosphere; the music was good. The controls were way too floaty and non-responsive, the game was too difficult and the graphics had resolution issues.

Generally, the graphics definitely could have used a second pass with unifying in mind. Liked the rope effect.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:34am

Rule #1: Never reveal your mistakes! Still, I like how you worked it into the ghost section. A fun and fluid game for the amount you finished.

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:11pm

The physics on the rope looks cool, and the music fits the mood really well. I also like how "health" is not shown using a bar -- health bars are devoid of creativity and are completely whack. Good job! Would have liked to see more.

May 13, 2014 @ 9:46am

Physics rope and controls is not entirely clear. But it looks nice. Good job for 1 day :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]