Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Living in a Kaboom submarine

by copain - Jam Entry

A 3 to 6 multiplayers game! Pilot a submarine and destroy your ennemies! This is our first game! We we're three working on it: a graphic designer, a sound designer and a web developper! Turn on speakers and have fun :)
-
Post-compo version: You can play alone against CPUs. Choose how many submarines will be in the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Innovation(Jam)3.56
#144Audio(Jam)3.59
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#411Fun(Jam)2.94
#472Theme(Jam)2.96
#478Overall(Jam)3.04
#594Mood(Jam)2.65
#601Graphics(Jam)2.75

Comments

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54am

Really hard to judge a multiplayer game. I imagine it could be fun with a bunch of people though.

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

Audio is neat, and obviously a lot of effort went into it. Game has a nice concept, love multiplayer stuff!

Jhelle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Only tried it on my own. But this pseudo turn based game feels like it would be a lot of fun with more people :) good job

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Multiplayer here looks fun. I wish I had somebody to try it with.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I liked the voice acting. The countdown sequence repeated over and over so I never actually got to play :(

tacs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I think it may have bugged. I got repeated countdown, one sub moved on it's own and then everything went silent. I'm using chrome.

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

@pancakecity : you can choose your move !during! the countdown (it's not clear in our rules, sorry) but it's maybe the bug of @tacs

@tacs : works for me on chrome and firefox, but I will try to understand where the bug is...

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

The issue here is that the game is multiplayer... on one keyboard. It'd be impossible to play with friends, especially 6 since you'd all be pressing on the same small area. Also, the controls need a better explanation (your little symbols made me think there would be buttons to press, but there aren't, just keys, so I had to restart to see what to press or just mash random buttons).

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16am

Good idea, quite difficult to play and understand.

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:59pm

This is a nice one. I really like this idea. Could definitely be fun with more people. Could use some indicator that it got your decision curing the timer (not which one), and the switches can be a bit faster. Also, the filters on the voice over are a tiny bit painful to my ears

zaratustra says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Controls could be on-screen at all times, I think. Overall pretty great.

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Very nice and addictive game. The voice is slightly annoying though. Keep up the good work! :D

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Once I understood how to play it, it was quite fun! Definitely something to be tried when playing with friends.
Good game!

MentaL13 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:06am

At first I did not understand what buttons to press, but after figuring it out the game was pretty fun to play.

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:50am

Love it! The concept is awesome, it is minimalist and remind me Rock-Paper-Scissor.
I like the way you have to choose between: move up, move down, load/shoot. And depending on other choice, you may succeed or fail (e.g. I had the situation where there was 2 people in front of me, I shoot the torpillo but both decide to move, so I shot on myself)

I suggest to add a feedback when a player made his decision to make the turn-based more obvious.

May 7, 2014 @ 12:50am

Good sound effects and music

Anoarith says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:06am

Vraiment très sympa comme petit jeu :) ! Il faudrait juste préciser dans les règles ou autre dans quel ordre les actions se font ça peut être pratique dans certaines situation pour savoir quel switch utiliser x).

voxel says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:52am

Being about to shoot torpedoes at myself was pretty cool. Local multiplayer is always welcome here :)

May 7, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Love it, loads of fun! I love that you may not necessarily manage to make a command in time, making it super fast paced, also loved the VO!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice packaged game and good sound!

Erkberg says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:15pm

This is actually a lot of fun, a really nice concept. I also liked the military soundscape. :)
One suggestion: Maybe make the players have a little bit more time to react, that timeframe is very small. Good job!

frogcheese says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:48pm

This game is absolutely amazing. The voice-overs are awesome, the gameplay is tense and really fun, especially with six submarines on the field. I played against the computer, but against five friends this could really be something.

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Great idea! I like the concept and the audio. At first I was confused what to do, because I expected some buttons on screen. After a restart I paid more attention to the instructions and noticed the letters next to the icons. This could be improved and I'm not sure if it's really possible to play on one keyboard with so many players. But nonetheless a great start and with some more work you could create an awesome game.

mystakin says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:24am

I really like the idea of a turn-based submarine "shooter" of sorts! I'm a bit impatient, though, so the game's pace was a big of a drag for me.

May 15, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nice energy, i like that kind of games.
I wish i could really appreciate the game but where i will find 3 people??? I have no friends.

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:44am

There's a great game in here, it was just really difficult to play.

Nanolotl says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:00am

Nice idea and well executed.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]