Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Egg Guardian

by SleepyRhino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the last remaining warrior ant from your colony and been tasked with guarding the few remaining eggs.

Left click to move
Right click to bite
Space bar to shoot

Melee enemy ants will go straight for yours eggs but watch out the ranged will try to stop you.

Survive all five rounds with your eggs intact and all enemies dead to win.

Fix: Added MSVCR120.dll to download

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#849Humor2.00
#873Theme2.86
#912Audio1.95
#947Fun2.55
#969Innovation2.50
#1094Mood2.29
#1111Overall2.54
#1117Graphics2.23

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Good game, quite difficult in round 5 tough

elfeck says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Sadly I can't run the game because MSVCR120.dll is missing. Might be my system's fault. Pretty fresh Win7 Prem install.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice game, was able to win on second try. The last two waves are stressful.
An effect when hitting a ant with a shoot would have been nice. At first I thought there is a bug that made my shoots disappear until I realized some ants just take a bit longer to kill.

jmf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Nice! Very fun. Would have preferred to use WASD keys to move rather than mouse, but still good job.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Bit difficult, but anyway, good game!

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

How about 32 bit version?

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I had the same issue as elfeck with the MSVCR120.dll...

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Pretty cool challenging short game Well done!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I had the same issue with the MSVCR120.dll and I couldnt play.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I like this idea and think it could work well on a touch platform. Also adding some music would help the experience.

Marjie62 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:38am

Fun idea. Controls were difficult; I had a lot of trouble moving and changing directions in order to shoot.

haltoncz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:38pm

same problem MSVCR120.dll

Airwaffle says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The rounds become really difficult fast. Don't know how to manage to beat later rounds.

Blanky says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:30am

Nice game, good work.

whendricso says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:57am

Msvc120.dll missing - game won't run :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]