Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface

by adamwoolridge - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**** NOTE: If you can't click on anything in the menu, try resizing your web browser window a bit and trying again, I think it's a Unity/Chrome bug :( ****

Blast your way through planet layers, destroying the enemies before they destroy your oribital shields!

Deeper layers take longer to burn!

Destroy all the enemies on one layer to destroy a layer completely.


The purple background is your shield, it's a sphere encasing the planet so all the planet's missiles will hit your shield. Be quick!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#41Theme4.02
#55Innovation4.04
#140Overall3.70
#198Graphics3.79
#261Fun3.40
#579Mood2.96
#602Audio2.67
#955Humor1.85

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34am

Really interesting and original. THX ++

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43am

Interesting mechanic, and really cool visuals:) is it procedural?

killthealias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46am

Awesome game! Like arcade games of yore, the game is easy to learn yet hard to master, and looks nice! Perhaps you could check out my game http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=36494

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04am

Thanks guys!

killthealias: I'm on my Mac so I'll take a look at yours tomorrow when I'm on a PC :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

I really like the concept. Felt like an old-school arcade game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Nice idea! I like the orbital movement and the shield-setup

porglezomp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

I like it, but I'm afraid I really don't get it. Are all the sphere's just to get in the way? Is there any reason that I shouldn't be firing constantly?

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Nice concept! Presentation is also very appealing. I didn't immediately understand how breaking a shell worked - is it when you pass a certain percentage of broken segments? In any case, great work. :)

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Interesting gameplay. Kind of frustrating at first because I didn't really know I could destroy those "missile launchers" :)

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35am

Each layer gets destroyed when all the enemies on the previous one are destroyed.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

It was very satisfying to discover I could hold down the laser button. Destroy whole shells was also fun. I wasn't really sure what was draining my shields, though.

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Linux please?

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

Andrew: The missiles firing out of the planet and into your purple shield is what drains the shield

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

cool concept! I wish the balls that weren't aiming at me didn't do damage (seems like every shot fired hits me, which feels wrong)

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

MattV: All the rotating purple is your shield,so every shot fired does hit your shield :) That's what the impact explosions/circle things are showing when the missiles "hit".

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Nice concept. I like the reactive background... very cool

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

Wow ! Totally amazing ! Very original I love it a lot !

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Whoah, cool game you've got here!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Wow this is really challenging when this comes to Stage 5! A lot of hard guesses but this is great overall :D

Great concept!

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

I really like the mechanic, and the concept was really cool. Movement was a little slow which made it a little difficult. The game looked really cool and those were great effects. The sound effects were great, but there was no music that really set the mood. Great job overall though!

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

A novel idea, and a nice touch that you learn to rotate in the opposite direction to the planet's spheres to more quickly get to the cannons. Nice retro vector-ish look, too :)

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

Awesome job!

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

At first I wasn't sure what to do, but that soon ended. I'm loving the art on this. Not to mention this game is pretty tough, at least for me :)

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

This is very challenging and fun!

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

nice game man... can't beat the last level... very tense and stressful!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

Awesome and unique mechanic, nice and fun :)

hampa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

Great game and polish! Impressive.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Loved it.
I have been fiddling around with Icospheres myself the last weeks, so i really enjoyed seeing this. Fits the theme absolutely perfectly.

Great job.

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Cool Gameplay and really cool Graphics /

Spierek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05am

This is a really cool game.

One thing I'd change - right now there's no incentive to ever stop firing your laser. Maybe if the player's camera moved faster while not firing it could add extra depth to the game?

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Well done!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

This game rules in fun department of things

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

The art is awesome, the game looks interesting and a bit complicated... But is one of the best ones I have played so far!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

Love the look and the mechanic!

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

Steep difficulty curve. Managed to complete Level 5 with my last shot after dying.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

Really cool. I love the concept and the difficulty. Graphics are awesome although this game is crying out for fancy shaders and a bit of shiny post-processing :) But it's the game that counts and this is great :)

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

Hard but really interesting :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

One of the best I played so far. I guess you could get rid of mouse down for burning and set it to automatic :)

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice use of the theme.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Very cool concept, great execution. It was fun to see your dev updates during the compo.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Nice adaption of the theme. I also liked the exploding effects, so nice.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

This is a really cool, little game! :)
It looks great and I love the concept :D

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Thanks everyone! Great to hear awesome feedback :)

I really want to add Oculus Rift support now...

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Great game with interesting concept and aesthetics. Level 4 got me.

Wuhao says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

interesting concept

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Awesome! I got to the 5th level and couldn't get any futher, but it was pretty fun until then.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Gud gaem, kinda hard to shoot the cannons when you're constantly fighting their rotation though.

vitor.navarro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Definitely I want more of this!!!! Just add some music in the background to make it even more compeling.

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice concept, simple, challenging, last level took like 4 tries. Great job!

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I like it! Just think the camera shouldn't rotate at the same speed as the globe, because i you try rotating in oposite directions, you can't really change your relative position.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Creative concept found myself getting stuck into it, nice game

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Puzzle games require a bit more thought, and I feel stupid as I can't create them.
But this is real good.

Innovation wise it blows my mind!

alaap_s says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very Interesting Game :) I liked it very much :)

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice mechanics. Gets harder when the tiles start regenerating. Also I think you're suffering from gimbal lock.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Nice arcade game ! The mechanic is fun (the fact that enemies you don't see can touch you is a bit frustrating but well). Congrats !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Nice mechanics and fits innovatively (is this a word?) the theme.
Great entry!

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Great concept! reminds me of that arcade game, Star Castle. very fun!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Great game ! Really interesting concept, well executed ! Congratulations !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Innovative mechanics and concept, and nice looking too. Reminds me a bit of Rez on PS2.

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

awesome idea :D
i will steal it for other games ... muhaha (evil laugh) >:P

Griz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Was looking forward to playing this game after seeing a post about it and now after doing so I am not disappointed. Sweet interpretation of the theme, what in return gave a highly enjoyable game.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Really inventive use of the theme, and a gameplay mechanic I don't believe I've seen before. Great graphics and animation, too. I think this has a lot of potential. Good work!

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Neat! :) The last level scared me pretty quickly.

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

That was a fun game, the visuals are nice. Reminds me a bit of Starfox 64. Good job!

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

very polished game!

recursor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

This is a nice use of simple geometry to make an interesting game.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Excellent! I really love the aesthetic, and it's fun to try and figure out where enemies are and intercept them as they rotate around the surface.

Supreme use of the theme!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Really nice take on the theme, and innovative gameplay. Took me a try to figure out the technique, but then I was away. Great job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Need.Moar.Lvlz :) Nice

bombjack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I liked it very much.

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Awesome, very original game!

Siewart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Interesting game :) I would also like to see this as mobile game. Maybe make rotation faster when not firing, to add some more dynamical mechanics to the game.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Visually very arresting & a really novel gameplay mechanic.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice job, innovative and cleanly executed. I think with a bit of juiciness, and some smoothing of rough parts, this could be a great game. Might be interesting on mobile?

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Interesting game. I didn't quite know if I was doing it right, but I won :P

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

this is brilliant! I wanted to play this since I saw the first screenshots on your blogpost, totally met my expectations

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Really unique concept, loved it!

no.One says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

Original and really cool rendering !

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

This gave me warm fuzzy memories of Rez. :)

I really like the presentation and concept. I really wish I had some kind of defense against the missiles though. Might be my playstyle, but it takes me quite a bit of time to get through the shells, so it feels a bit unfair. Maybe if the laser did a bit more damage... (hint, hint)

Niggles aside, I like it a lot. :)

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

I really enjoyed this, These are the type of games I love to see in jams like this.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

Awesome! I definitely had the browser size bug and almost gave up, glad I read your note!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

Great visual style going on here. Very nice for a weekend :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

Thanks for the tip on re-sizing the browser, glad I didn't pass this one over. Very fun trying to locate the turrets and destroying them before they do to much damage. Stressing, but also very rewarding with the explosions, great job. Probably one of my favorite, simple yet very addicting. :)

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

Awesome game play mechanics and the levels have a very good difficulty curve.
Music would make the game a lot better though

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23am

Impressive visual effects, and nice concept. Great job!

Shivur says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very great concept.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Cool game and Concept.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11am

Lice and neat :)

moonmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Very satisfying sphere destruction. I thought many times as I burned the inner sphere, why did I swallow this thing. Triumph, elation as I burned my inner orbs.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

Really great, congratulations !

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

Well done ! Very clean game, funny to play, Good progression of difficulty, very cool ! I enjoyed :)

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12am

Wow, this is actually very cool and smart! Good job on both the idea and the execution!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15am

Very original and a nice fit for the theme!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05am

That was really cool! In the end it comes down to finding and destroying all the enemies asap, since all the missiles are bound to hit you. Well, the enemies did give away their positions by blowing holes in the planet, but it was still hard to catch up with them. Made it up to the 4th level with some luck. Good entry. And yeah, good use of the theme, too!

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23am

Very impressive considering the timeframe this was made in! I feel like the game was very heavily inspured by tetrisphere.
Visual effects are gorgeous however the the average sound effects and no music let this down a bit, with better audio I believe this could have had a really good atmosphere!

I know I'm thinking of tetrisphere but if there was some 'purpose' to digging to the bottom, perhaps saving a 'friend', unveiling a treasure the turrets are protecting, etc that could have also added to the game

Overall incredible effort though, I'm -very- impressed!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:39am

Josh: Thanks! Nope, not inspired by tetrisphere, I've never seen it until now. Just had a look at some screenshots of it though and I totally get what you mean! :)

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

Nice game mechanic. good job!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49am

While I felt the actually gameplay mechanics are a bit lacklustre, the visuals are really cool. I'm impressed!

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52am

Beat it! Pretty good game, amazing graphics.
You missed an opportunity to make bullet-dodging mechanics though!

Tifu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06am

Cool concept, nice visuals when things explode =D

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

YAH ! Excellent ! Very nice concept and art. A little of sound will be good but it's very good as well ! Good job o/

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

Interesting mechanic and nice visuals. Like your interpretation of the theme.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

Awesome concept, challenging and good fun.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Nice concept and well executed. The only thing is that I felt the 5th or so level was very difficult, I gave it a few shots and then gave up :(

Jhelle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Love the polygonal graphics in this one. Good job!

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

love the minmalistic design.
challenging and really fun to play!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Really nice game, good mechanic.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Great interpretation of the theme. Thumbs up.

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Great concept. I thought it was too easy, but I barely finished the level 5 hehe. Goob job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

great game.. love the mechanic and it feels just right to play.. good job :)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

INCREDIBLE visuals, really well done.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I like the idea and the overall graphical effect it generates. Very satisfying to watch

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Simple game where the SFX and the graphics fit together really well, but could have used some music, controls worked well

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I love the low poly graphics style and the controls are great. Gameplay is fun but gets a little repetitive...

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Once I understood the strategy needed, really interesting game and seems very well balanced with the different surfaces. I enjoyed the challenge! Needs music! Love the low poly planet.

v3games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Great classic-style arcade game. Very complete and polished for the time limit.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very nice arcade game. Beautiful. Controls were good. I wasn't bothered by the lack of music (maybe on the title screen only?). I liked the sound effects as the background noise. Good job!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Really awesome, couldn't beat level 5 xD

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

yeah..wicked:outstanding interpretation of the theme!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Great job, this has a cool look and one of the more original takes on the theme!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very innovative. Love the effect that happens when you beat the level. Final level is pretty difficult. This one could go a long way!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Nice! Loved the graphics style and the arcadeness :)

Downloading the source to compare it agains my idea ;)

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

The best concept I've seen so far. This could be expanded for sure. I'd even pay for it if it was on my Vita!

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Hi there,

This is a really innovative Idea. I watched your progress during the compo and really liked the idea and the style. It is very functional and thus gains some really nice art.
The sounds could have been done better, especially I miss some background music.
Nevertheless a great game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

This idea works pretty well, although I was unable to defeat stage 5. I like how turrets reveal their position when they fire, but because the different layers are rotating independently there's some complexity to predicting their location.

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Visually pleasing. Felt like I needed stronger weapons as it progressed though. Well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

This would make a great mobile game with swipe or tilt controls.

If you're evil, add an in-app purchase for a powerup that auto-fires the laser. Lasts until you die, $0.99 each. ;)

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Cool graphics and sound, and a great spin on the theme. Nice work!

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

This is really cool!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Very cool. One of the most original games I've seen so far. I saw this on the blog and thought it was neat, but the gameplay is fun too. Awesome graphical style.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Thanks!

Martin Ysa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Excelent icosaedron use. Love this game.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Hi. Love the novel look and feel, is perhaps a bit hard but I completed level 1... Is there a way to recharge shields ? The shell movements and generation are great!

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

A challenging game with a cool mechanic that made good use of the theme? Absolutely!

I'm destroyed in the last level! XD

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:17pm

That's a pretty neat game

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Very original! Great work!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:53am

Very interesting playing around the theme. Game become very hard for me since 3-d level. So I can't beat it. Need more polishing and balancing, I think.

TeamEagle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:42am

Looks cool, original idea, plays nice.

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:11am

Really good! It was fun to chase down the little orange things, and to dig them out of their barriers. I wish that you didn't have to hold down the left mouse button all the time though, and I also wish that the character moved a bit faster, as it often took ages to reach an orange dot.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:27am

Really love the look of this and the gameplay is interesting too. Great work! I really really like the movement of everything it just feels really nice

soulrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I like it. During the first day of development I saw your posts and thought "how is that going to be a fun game?", but it turned out pretty well! Looks fancy and is in the last levels pretty challenging.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Fun! One thing you might do to adjust the difficulty level is to make the bullets go at varying speed and the player could perhaps burn them up? Combine that with the yellow shields regrowth and you might have possibilities for more levels..

May 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Super cool game! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

Dualhammers says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

This actually works quite well. Overall I think this is the first game I've really enjoyed on here. A few caveats:

Later levels become difficult in a rather unsatisfying way given the high rotational-speed of lower levels. I could either never get around to them in time or struggle to line up a shot rotating in the opposite direction due to the large amount of cover from higher levels.

If enemies were on the opposite side from the camera I had no way of knowing where I was getting hit from, this is was frustrating.

I spent all my time simply holding down the left mouse button. There was no reason not to have it held down so I wonder why I needed to press it at all. If a control is going to exist there should be ways to be expressive with it. Maybe add some additional ways to use the laser that involve the left mouse button. Pulsing laser fire, larger beams, etc., could all work.

Mekuri says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:08pm

This game was awesome! You did a really good job. I like how simple the idea is, and how great a game you end up with! I had a lot of fun playing it.

Tuism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I like it! The mechanics are fresh and new and has a lot of room for exploration! The strong visual/mechanic design tie is a great bonus too :) The way the enemies shoot so you'll go look for them is great design.

There are many things that can still be explored so I hope you carry on with this :) Like for example there's no reason to NOT be attacking. So give the player a reason not to hold down the button forever!

Theme! I would like to see a cooler theme, something like an armada of spaceships surrounding the sphere/enemy ship/planet/whatever. Cos right now you're a big sphere... Surrounding a smaller sphere... What?

Anyway good job!! :D

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Through the apparent simplicity of the mechanic, it really surprises with it's efficient and clear goal. One of the few "complete" games I found.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Very cool game, I like the polygon style. It felt a little like a reverse Missle Command.

bentog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Interesting mechanics, although I think there is something missing. Maybe somewhere you can't shoot, so you're not firing all the time? Great visuals.

Muu? says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Awesome visual style, possibly one of the top ones!
Very clean and polished game, simple but not too easy/hard mechanics.
I was positively shocked by this game.

To only part I didn't like were controls:
Keyboard to move and left click anywhere to shoot didn't feel right, a mouse only approach could have fit better.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:31pm

I can't believe you did this in 48 hours. Those higher levels are pretty mean.

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:46pm

fun game, low poly models remind me of starfox

noom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Really liked the concept, and it was very well executed. Nice and solid gameplay with no bugs (that I could see). Quite a fun little game, very good entry. Good job!

yokcos700 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:01am

Never played a game like this before; only downside I can think of is (obviously) lack of levels, too easy, and mediocre audio. Still really great, though.

DeathBread says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:05am

Very unique game and fun to play.

Managore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:10am

Wow, what a fun game! This is fantastic!

mcapraro says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:44am

really neat looking, i love the faceted globe and overall color palette, congrats!

May 2, 2014 @ 11:22am

Solid entry, I liked the removing of layers, that they regrow and that enemy shots break the layers, hence give me feedback where to look for them.
What feels weird is in the later levels that the rotation of the sphere becomes stronger than my ability to rotate, so my input feels very hampered with. Some more feedback about the position of the enemies would have been nice.

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:55am

Intense game, very easy to get into. You might want to port this to mobile :D.

Kerdelos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Nice ! But I find it unfair that the enemy can shoot through everything.

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Reminds me of a boss in Fez (from the Dreamcast). Liked the concept and the graphics, but the control for rotating felt weird.

Venturelli says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:57am

Really cool and innovative! Simple "programmer art" that is not in bad taste and gets the job done. I just don't like that surface pieces regenerate... apart from that a really excellent entry :D

MrLeePerry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:59am

Fun, simple, oddly addictive.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:46am

Clever idea. There didn't seem to be any reason not to fire constantly, so an auto-fire mode might be nice to save the player's mouse finger. Although, it was hard to see where you were firing, so a more crosshair-shaped crosshair might help. It was also quite difficult to rotate properly to reach the firing missiles, though I imagine that was intentional. The missiles hitting the shield with no way to heal or dodge was a bit frustrating.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:34am

good!!!

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:19am

Nice concept.
It would be better if your view's rotation had acceleration and deacceleration, and the top speed was higher than the current one.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:50am

The coolest looking game that i've played in this ludum dare

Lizzip says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:04am

Oooh I like this. Nice unique idea. My shields!

May 3, 2014 @ 9:08am

Fun game. Visually interesting. Seems time based as you really can't avoid enemy fire? Nice job. Keep developing this.

May 3, 2014 @ 9:57am

Really cool man!

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:28am

Nice concept, we did kind of the oposite for our game hehe. Liked the overall presentation and the gameplay was fun and simple. Maybe the camera/planet rotation could have a bit of movement friction when you let go of the directional buttons before it returns to it's natural self rotation, just to give a cool feeling when changing directions :)

May 3, 2014 @ 11:04am

Awesome mechanic! It seems all enemy bullets are hitting me even though they're not facing my direction. If that was fixed, I'd be having a blast!

Also, maybe some enemies shouldn't be able to shoot through their shield? Not all, just some. For more fair play. But it's awesome and I've spent a good 20 minutes shooting away, kudos!

FrozenCow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Very nice idea and execution! Perfect fit for the theme too.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Brilliant concept! And really quite polished. High marks from me.

Azatoni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Wonderful concept!
And good learning curve!
Good Job!

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Excellent visuals and cool interpretation of the theme. Good job!

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I like this a lot! Feels a lot like Rez, if it had some pounding techno music behind it. Really love the style and color choices.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Original idea for this theme =)

Photon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Whoa, that was pretty cool! Its simple but a bit more difficult and interesting than it appears at first glance. Definitely like the stealth element of it. Nice job!

Fasox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:12pm

REally nice game, intereting mechanic and suit very well to the theme.

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really love this concept, and the execution is really good too!

May 3, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice interpretation on the theme.
I liked the animations of the planet destroying

May 3, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very cool, you have a great gameplay!!

jtcrash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Great job!

VictorDoval says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Congratulations!

angelk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:14am

I really appreciate the unique and original gameplay. I'm a big fan of low poly flat shading, and this game definitely had that. The interface was simple and straight forward and it was easy to figure out what was going on (something that can be difficult to do when you make unique games). I think it might have benefited from a little ambient music. I found it pretty frustrating when I was going after one of the enemies and they were able to move faster than I was. I think in order to focus on the skill and eliminate frustration, the challenge should either be discovering the enemies location (since they're usually obstructed and you can just see the path of their bullets), or from the skill needed to catch up with the enemies when you don't travel at their speed by judging their path (without making it difficult to find them). Just my two cents, but I think you could make the gameplay stronger by focusing on one of those elements (I personally think mapping their trajectory without making it difficult to find the enemies is more interesting). Overall very nice game! It's complete and interesting, it fits the theme well and it's fun. Good job!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Pretty cool! Very difficult past level 2. I beat Level 3 just as I died, and it let me continue to level 4. Great take on the theme.

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I'm jealous of your destruction animations :)

Zerkruemler says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:04am

Nice idea and good graphics implementation.
I think it is a little bit bad balanced. It is more random when you discover the enemies, and you have barely time to track them down.

RetroEpic says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Holy crap, that last level!
This is a lot of fun, and I love how at first the mechanics seemed very straightforward, but later on you realize certain things about how best to play (like how to rotate properly instead of struggling against the wrong axis).
Great entry!

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:06am

Great game. Level difficulty goes up fast. One of my favorites.

MrShortee says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Interesting idea and style but pretty boring and tedious gameplay.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Prettly cool game.
The game mecanism is interesting, the layers concept is innovative. And it is quite fun to play.

I wish there was a way to intercept an ennemy projectile.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:10pm

That was certainly interesting! It too reminded me of Tetrisphere, even though it's a completely different game. :P This one's got a really cool idea, and is a fantastic take on the theme. The way each layer rotates independently is a great idea, too, as it prevents the game from being too easy/predictable. Maybe level 5 is a bit too hard, though...those inner tiles get really strong!

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Simple but satisfyingly challenging. Predicting the movement of the lower layers is fun, and the graphical polish is good. Could really do with some music and maybe some extra levels with more variety.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]