Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Marvellous Sushimaker

by TheMarvellousTeam - Jam Entry

Navigating throught the icelandic sea, your goal is to collect as many fish as possible to make delicious sushis. Don't worries about fishing quotas or in danger species, there is planty of fish in the sea. Thought, that may upset some guys, they may want to bump into you. If you pissed them off enought, they may drop some submarine mines too, just saying.

About us:
This is the second game of the team (the first one was during the global game jam 2014) and our very first game in javascript ! Unfortunately, the third dev' was missing :( During the first day of the jam, we tested panda.js, pixi.js and finally choosed phaser.js... Loosing a lot of time to choose our engine and so didn't have times to make the sound :( The next time, we'll choose pixi.js which looks funnier.
But we had the luck of met Angel who help us with her awesome asset ! After all, we have an art designer in the team =D

Members:
- Angel, our amazing graphist ! Seriously, take a look at her deviantart (http://raiseyourchickenwing.deviantart.com/) ! She drew all the assets in less than 5 hours !
- Platane, a pro-javascript, looks like a geometry nerdz... He entirely develop the path system with a home-made Bezier interpolation, and also integrate graphic effects like water or shadow with pixi.js.
- Nizil, a pro-java who cries during the 5 first hour because he didn't want to learn javascript. He's the dev' who implements, tests and tunes elements of the gameplay designed by the team.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Graphics(Jam)4.33
#114Innovation(Jam)3.63
#234Humor(Jam)2.94
#295Theme(Jam)3.30
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#328Fun(Jam)3.07
#572Mood(Jam)2.70
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

NiZiL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

Navigating throught the icelandic sea, your goal is to collect as many fish as possible to make delicious sushis. Don't worries about fishing quotas or in danger species, there is planty of fish in the sea. Thought, that may upset some guys, they may want to bump into you. If you pissed them off enought, they may drop some submarine mines too, just saying.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54am

I liked the way the boat's path was controlled and represented on-screen. It was funny to realize I could net the larger fish, too! The graphics were also excellent, good concept.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Harder than it looks! Nice game :)

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The control scheme is innovative, but hard to get the hang of. Great visual effect with the water! Could use some sound, though I know it's hard to find the time to get music in...

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

The art for this is great, and I like the way it controls--it's really smooth and feels like a boat. I played a couple times, though, so it would be nice if the game-over screen gave you your score and let you start a new game (rather than just giving a splash image). Also--I know it says you have techno music, but I couldn't hear anything despite having the volume cranked up really loud. That's a technical issue you might want to look into.

Thanks for the game!

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34pm

This is cool, great take on the theme.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Fun game! Didn't like that I needed to reset the browser to restart the game. I was also missing sound.
Cool controlling mechanic like previously noted.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Great game :D cool water effect. very innovative idea for controlling the player. great graphics too. very good drawings :)

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Now I'm hungry for some sushi :) Nice one!

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Nice looking game!

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Great graphics. It was fun to ship around but pretty hard.

eldog says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice GFX: both art and special effects! I like the water.

Also the controls are really unique, an interestin sea faring experience.

yetanother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Took me some time to understand how to move, graphics are great.

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:48am

Neat graphics/gfx and good idea.

goerp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:35am

The art IS great, you are lucky with Angel!
It looked great and there quite a few different aspects to this game.

I personally didn't like the control scheme. You had to follow the boat and drag with the mouse. Controlling with LEFT/RIGHT would be more logical I think.
It is possible to get off screen I found out and then there is no other possibility than restart. Which would have been nice if there was a button for it.

The instructions (using space) were off screen for me, so if you made the screen just a little smaller, I would know a bit sooner how to deploy a net. Or put instructions on this page.

But those are all the (hopefully constructive criticisms I have).

loxo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Great graphics and animations! Would be nice to see this game finished. I found one bug: it's possible to leave the screen and there is no way to come back.

May 20, 2014 @ 12:34pm

The marvellous team thank all for your awesome comment/criticism :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]