Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diamond quest

by MSaul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to collect at least 200 diamonds and avoid walls for 120 seconds.

Control : MOUSE (!)

C++/SFML(2.1)
editor : emacs/gimp/
sound : bxfr

It's my first Ludum dare, i hope you will like the game. Thanks for trying it.

Have fun !

For linux users, you need to install SFML2.1 (http://www.sfml-dev.org/). Don't forget to type :
$export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/.../lib/ <- where SFML is installed
before launching the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#241Humor3.00
#358Fun3.27
#459Theme3.37
#591Innovation3.02
#681Overall3.06
#704Audio2.48
#748Mood2.78
#972Graphics2.52

Comments

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:45pm

My best score is 263 / 200 diamonds. Looks like some ending condition are missing. The depth changing is a bit harsh : when you go down at the bottom of the screen, the witch to other screen make you go really fast and kind of lose control (not sure if I'm really clear here).
Otherwise, nice game :) !

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I've checked every key on keyboard before I realised I am supposed to use mouse :) I like the shaking. I think going deeper could be solved little better

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

@okolobr You have to survive 120 sec. I understand, i don't take the time to make the camera smoother in transitions. I'm happy you like it.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Very nice! I had a lot of fun. Not sure why sometimes the location of the character jumps up or down? And also, I reached over 200 Diamonds but the game went on, so what is the goal?
Liked it a lot overall

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

@zifandef If you survive 120 sec and have 200 diamonds you may have the "good" game over. I'm glad you like it.

myachin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

well done

i like it. my best score is 616!

Balint197 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Going deeper could have been made a bit less irritating, but great game overall, enjoyed it! :)

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

500/200 diamonds! ...he seemed to stop collecting them after 500 :)

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Best game yet :D

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

There are pictures of fish on the wall :O
Fun and humorous game, I like it :)
I only got to 183 but still had the/a happy ending.
@myachin How? O_O

thephantom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

cool idea .
it just need to be a little harder

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Thanks, everyone. I'm really happy you appreciate it.
@SuperIzzo It's not a fish it's a ... well ok it's a fish. You did't got the happy ending (the girl is sad). Try to go deeper to get more diamond.
@thephantom Yeah i have some struggle to balance game, it's always too easy or too hard.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

has that "just one more go!" feel to it. Good work!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

ahaha what was going on there. I liked it but the opening cutscene was so confusing

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Wish the camera would be smoother, but this works pretty well.

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

The mouse works really well for this game. Cool idea. I enjoyed it!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

The "drawed" graphics are really fun!
I love the game over screen!

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

fun simple game... the animation when damange is high is nice.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33am

that game was a little weird

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

A quick fun romp into diamond infested red stuff. Highly enjoyable.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

This game rules =D
Intro story is well told (I didn't quite get the last bit, was one guy smoking a joint?), game itself is fun, nice job!

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Thanks everyone for feedbacks, i appreciate it a lot.
@Kwrky *spoiler* Actually yes, it's a super joint (at the begining I want to do a super "energy drink" but joint is more fun. May be it will have been clearer if i have add some "super" effect arround it. (sorry for my bad english)

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Really felt the screenshake, nice job.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Cool idea, only complaint is that going down is a bit "jaring"...

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Really like that the history uses no words, and the gameplay is simple and addictive

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Haha, that was great, loved the little cut-scene at the beginning. The mechanics themselves were actually also surprisinlgy good. I really liked the risk-taking part of it when going downwards in order to get more diamonds.

Moral of the story: weed solves everything?

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Again thanks for feedbacks.
@ZeppelinCaptain I prefer : "Diamond solves nothing" :).

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Cool quest for diamonds! :D

May 1, 2014 @ 1:06am

Linux download needs installation instructions? I ran make, but got the following error:

CC src/Entity.cpp
In file included from src/Entity.hpp:4:0,
from src/Entity.cpp:1:
src/Utils.hpp:6:29: fatal error: SFML/Graphics.hpp: No such file or directory
#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>
^
compilation terminated.
make: *** [.obj/Entity.o] Error 1

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23am

@arrogant.gamer yeah sorry for that, you need to install SFML 2.1. If you want to give a try this tutorial seem pretty simple and should work : http://sfmlcoder.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/building-sfml-2-0-with-make-for-gcc/ . It will compile and work when you have it for sure (I do it on Linux).

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:23am

lol are those...BLUNTS? that give you...ENERGY? haha! well then. nice intro graphics :)

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:38am

... Are the characters in some kind of blackface? I don't know if that's your intention or not, but, um... it kind of looks that way.

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53am

Hey very cool

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:08am

I like it! Starting with the prehistoric painting in the beginning :p which brought you in the right mood to shoot yourself through the earth! Good job

berareu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Is he giving a joint the girl at the ending? Made me laugh, good work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]