Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER LANDSHARK MISSILE ATTACK!

by Tuism - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a SUPER LANDSHARK WITH MISSILES.

There's quite a bit of stuff missing due to 48 hour time limit, but here's the crux of what you

NEED TO KNOW:

>> SPACE to jump

>> Hold down mouse button when in the air, and AIM the crosshair AT PEOPLE to fire HOMING MISSILES.

>> You can swim UP WALLS. Careful you could fall out of bounds from sideways gravity XD

>> You are invincible. Because shark.


-----------------------------------

UPDATE: Massive Post Compo update. Do check it out, changes include:

1. A thumping track by Tim Harbour! Unfortunately didn't get to sound effects yet.
2. Focussed on one level, removed others for now.
3. Screenshake! Of course!
4. Removed time limit.
5. Fixed stuttering bullet time.
6. Health + death mechanic added.
7. Eat people to heal.
8. Removed swimming up walls for now.
9. Added enemy dropship.
10. Aerial dodge! Just double tap forward, left or right while airborne!
11. Missiles and dodge energy reload when you land.
12. So wow, so much. Hard to remember it all.

Link is above, so please do check it out!


-----------------------------------

Unfortunately I never got to everything I wanted in, but such is the nature of jams. But damn was it fun. And I learned SO much. Many thanks to everyone who jammed with! :D

Working on these for post compo:
>> Proper win/lose condition
>> Fixing bullet time stutter (done!)
>> Better interface for easier pick up n play
>> Targeting through the shark (done!)
>> Aerial dodge by double clicking
>> Better use of swimming up walls
>> Better, more stable camera (half done!)
>> Boss battles
>> Different weapons
>> MUSIC and SOUND EFFECTS



------------- WITH MUSIC!!! ----------------

[edit: I'm kinda sad that I wasn't able to put in any sound for the game (time :/), so I made a video of what the sound should have been like :P]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUzqlAde6Co&list=UUYNbqngS3SOYGp42I7EWIIw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#48Humor3.79
#104Fun3.70
#309Innovation3.43
#388Overall3.34
#648Graphics3.02
#649Theme3.16
#655Mood2.89
#989Audio1.71

Comments

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

I think this is the most beautiful game I've seen yet! Would definitely pay for a full-fledged title like this. XD Add titanic boss fights versus giant robotic laser-bursting angler-fish and 100-armed octopus kings and you've got yourself a gem right here!

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

This is a great entry. You could totally elaborate on this idea and have an indie hit on your hands. Love it. :)

dlweatherhead says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36am

Awesome little game... This could be damn cool with some multiplayer components. I loved the shark animation when you munched hoomans... Nom nom!

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

A good pleasure to be a shark !!! :)

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Quady14 I like ALL your ideas there and will credit accordingly when I get it made. Eventually :P

Thanks all you guys! I really do wanna make MORE LANDSHARK :D Dubstep first of all. Or Mozart :P

And YES it was supposed to be multiplayer but of course that was overambitious in scope :P

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I enjoyed bullet-time homing missile carnage and mayhem as well as bloody chomping runs in perfect invincibility!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I have problem with web version, looks like some part of screen is cut. (I have to change window size properties in firebug to see controls XD)
Anyway, awsome Idea. I like the blood animation, and feeling of speed while controling the shark! Looking for audio? -> Jaws..

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Hi wdebowicz, I tested the web player myself and had no problems with it - in fact I was SO SURPRISED that it didn't just crash XD (it certainly lagged my Unity editor out MASSIVELY). So... If you can give it a try on another system and see? I wonder what the problem is...

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Great fun! I played the web version and the edges of the text went slightly off screen, but not enough to spoil anything. Good work!

Larzan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Haha, great idea! At first i had my problems with the controls, but it is fun :)

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Nice game! Interesting idea, and works rock-solid, without any game-stopping bugs.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Mr Landshark!

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Thanks guys!! :D

Yeah the text placement was a bit off... In fact the whole interface/menu was slapped together in the last few hours so it leaves MUCH to be desired... Hell the lack of sound made me quite sad (which I *kind of* remedied with this :P

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUzqlAde6Co&list=UUYNbqngS3SOYGp42I7EWIIw

And yes there are refinements I definitely should have made to the controls, especially after looking at other people play, but TIME :P

Thanks again guys :)

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Those missiles!

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

This game just feels right...I have nothing more to say.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

Some parts of the screen get cut in the web player version (the texts specifically), but no biggie. Loved rampaging, neat entry!

jellymann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

This is my FAVOURITE submission! Such amaze! So shark! Yolo Swaggleson would approve!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32pm

*Nom* *Nom* *Nom* Crazy little game, love the animations :D

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Awesome to play ! Got to 100 !

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02pm

swimming in the ceiling was really fun

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Those homing missiles were awesome. Can't wait until you release it for Xbox One.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

That was all sorts of epic!!! Very well done :)

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Thanks thanks guys! I'd love to see some high score screenshots! :P Wanna design a level with me? :)

It was ironic cos I spent THE MOST TIME on the wall swim mechanics, but the end game didn't have a lot of it. I REALLY WANT TO add more to the game to make use of it more :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Cool premise! :) Enjoyed playing it but I'm too ashamed to reveal my high score. :D

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I adore the lo-fi aesthetic. The gameplay needs a toooon of polish, but if you could pull it off this game could seriously be one of the most stylish games we've ever seen. Really awesome job on the art.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Thanks!! I totally agree... The premise needs a ton of polish to get it up to a decent, as it is, I look at it as a screensaver game, well you can't watch it go, but watching someone play is super fun... Heck playing myself is super fun, not fun in an extensive way, but in an almost relaxing way :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

All that time I'm playing his I'm thinking "omnomnomnomnom" :D

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:38am

Your 46 hours with no sleep was well worth it!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31am

Its a cruel game... simple and awesome!! This is a crazy idea, I love it! Good job and keep improving it. Its the carmageddon of the shark games ;-)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:33am

Puny humans! Not terribly fond of the bullet time, but it is a FUN game.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:03am

Wow, really cool idea and execution. Well done. Only thing was I couldn't really get a hang of the missiles. They seemed to keep spiraling away instead of hitting anything.

Tuism says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32pm

The thing with the missiles are that they're homing (on the guy that you're clicking on at the time the missile launches) but not precisely homing - they're a bit drunk, which makes them, IMO, look more impressive and interesting. I definitely need to give more feedback to communicate that to players, and also I need to tune the missile's targeting systems a bit more :)

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09pm

That was great fun. I'd love to see it developed further. :-)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03pm

+1 for limbs detaching!

Sparrow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:01am

Very nice game, I loved it. Though at first I thought my laptop couldn't handle the game it was just bullet time being enabled. If you can smooth out the frames in bullet time that would be awesome.

Catman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53am

Aahahah! Cool one! And nice touch with the land-shark thing! :D

Tuism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:08am

I was utterly surprised too at how smoothly it ran, the laptop I made it on was a piece of ancient poo, so my decision to keep everything as low-poly as possible paid off :D If you think the web player runs well you should see it as the downloaded windows version :D

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:20am

"I'm not saying this game makes sense, I'm just saying it's the most epic entry I've yet had the honor to rate."

Well done!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:44am

LOL :)

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:26am

I love the chaos. I wish there was a clearer winning/loosing condition that is communicated to the player. Had a lot of fun :)

mrfriedfish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:34am

really fun game. the bug became a feature I would say. great shark!

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:47am

Funny game I just wished the level where a little bit different because right now they are pretty similar.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:32pm

You had me at the title, to be honest. Really fun! I liked having a selection of levels to pick. The graphics are simple but effective. The bullet time feels a bit odd, like its just decreasing the FPS or something. But otherwise its great!

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:37pm

hehe... that was crazy :)

soulrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:38pm

That was quite fun to play, although the bullettime felt more like framerate drops instead of smooth and awesome bullettime :( Swimming up the walls also made my camera bug out, it went through the 'floor'/ceiling and had some trouble with the rotation.
Oh, and an exit button would have been nice ;)

Mr. Jif says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:37pm

So much carnage! This must have been a fun game to make. Silly yet extremely fun. I loved it.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Shark, missiles, explosions and slowmo... what else do you need to make a great game?

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:36pm

This should be called SHARK SIMULATOR! It's a game without logic and feels fun. I like the idea. Good job and good luck on next games!

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:25am

That was fun! what's better than killing humans as a landshark?!

Tuism says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:35am

Thanks everyone for your rating and comments! Especially comments! I've been working on a post-compo version, it's not ready yet cos I've torn it apart and it's buggy, but here's what I've been working on:

Working on these for post compo:
>> Proper win/lose condition
>> Fixing bullet time stutter (done!)
>> Better interface for easier pick up n play
>> Targeting through the shark (done!)
>> Aerial dodge by double clicking
>> Better use of swimming up walls
>> Better, more stable camera (half done!)
>> Boss battles
>> Different weapons
>> MUSIC and SOUND EFFECTS

Thannnks!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06pm

REDICULOUS and FUN game. Wreck havoc and shoot rockets. Also be a shark!
Is this not a dream come true?

I don't think slow-motion is necessary when firing rockets, at least not as it is implemented in the game right now. It just feels weird.

2HitAdam says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Hahaha what a crazy ass game. I love it. The hang time firing rockets felt awesome to pull off, totally made up for all the time I spent spiraling out of control on the walls! Nice stuff :D

Nizar89 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Fun and crazy!
Too bad you couldn't find time for some audio feedbacks, but this is already quite impressive.

May 3, 2014 @ 4:00am

lol, puny humanz!

May 4, 2014 @ 10:37am

This is really fun :D I enjoyed it a lot!
There was no sound for me, though (Web version in Firefox on Os X).
Also I don't know if it's your implementation of the bullet time or if it's the missile particles, but everytime I tried to shoot missiles, it felt as if the game was lagging really hard, which is a bit of a shame...
Anyway, this is a really cool idea with a lot of potential, if it gets a bit more polish :)
Also, I clipped through a wall on the "second level" and was stuck in there, upside down :P

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:43am

Frenetic and confusing, lol! Interesting mechanics, might need some polishment.
The camera is really sensitive huh! One little swipe will feel like a rollercoaster ride. Plus on the first stage, I climbed that lone wall up to the top, and the shark kept going...and like Sandra Bullock in Gravity, I was lost in an empty space. Boundaries man!

Thorig says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:37pm

This is a funny game. Love the idea of being a land shark. Too bad the game just let me keep on when the Timer ran out of time. Still a really funny entry.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:45pm

A fun and kooky concept, I liked it. :) The "bullet time" feels a bit laggy, though, so I'd work on smoothing that out.

May 6, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Sooo fun!! Crazy idea and nice execution. I think if you want to work on polishing a post compo version, you may have a future hit!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:50pm

This game is hilarious! Definitely feels a bit rough (the one time I jumped off a building I was airborne for almost 30 seconds and flew an unbelievable distance) but is still extremely fun to play. Awesome foundation for an awesome game if you keep working on it.

idovingx says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:26am

fun game. it was really cool to be able to bullet time and move the camera around to watch the destruction you've caused.

Teesquared says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I like how the shark lifts his head out of the water to eat the puny huumanz. +1 for realism.

dmcfarline says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Very trippy, would be cool to see some more development, lot of potentual

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:21am

wowowowow so much fun. xbox controller support?

jsmars says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:20am

Really cool idea! Awesome missile launches! Bullet time felt more like lag tho, should be smooth.. post-compo edition fixes a lot of the issues so really nice work!

Tuism says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:57am

@wschorn I'll definitely look into controller support! And multiplayer along with that. Always wanted multiplayer in this :)

Thanks everyone! Next up few more enemy types and different weapons :D

Also, I haven't noticed anyone complain about lag yet - so that's not an issue at all?

mechabit says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:49am

Great humour. I felt like it would be better if I could dive down for a higher jump. Would also be cooler if all the missiles fired at the same time when you released the mouse. Also when I fire a missile I kinda want it to hit the target, occasionally the missiles will hit the ground and do nothing. That would be good if there was a way to avoid hitting the ground, but as it is there's not much you can do.

SenorDiablo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:00pm

ahahahha awesome

sirdorius says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very nice game! But the jump seems kind of 'strange', I can't tell why

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]