Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under My Skin

by codevinsky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML 5 Game written with Phaser.

What's beneath the surface of our skin? A fight for you your life.

You're the last surviving white blood cell trying to protect your red blood cells from the attacking viruses.

Battle it out with The Common Cold, Swine Flu, HPV and others.

Each of the enemies and blood cells were created using automata algorithms. Some of the cells chase others, some collect items to help you.

All Art Assets were created on the canvas programmatically.


Works Best In Chrome.

THIS IS NOT A MOBILE GAME.

REFRESH TO RESTART.

Game is open source: http://github.com/codevinsky/beneath-the-surface

To run:
clone the repo

cd into the directory

run: npm install

and then run: grunt

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#281Fun3.38
#332Theme3.52
#544Overall3.19
#729Graphics2.90
#810Innovation2.71
#834Audio2.20
#836Mood2.67
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

Fun little game, although the game crashed at the third level.

codevinsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

i noticed that after submission last night... i'l working on fixing it.. Thanks for playing!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

It crahed on the first level for . I had to refresh to get it to work, and I had no problems after that

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I think it'd be good if you allowed arrow keys along with the WASD controls, for us Dvorak users ;) Looks like a cool game!

codevinsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Fixed the crash bug and added arrow key support

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

This game is fun.
It crashed on my two times between levels though. It could not get out of the pause state. Once up to level 3 and once up to level 7

codevinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

DAMMIT.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Nice concept, but FPS was about two or three while playing in Chrome.

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Checked this one out. There are quite a bit of shooters out there, but I liked the way you've made different type of things to shoot/avoid and how different type of cells have different goals.

Nicely done.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Pretty fun, the sounds seemed a little loud though. And actually aiming and the infections was a little difficult because of how small everything was. Despite the crashes/hangs I really enjoyed it though, nice one.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

489. Then it crashed. But until then it was frentic, fun, great graphics.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Good job, this is fun! I got stuck on the second level, it didn't crash but enemies stopped spawning, it's possible that there was one I just couldn't see offscreen.

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

This is great, although after I died I could keep shooting. And great job on the Yeoman generator for Phaser, that and your simple tutorial on Flappy Bird Reborn was my only practice with Phaser!

reidrac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Interesting game! I can't get pass the 2 Level, the game gets stuck on "press space to continue" after the "Influenza" message box.

I've notices lots of webgl errors in the js console (just in case it helps: WebGL: INVALID_VALUE: vertexAttribPointer: index out of range ). I don't know if it is related!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22pm

this was fun but after the third level the game didn't progress

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Fun to play and challenging!

lorniebear says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I thoroughly enjoyed it, as well as the fact that it is related to my science lessons.

psychonull says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Good job, the game is pretty solid and fun.
Also, good job on your posts about Phaser, they helped us a lot to get started with the engine :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]