Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Beep

by etherframegames - Jam Entry

JUST THINK OF THE BUGS AS ABSURDIST HUMOR.

They Beep is a dialogue driven, point-and-click game where you play as a man named Travis. Travis thinks there might be a robotic infiltrator at the office.
But probably not.

CONTROLS
Just the mouse.

They Beep is designed to run at 640x480 resolution, so larger ones will create artifacts on the sides of the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Humor(Jam)3.79
#300Mood(Jam)3.20
#319Innovation(Jam)3.12
#334Graphics(Jam)3.48
#364Theme(Jam)3.17
#365Audio(Jam)3.09
#405Fun(Jam)2.95
#431Overall(Jam)3.12
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

magicspark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

This game was hilarious :) Nice job on the funny ambiance!

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

Haha, clever game idea! I still haven't been able to figure out who the robot is, but I'm definitely going to keep trying!

Sodaware says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

I liked it! Nicely presented, and a good dose of humour. Especially liked the intro, and running around questioning everyone was fun. Liked the ending too - is there more than one?

My only complaint is that there isn't much freedom in the dialogue - you can't leave a conversation once it's started, and can't go back and talk to someone again (or if you can, I couldn't figure out how).

devince says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Does Android dreams of electric coworker?

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Great game. I really like it

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

Are you a robot?

taocayo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

Is there more than one ending?

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Couldn't find the robot :(

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:33am

"Im pretty sure that email was a joke". Im pretty sure to now, din´t manage to find out who it was. Great job

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Very silly game. Though I couldn't figure out what to do different to get the robot to come out (if there was one) it was quirky and fun trying to figure out who it was. Pretty neat original game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:26am

Nice game with all that conversation, well done.

Though I could not find the robot :/

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:11am

I love the style of this game (and the music, though it didn't loop for me), but talking to the other staff felt a bit aimless. Dialogue trees repeated between characters often, so I wasn't sure what kind of direction I should have been taking.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Funny game idea. I'm not sure if I could find the robot and I started to get a little bored with the repeating dialog. The music is good, but it didn't loop properly, so I ended up with silence for most of the game.

atomic_swerve says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:30am

It's fun to see an adventure game in LD, but I definitely felt there could have been more variety in the conversations. Didn't really feel like talking to anyone was leading anywhere.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:20am

An interesting game, but there didn't seem to be any loss condition--so it falls more under the purview of interactive storytelling. I think a smaller number of interactions could have made it clear that the player character is the robot (... if I read that correctly?). As-is, if it's a game, then it probably needs to be more forgiving--as there's no apparent way to learn a character other than restarting the game; and if it's simply a narrative, it should likely be a little bit less repetitive.

All-in-all I enjoyed the humor and was reminded far too much of my own experience in office environments, so thank you for the flashbacks ._.

JoeProgram says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:29am

Is this a puzzle game? I'm not sure whether I'm supposed to find the robot, or if its just about me playing a weird character. Would love some clarity, either way!

klianc09 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:06pm

The idea is cool but it really lost it's charm after they respond the same way to the same questions for the fifth time. The graphics were nice and the music was great as long as it lasted.

cageinabird says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Hilarious intro! :D

I really like the concept, but couldn't figure out what to do. After talking to everyone I got a game over screen. I thought I'd be able to go back and talk to re-question people but you can't talk to people more than once.

Also, following the same dialogue structure gives a clearer structure to the puzzle solving, but it did make it harder to remember who said what.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]