Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill

by LinusPrime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare, I hope you all enjoy my little game!

Drill through asteroids and destroy the aliens that lie beneath the surface!

CONTROLS: (WASD/Arrow Keys) + (Spacebar)

TOOLS:
- Unity
- Photoshop
- GraphicsGale
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#69Fun3.82
#69Humor3.65
#93Innovation3.91
#123Audio3.57
#185Mood3.52
#231Overall3.55
#504Graphics3.24
#759Theme3.03

Comments

Redream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

Although the graphics could use a bit of work, the mechanic was really unique and fun. Enjoyed the voice acting.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

That's hot! Really loved the graphics, mechanics and execution.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I liked the main character, it was cute. Great voice acting

borrismoose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Smart idea, you could do a lot with it if you take it further. Some scoring or feedback throughout the levels would be handy so you could see what your objective is / how you are getting on.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Not totally sure what I was supposed to be doing, but it looks pretty!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:49am

The unity web player does not play on linux, and the windows one would not render text in wine. Can you please release a linux binary?

LinusPrime says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

I have a linux port complete, just need to test it before I release it. Will be out as soon as possible!

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:32pm

The story was unnecessary in my opinion and I don't really see the use of the theme. Besides that I had a lot of fun. Good job!

May 2, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Why do drills love citrus fruit? I may never find out. Nonetheless I had a great time playing this. The mechanic was interesting, the levels well-designed and thought-provoking, with a nice progression curve -- until I got stuck on one level!

May 7, 2014 @ 12:58am

Nice use of minimal graphics. I'd have liked the mechanic to be the opposite ('avoid the circles' instead of 'catch the circles'), though the levels ramped well.

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:08am

Fun puzzle game. I didn't expect to actually get the pineapple but was happy when the theme changed after doing so.

ZYXer says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:41am

Wow, nice combination of puzzle and reflex elements. Well done!

I like the abstract aliens ;)

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:50am

Very Simple and nice.
I like the puzzels and the funny dialogues.
But the game need more innovation, maybe the background with some intriguing thing, but good game, and the puzzels is realy great.

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:51am

nice game.
mirrors change the gameplay when it becomes boring.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:11am

wow - I could not stop playing this - really cool mechanic - nice job

cr2crstudios says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:31am

Cute puzzle game!

foobraco says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:37am

I really like the mechanics, nice game!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Very innovative and fun, also you were smart to use auto generated voices (even though they skipped a few words), because usually if a LDer records their own voice their performance takes me out of things.

I will say it's bold to have a game where you have 3 mechanics, and overall I liked it, the third mechanic was a it of luck based, and so overall the 'orange world' was probably my favorite, but still shows promise for you as a developer with this fun game.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Oo, there's some serious timing involved with this one. Fun :) The little intro sequence was adorable and funny as well.

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Pretty fun game mechanichs. I love that retro graphics.

LinusPrime says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Thank you all for the positive feedback! I really appreciate it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]