Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surf's Down

by Teesquared - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Surf's Down

Fear what lies beneath the surface...

Deep beneath the surface of the sea lies horrors beyond your comprehension. At these great depths, you will be terrified by sea creatures that are horribly horrifically horrifying. It is there that you will find ... SHARKS ... WITH ... LASER BEAMS ... ATTACHED ... TO ... THEIR ... HEADS ... GASP ... BREATH ... RUN AWAY ... And more horrors beyond the horrible. So horrific, there are no words in existence to describe how really really really horrible these creatures are. You are equipped with your trusty and amazing rhythmic Yellow Submarine and enough torpedoes to cover the surface of the earth 80 gazillion times. Will you be able to survive the depths and reach the bottom of the ocean... Few dare to venture into the depths beneath the surface of the sea, will you?

UPDATE: The embedded font reference was not working correctly (it worked on my computer but not others). I fixed it up and updated the SWF so it will work correctly now. See github source for full details.

UPDATE2: Fixed collision with rotated sharks. This required a non-trivial code change (change submitted to github along with test code).

UPDATE3: Fixed shark movement issue. Shark's will now be more aggressive towards the player's location.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#123Humor3.40
#517Fun3.06
#602Theme3.22
#729Graphics2.90
#821Audio2.22
#891Overall2.84
#952Mood2.53
#1076Innovation2.31

Comments

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00am

Frigging laserbeams! Nice one, thanks. :)

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22am

Its got friggin sharks with friggin lasers on their head. Someone hold mini me!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

Best score 1660, depth 4510!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

In my mission to rate all the shark related games in this LD (my game is SUPER LANDSHARK MISSILE ATTACK, see? :P), this is the best one so far :P

Cool collection of juice, and I love the surprise in the one-shot-on-screen mechanic in that I could spam shots if I control my ship just right, though that was risk/reward in itself :) Whether that was intended or not doesn't matter cos it's cool emergent gameplay! :D

Good stuff :)

l3dx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25am

Cool game. I didn't make it to the bottom. Sharks everywhere!

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30am

Liked it!Quite challenging, and I love the graphical style

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05am

Haha, love the laser beams. Good job.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09am

Fun game with fun graphics! Challenging and humorous with the horrifyingly horrifying sharks :)

Teesquared says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:11am

Thanks for the positive feedback! Single shot system was intended but it turned out better than expected.

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I liked it! Sharks with laser beams, what more could you want! Only suggestion I have is that the hit boxes on the big shark seemed a little too big. I died sometimes when I thought I would be ok!

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Oh the horror! I feel my sanity slipping away!
Also, strangely addictive. I wouldn't have figured out the one-shot-on-screen thing myself, seemed a bit unintuitive for torpedos to work like that, but it made the game interesting.

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25pm

funny little game, the light-sabre-sharks are legendary =)

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Sharks with laserbeams, lol... :)
Nice concept, but it ramps up too fast, imho... Other than that, graphics were fun as well!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:33pm

As already said... The shark is soooo cool, I really enjoy the style =D Funny little game !

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Sharks with frikin lasers attached to their heads!

tomvert says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:16am

There's a spot on the screen where you almost never get hurt, I made 2290 points ! Also laser sharks !!!

Teesquared says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:29pm

@thinkster yeah that was a bug with collision for the rotated sharks. I just fixed it and updated the SWF.

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:07am

Lol you can't really go wrong with sharks with lazers strapped to their heads!!

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:08am

Lol you can't really go wrong with sharks with lazers strapped to their heads!! Very addictive!

May 4, 2014 @ 5:12am

It gets boring when I realized that there's a spot where the shark won't go there because it spawn at the same place and have the same movement. Might trying to add some power ups or collectable to make the player moves more. :)

monaarc says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Nice game :)

Teesquared says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:25am

@BlazingFanfish I tweaked the shark movement code to fix this issue.

scgrn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:14am

Music would have been nice, but this is an awesome little shooter!

finefin says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:37am

not the greatest game ever made. but +1 for yellow submarine, +1 for laser equipped sharks :D

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Glad you have sharks with laser beams. Managed to score 1030. I like how it gets pretty hard to dodge all those sharks.

Moosefly says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:08am

Got to a depth of a little over 7k units and a score of around 3.5k after a few tries. Would've been cool if the background kept getting darker the farther you went. Some ambient background music would've also worked wonders. Not a fan of the single-bullet-on-screen mechanic, but I guess it added an interesting risk vs. reward mechanic.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

pjchardt says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:09pm

I experienced a couple quick depths from sharks when I was close to the edge of the screen. I know that part of the strategy is to try and stay in the middle. It might help a bit though if there is an indicator for where a shark is coming from before it enters the screen. Even if it is for less than a second. Maybe it will make the game too easy? Not sure, but perhaps worth a try? Nice work :)

MokuJin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Good graphics, the sharks are really horribly horrifically horrifying.

Nice game.

mortus says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:47am

What the... I'm not sure what was it, but it was cool! Really simple gameplay but quite addictive! And it's yet another game where I love the bubbles. I guess I'm just a sucker for bubbles. Didn't know that before this jam, so thanks, I guess! Gotta make a game about bubbles myself next time!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:54am

Max depth of 5694. Interesting game, adding the lasers to the sharks is a very...unique touch lol.

mark.goetz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:43am

Very cool, I like the sharks with laser beams and that they come in different sizes! It got a bit frustrating to kill sharks with only one bomb at a time, but getting in close worked well. The difficulty ramping works well too!

pikkpoiss says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Got really difficult! The one shot on screen at a time thing was interesting, since I could try to stay right over a shark and keep shooting rapidly, but in practice I died a lot more trying it than I felt like I benefitted from being able to kill a shark fast. Would be cool if there were markers at certain depths to let you know milestones as you descended.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]