Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Das Freaking Fish Vs The Flying Octopus Army

by MoArtis - Jam Entry

You are a fish and it's up to you to DO NOT stay beneath the surface and fight the Evil Flying Octopus Army who his trying to pollute your sea with their bullets (for some reasons).

WASD - Move
Left Click - Jump
Right Click - Dive

I dedicate this terrible game to my awesome cat, The Lord of Cuperlax, killed by Police car.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Theme(Jam)3.94
#137Innovation(Jam)3.56
#203Fun(Jam)3.28
#297Overall(Jam)3.33
#373Mood(Jam)3.06
#455Graphics(Jam)3.17
#554Audio(Jam)2.50
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

lolfish 3:

Meedoc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Awesome! The only complaint I have, and eventually it may be intended as a gameplay feature:
- it's hard to predict the current pattern of the octodad when you try to leave the sea

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20am

It's a cool play on "beneath the surface", since you can't see what's going on up there, and your controls are much less precise above water as you're a bit outta place then. It is indeed very hard because of that, but the dichotomy's a neat idea.

Too much of the difficulty felt like chance for this to work at a larger scale, but I like what you did here.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

It didn't seem like any of my shots had an effect on the octopus but the fish looks cool!

MoArtis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

Thank you for the comment, TyrusPeace. I totally screwed the content of the game and the balancing of it due to lack of time.

The game is way to hard and the control could be much more tight with a bit of tweaking. :)

vexille says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59am

Awesome, I love it! I think you should really have some idea of where the shots are up there when you're ~beneath the surface~, otherwise there's a lot of guessing involved.

Also feels like the jump really should be more precise. Instead of just adding force to the fish every time you press the jump button, the current velocity of its body should be set to zero, so that the jump has always the same strength.

Otherwise pretty awesome!

eastes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23am

Das really hard game! Nice graphics and Mood.

Loneshark says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:28am

OctoKing MK2 is too hard!

Thank you for making a bullet hell shooter!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Interesting mechanics, nice art too.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:54pm

My condolences for your cat.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Second boss was impossible for me to beat. Like all the weird stuff going on though. I liked eating the boss's bullets for my own ammo (once they were in the water.) Wasn't sure what the 'fucked-up water ratio' meant though. Cool art. Just wish it wasn't so brutally hard.

TeamFlare says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:38pm

nice!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]