Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surf Ace

by Scruffylooking - Jam Entry

Beneath the Surf Ace (NOW with 100% less downloading!)
HTML5 (index.html)

Created with Construct 2 and GIMP

First Ludum Dare Jam entry!

****Update****
Thanks for all the feedback!
Now the WEB link is playable without Downloading!
There is some sound, but doesn't seem to be playing for IE.
Fixed issue with Sharks Chasing speed being affected by higher frame rate. Who knew my PC was so slow?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#373Humor(Jam)2.56
#620Theme(Jam)2.58
#636Audio(Jam)1.90
#682Innovation(Jam)2.25
#716Overall(Jam)2.38
#721Fun(Jam)2.08
#723Mood(Jam)1.95
#763Graphics(Jam)1.60
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

Nice idea, however I found the control a bit difficult. Even on the easiest setting i was struggling to protect surfers. Also, maybe Dropbox is not the best place for a web game, I couldn't run it from there, had to download all files and run them locally. Just a heads up, as people may find it too difficult to get it running and give up without even trying.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

Nice but slightly difficult. Oh well, I'll beat it eventually

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

Hey, on dropbox.com, right click on your index.html file, hit 'Copy Public Link', and paste *that* as your 'Web' link instead.

It'll make it infinitely easier for people to test your game :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40am

Couldn't run it on Chrome. Worked on IE. If anyone else has issues starting the game, try that.

The sharks may be a bit too aggressive; best strategy ends up being idling near the beach when there's a handful of redshirts left; any further and you'll be rammed to death before you can cross a fifth of the field.

Nice idea. The graphics did their job, but some basic audio would have helped the game feel more dynamic.

Good work.

parDal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

Sorry dude, you lost this pun.

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=27397

Trilby says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Those voices made me jump. Lol

Like nddrylliog said. Please share the public link of your html file to make it easier for people to run it. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:52am

Nice game and great with a little story too!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59am

The font color make the description a bit hard to read. The cocept is interesting though. :)

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Interesting concept, I kind of liked the bird's eye view.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:43am

Hi. Nice idea. Graphics tricky to control and a bit small, though I see why you do that to get a big play area. Rescued all except 2 on easy. Like the rescued red surfer sound!

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:06pm

The idea is nice, good entry for a first Ludum Dare.

elefantopia says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:07am

The graphics are a bit too small to see what was going on. Still, this is an interesting game. The audio is weird, but humorous. This is a good entry.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]