Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Down

by Cheetoturkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Press the right Arrow key for Controls
Also you can click the left mouse button to shoot
And Zombies DONT come out until night time which is 12:00

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#626Audio2.63
#955Humor1.85
#1088Theme2.39
#1112Mood2.25
#1162Innovation2.13
#1217Graphics1.87
#1230Fun1.82
#1255Overall2.03

Comments

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

I fell down the pit and couldnt get out anymore :( Other than that, good job, liked the music.

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30am

I loved the main piano theme. Charming. Also got a zombie jumping on my head while I lost no lives, which made me laugh. :)

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

I like the concept but it felt quite rough. For example the collision detection went completely bonkers and made me float around in the walls. This persisted even after I died.

Thinking in Minecraft terms I thought I could build myself a shelter but that didn't really work since the zombies spawned inside of it. :)

Anyway, good job!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I'm missing something...I wanted to see instructions, but right-click only brings up this little window that says "Go Fullscreen, About Unity Player, Setup". I don't know what I'm supposed to do...

Cheetoturkey says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Heyy Chaoseed Its the right Arrow key not mouse button

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I liked the music. Would be nice if there were a few zombies arriving from earlier on, had to fast forward to get some action and then a tonne of zombies spawned at once :)

longshorts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Music is good, but it really isn't clear at the start what the goal is. Just putting walls somewhere? And then the zombies go through them. I was a little confused.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Fell down the pit and couldn't climb out, but the piano music definitely set a good mood to this.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Pretty good! The music was great, right at the start I accidentally placed a wall in front of the starting room and then I couldn't get out.

uRLgR3y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

There is a glitch where you can walk to a wall and jump into the wall.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27pm

game is a bit bugged, I never succeded to open the shop, a menu opens when I right click, never managed to shoot anything, zombies never dealt damage to me and I could walljump to climb almost anything.

Beside those small things I think that with a little more work this could be a great game.

Cheetoturkey says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

So i fixed the collision issues but does anyone know if im allowed to upload that version with the collisions fixed?...Sorry this is my first ludum dare.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

Needs some polish especially a reset button but a good start overall.

mark.goetz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:30am

I definitely liked the music, but honestly I thought the controls were a little frustrating. I couldn't get my character to do what I wanted him to do. It's also sort of unclear what you should be doing. Keep at it though!

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Couldn't get this to launch on my mac, unfortunately.

ruthiepee says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:41pm

The controls are confusing-- I couldn't get the character to move where I wanted it to, especially when it comes to jumping diagonally. I'm not sure what you're supposed to do in the game either. Maybe you should list that among the controls too.

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Great piano music. Couldn't figure out how to jump higher or shoot. And I also went through the walls haha

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Nice music. The colors made it difficult to see vs the background. The controls are a bit difficult. Interesting idea though.

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:34am

The music was freaking awesome. Controls didn't feel right and I kept getting stuck.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]