Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Running Blind

by Balloonsfor600 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and it was a blast. I think it came out pretty well. I spent last week creating a rough framework for a hex game in Phaser. I had a bunch of strategy game plans for many of the other themes.

When the theme got announced as Beneath The Surface my plans did a complete 180. I ended up going with Unity and absolutely everything was built this weekend.

This was my first time ever doing sound and music. I found it an interesting experience.

Anyhow, this is Running Blind, an endless runner set underground (beneath the surface). You play as a hapless amnesia-stricken adventurer named Erik. Press space to jump and left shift to brighten your lamp to ward off ghosts. Watch your lamp's oil level in the top left. It will recharge after a point, but there's a delay, so don't get caught by ghosts with a dim lamp!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#297Graphics3.60
#313Mood3.29
#330Fun3.30
#400Humor2.67
#534Audio2.81
#544Overall3.19
#623Theme3.19
#999Innovation2.45

Comments

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Wow beautiful. Hard but beautiful :D I had fun!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35am

Love the atmosphere you've created! Definitely getting a subterranean vibe from this one. Nice work :)

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

EAT FLASHLIGHT BLOBBY GHOST FIENDS!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Hey congrats on your first LD!
What did you use for the music?

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Very pretty! Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26am

Thanks all!

@PapyGaragos - I used Bosca Coil by Terry Cavanagh http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/

Super awesome tool.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28am

Really nice game, the music is a bit repetitive, but all in all a very nice piece of work.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

Looks good.. I liked the sliding after hitting something, thats a good touch...

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34am

Nice game. I really like the visuals and how you took the existing premise of an endless runner and added the lighting aspect.

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice and fun little game ! It's a bit addictive :P

The music is a bit repetitive.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Yeah, great entry. The graphic combination is interesting and works very well with the lightning engine. Simple but fun, nice game!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45pm

nice simple idea, lots of fun. The graphics were good, and the lighting was a nice touch. Would be fun to play on a phone, great job! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:03am

nice job on your first entry. i really enjoyed the game. it would be nice to have just a wee bit more light. nice job.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04pm

challenging,simple and fun! I liked it!

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Is there any way to avoid the ghosts? I could only find the jump button but that gets me nowhere.

Anyway, I love the graphics and mostly the colour pallet that you have chosen.

This was my first LD too, and while it was an interesting and fun experience, doing music and sound for the first time was really frustrating for me. so I ended up without a main theme song for my game.

Really good entry! Nice job!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34pm

The menu music is looped weird. But the in game music is perfect wouldn't even be able to tell it was a first time. Overall you set the mood perfectly and difficulty in light of flappy bird is decently frustrating. Well done!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Simple but fun game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22am

This was very well done. I'm a little surprised at how few endless runners I've seen so far this LD, and I love a good endless runner. Good job!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:01am

Love this game. Maybe it is a bit too dark for me, but fun to play.

Lucio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Very challenging. Lovely visuals!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:29am

Very nice. Good first LD game!
(As it happens, I also made an endless runner, if you'd like to take a look.)

Sim00n says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:10pm

The graphics are amazing for a 48 hour production. I love the simplicity of this concept and I genuinely played a couple of times instead of "moving on" to rate other games. The one thing I couldn't figure out is why does the play move back in the camera window and how to bring him back forward? Great job!

May 3, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Thanks everyone!

@Sim00n - he does that when he hits the corner of a pit just right. It reduces his velocity for a few frames (unintentionally). Post-compo, I have a plan to fix this without removing it (I kinda like the stumble, but he needs to get his butt back on screen as quickly as possible).

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Lovely little game, after getting the hang of it, its quite addictive! Artwork is great, especially the background and lighting. Erik is quite endearing! Its a little repetitive.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Nice simple game, got a big jumpy framerate at times, and I'm on quite a fast PC. Very charming :)

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:05pm

The art is beautiful ! I like that the character is so big in the screen ! good use of the space :)

May 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

haha, nice game! the dying sound sounds like a fart though : D and the background music is catchy but to short to be heard longer than a minute i think : D

still great work and a fun game! Looking forward to your next one

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I definitely played it quite a few times to try and get further so you've got the fun factor down. I did feel like dodging the rocks was too hard because it was only a fraction of second of time you'd have before they messed you up. Maybe I'm just not very good at it :)

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I'm not a fan of runners, but you made a good job. I really liked the art and lighting.

Gamepopper says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Like the designs. Good job!

GarethIW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:37am

Simple, fun, hard. Nice visuals!

CoderMusgrove says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:34am

Wow this was a lot of fun! After ever loss I found myself replaying it, and not with any anger built up! The feel given to it was amazing. My favorite part were the visual effects. The music and sounds that you had in it just fit great! Great job!

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:21am

I'm terrible at endless runners, but a good, solid entry.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:24pm

A solid entry with some good artwork. I think it's tricky tying the difficulty of the game to screen brightness. I got the feeling that if I could crank the brightness of my screen any higher I'd do a lot better, especially dodging rocks. But darkness is kind of your theme, so I'm not sure of a good way around it. Perhaps having a very sudden fall-off in brightness at the edge rather than a more linear fall-off. Or perhaps putting a "calibration" screen in there to have some standard for the brightness setting you're supposed to play at. Anyway, just some thoughts for how to improve things, but overall well done!

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:05am

Takes a little getting used too and once you do it feels a little repetitive tbh. jump, jump, flash. The rocks are a little annoying to spot as well. Getting rid of ghost though was a rewarding experience and I wish it had more things like that.

~AlucardX60

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:29am

Nice little runner game here. Seems like the player character is a little big for the style of game but runner games are not my field of expertise. Atmospheric!

Pitoum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Very hard but nice mechanic with the lamp :)

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:29am

cool game, I had fun playing it and think you should do more LDs!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]