Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oshan: Exploring The Endless Deep Ocean Humans Left Behind

by kiririn51 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in a day because I scrapped my original project.

This is a experimental game where you just wander around discovering stuff in the deep ocean.

"The world has ended, and Dana has the mission of exploring the great ocean in search for what humanity left behind"

There is no goal, the game is about wander around discovering items, which are generated randomly everytime you start the application. No scores, no enemies, just you and the deep ocean.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#23Graphics4.44
#292Humor2.89
#483Mood3.06
#659Theme3.15
#928Overall2.79
#956Innovation2.53
#1051Audio1.35
#1149Fun2.18

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00am

Hey! Your web link just goes to your Twitter. Is there a direct link available?

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

this game is weird i like it

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

Amazing arts :D

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

Really lovely art. Sometimes the text go out of the screen and you can't read them.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

Art is gorgeous, love the palette. Neat take on the theme-- loved the NOPE skeleton. Must admit I also nope'd right out of there.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

Whoa the title screen.

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Greats graphics and some fun places.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

That's very nice art. Pity there wasn't more of a coherent story built through the exploration though to up the mood.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

totally agree on what nxT says =D if you could have put some atmospherical music in there it would have been even better=)

Nnoel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53pm

If you had more time, this could go places. Like the art.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07am

Hehehe interesting, but I kept thinking "now something kinky will happen" when I got near to the octopi :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

The art is amazing!!!!!!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

cool art :3

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37am

A very nice game, simple mechanics, beautiful art. For me, not really fulfilling the theme to much, and lacks some basic audio, maybe.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Great choice of colour palette and I like the art style altogether. Would have been nice with some soothing music with it :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22am

I love the art in the entry. Perhaps some more time on gameplay would have made this entry really amazing. Never-the-less, great job!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57pm

This was quite pretty, nice job (:

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Too bad you had to scrap your original project, althought this wasn't too bad either. Don't lose your way.

Lovely graphics, just slap some audio on it, fix the bugs (objects spawn over other objecst) and give the player some inertia and it'd be pretty good already.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Is the endless deep ocean perhaps made of LCL ._. I saw that empty uniform!

Not bad at all for 24 hours. Like the other posters, I'd like to see this fleshed out and polished a little bit more, with more sound and gameplay added.

Something you might want to pay attention to: when you just press the right or left key, you don't go in a circle. Instead, it's an oval... It looks like you might want to go under the hood of your physics engine a little bit more.

Thanks for the game!

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Love that anime-style title screen! Kawaii!

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Actually I listened to "Ichinen Nikagetsu Hatsuka" while playing it, which makes up the absence of audio a bit, and then the game playing feels quite good! I can see you put much endeavor into making this game! Also, saw that K*** la K*** reference... XD

shadow64 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:12am

Hard for me to rate this as it's largely an unfinished work. I would've liked it more if the rumble of the ship when it's moving was present when it stopped. As someone else mentioned, inertia would be nice.

It's interesting that the "treasure" is random, but I don't know if I can call this a game so much as some lovely artwork.

All the same, I appreciate the art and I hope you flesh it out later. I'd love to see what it becomes because I feel like there's high potential here.

Thanks for sharing!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]