Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ShipMates

by friken - Jam Entry

Shipmates! What lies BENEATH THE SURFACE of a child's imagination? Join a grandfather and granddaughter on their fishing trip.

A little girl's imagination turns a boring fishing trip into a pirate adventure. The boring reflections turn into a pirate's dream. Help your grandpa fish by blasting some fish out of the water and he will help by giving you some targets to plunder. Voiceovers by my 7 y/o daughter :)

Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXrfKW0n_94&feature=youtu.be

SHIPMATES TEAM
--------------
Aki Morita (codemonkey++)
McKee Frazior (Art Factory and tunes)
Jason Bunn (codemonkey)
Shawn Williams (codemonkey)
Juan Pablo Reyes (codemonkey)
Aaron Hollingsworth (codemonkey)
Veronica Hollingsworth (art audio)
Katie Hollingsworth (Voices)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#11Graphics(Jam)4.66
#32Audio(Jam)4.07
#74Theme(Jam)3.80
#83Mood(Jam)3.83
#104Humor(Jam)3.46
#120Overall(Jam)3.63
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#388Fun(Jam)2.97

Comments

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

"Bad file length" on web player, "File not found" on OS X download.

hiiii5 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very fun and interesting, the topic leaves me remembering my childhood and all of it's imaginary scenarios. The only two true issues I can think of are the audio of the two main characters seemingly being unbalanced between each other, and no record of fish being caught.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

controls are a little bit tricky. but otherwise a really neat experience. graphics and the voice of the girl are awesome

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Fixed the OSX link. Webplayer is working for me. Anyone else seeing the webplayer mess up?

RE: Controls, yeah I'd love to have tweaked them a lot more. Ran out of time/Zzzz....

RE: fish caught.. there is a record and used to dictate ending. Ending dialog is based on if fish were caught and ships sunk. Basically... simply if fish were caught and ships sunk happy shipmates, otherwise one or both complain.

mariscal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Tried the webplayer version, love the art!! Really good work guys, music, voice, presentation... congratulations!

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

It is fun. I love the style and illumination, and of course the voices :D Great game!
A nice touch would be to be able to rotate the entire scenario and swap between the two points of view.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

jomacel, great feedback. We originally planned to have the imagination/reflection and reality sides swap depending on which was winning out and fading to normal reflections if losing out... but about 3/4 into the 72 hours it just wasn't in the cards to get that far :)

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

I never figured out if there was a point to this, but it didn't matter. I had fun playing around. Graphics, sound, mood, everything is awesome about this one. And interesting interpretation of the theme. A lot more could be done with this reflection/imagination thing :)

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Great graphics and innovative concept. Grandpa is a bit creepy.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

heh.... my 7 y/o daughter insisted on doing the voice of the girl AND grandpa... so yeah, grandpa is a bit rough.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

You forgot to include the data part in the Linux Download.
Please drop me a tweet @tinyworlds when it's ready (or under my game) and I'll check it out! ;)

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36pm

@Rick Hoppmann thanks for the catch. Linux build is now updated with the data.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03am

Yay Shipmates! I helped make this! It was lots of fun.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

Awesome audio and visual! Interesting theme using. Good stuff guys!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice ambient, everything is related, i enjoyed to play.
Very nice game guys, gratz :)

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great job man!!! Awesome work!!!

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Grandpas voice is creepy! Loved the graphics and presentation. Controls were a little bit fiddly but great game!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Aww that was so cute.
Good job with the art, audio and controls, it all fits together really well

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:21am

Can't understand what I should to do. But feature with reflection is very cool. game needs the purpuce and life meaning, I think =)

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice small game. Like the voiceover.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:42pm

What a lovely entry! Really nice mood, superb interpretation of the theme, and oh that voice acting :-)
Really enjoyed it, wished there would have been more to the gameplay to be able to play longer.

friken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:27pm

@Maschinen, thanks for the kind words. This was my second gamejam and the biggest regret was not putting more time to the core game mechanic. We had so much more planned that just didn't make it. Oh well, there is always next time right?

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Visuals and sounds are beautiful and so refreshing ! I feel a "soul" in this game, I mean it is not only 0 and 1, but characters are alive... even if I was unable to understand what to do !

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:51am

Wow, amazing graphics and mood.

jsmars says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:58am

Amazing graphics and audio! Voices made this spectacular!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]