Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Avenge Them!

by BoTreats - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dawn the armour of the knights to find your family's murderer! You will surely die trying, so make the correct choice! WASD to move, Space to execute!

All content made with Unity, Visual Studio, GIMP, sfxr, and MilkyTracker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#166Mood3.56
#223Audio3.32
#326Humor2.81
#613Innovation2.97
#676Graphics2.97
#691Fun2.87
#754Overall2.97
#1051Theme2.48

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I respect that senselessly murdering an innocent is not explicitly identified as as a failure.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

You gotta get both endings to get the full effect of this game. Clearly you're a man who understands honour. I liked the smoke puff effects a lot.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12pm

That death screen though :P Well made!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Short but effective.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Loved the work in the graphics. But however I was unsure what I was supose to be doing (Because I did not read the note) Which most average players will skip if possible or just not read it at all.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I think the core concept is very cool, but the game is yearning for variety! After the first kill it would be nice to see perhaps some of the other patrons realize you are there to kill and try to stop you, or to add some kind of scenario where there is a time limit or something.

It would also be nice if the movement had been smoothed out so that holding a directional button would animate without the start-stop effect. I hope you keep on working to polish this up! :D

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Short, simple, nice idea. I liked it! :) Well done!

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

The smoke and audio really work with the dark theme.

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26pm

very good atmosphere with the smoke and music! finding the knight was a bit too easy. maybe only hints instead of an image?

elliottd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42am

that shit is dope as fuck

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08am

^

XenosNS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Love the idea of sneaking in and finding the knight.
I wonder how often they trip on those codpiece cape things.

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Had really nice smoke effects. Was kind of easy and short, but good!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:40am

Hi. Great idea. Think maybe the first level is a bit big, but found him in the end. Love the atmosphere, very nice layered smoke and music.

mark.goetz says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:02am

I really like how you use the smoke and music to get your mood across. And it seems like the antagonist is randomly generated each time? I'm in agreement with there needing to be some visual polish - the main character's walk animation, the blockiness of the dialog font, the death effects, etc. - as well as polishing of the concept - where are you, why is it that the other knights would come kill you, etc. There's actually an Adult Swim game called Westerado that has this basic gameplay mechanic, and it would be really cool to take your medieval spin on it and flesh it out a bit. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]