Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bitxl's Kool Place

by nigelmnz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-= Description =-
You're helping Bitxl debug his simulation. Two "endings" to find! (It may take a moment to load.)

-= Controls =-
WASD : Move
Space : Dialogue
F: Full Screen

-= Tools =-
- Language : Javascript
- Library : Phaser.io
- Graphics : Illustrator
- Audio : Bfxr

-= Creator Comments =-
My first Ludum Dare entry! I interpreted the "surface" here to be the game itself. Initially, this was going to be an "actual" puzzle-platformer thing, but time constraints forced my hand. This is the result.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#8Humor4.24
#15Innovation4.32
#122Theme3.82
#189Fun3.52
#276Mood3.34
#308Overall3.44
#821Audio2.22
#902Graphics2.62

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

short but fun

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

It got me to laugh out loud, really great humor. If you adapt this into a longer game later I would actually love to play it.

Chris Mondok says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

The game is quite funny, but a little short. I think.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

Hehe! Love the concept. Good job!

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54am

Funny and very interesting! Please make a long game out of this! I love it!

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

Did you take some inspiration from Stanley parable? The narration was funny :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

That was really funny! :)

It lagged terribly for me though, so much that I had to stop playing it after not too long :s

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

I would love to see an actual game using this system. Pretty good idea.

Jerick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

I loved this, not at all what I was expecting!

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Great for what was there! I wish it was longer.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

I loved when i needed to look at the source code at the background, what about people that dont make games? How they will think? haha!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04am

This is short. Simple. Fun.
I found the 2nd ending and other than reading the source code, I pressed the button and wow xD

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45am

Fantastic :) I giggled on "this is embarassing" :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

I really wish there was more. There's a lot of stuff you could do with this concept. Love it! :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Hey congrats on your first LD! That's a clever take on the theme, and it's pretty funny too.

Think about us, poor azerty users, in your next compo :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hi... Love the whole concept... tiny avatar size 1 many lols. Such a shame not loads more levels... this could be teaching people to program... develop more!!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very good, too bad it's so short.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

It's a really cool idea for a game!

Alucard J says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Interesting idea, could make some interesting gameplay by exposing variables like gravity and time. Not sure if I found the second ending unless it involved brussel sprouts. I did break a wall though.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Hahahahahahaha. So funny xD

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:37am

Cool idea, this could turn into a great JS/phaser.js learning tool.

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

Awesome proposes.... really nice mechanic ,,, very interesting game!!!

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19am

I love this concept! Brilliant just purely brilliant. I really REALLY wish this was longer. Giving the player the ability to edit the source code of your game as part of the gameplay, I love it.

eonarheim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:27am

I really enjoyed this! I like the idea of changing the game by modifying the variables "beneath the surface". Definitely appreciated the sense of humor, got a few laughs out of me. It's like the Stanley Parable of Ludum Dare!

jedeen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:21am

Very entertaining.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:35am

This is seriously a great idea, you should most definitely expand on it!

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I just loved the concept ! It took me a long time to figure out the last part (but that's only because I try to look at the

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I just loved the concept ! It took me a long time to figure out the last part (but that's only because I try to look at the actual source code I guess)

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Extremely short, but lots of lols :D

May 2, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Interesting, fun game! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

end3r says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Funny game with the cool concept of coding your way through, I'm totally in.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:46am

Ha, this is great :D

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Lol very funny and perfect for the audience =D

psychonull says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:56pm

I just want to keep playing this!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]