Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

C=AVERUNNER

by MrShortee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple autorunner with a musical touch.
Collect coins and avoid stalactites/stalagmites.
(Sound is highly recommended!)

My first game with Construct2. Done in about 20h.
(And by 'first' I mean: I installed it wednesday evening :D )

KNOWN ISSUES:
sometimes objects get spawned out of rythm :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#243Audio3.28
#314Graphics3.57
#347Mood3.23
#607Fun2.96
#672Overall3.07
#823Theme2.94
#844Humor2.03
#1134Innovation2.19

Comments

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

Stiff controls. Enjoyed the fast pacing. Challenging game.

Also could you provide your .capx file? That would be great.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

Great contrast on the graphics, really liking them!

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

Great atmosphere. The graphics and sound effects are very good!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Lovely aesthetic, good sound. Double-jump useful!

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice graphics and audio, but there isn't much to differentiate it from other infinite runners in terms of mechanics.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

I love the art. The sounds are great, too! Not sure if it's just me, but jumping feels buggy in Chrome. Idk.

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

I like the looks and style of this very much. Nice game, only, as other noted already, not much new gameplay, but the game was still fun!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

The aesthetic of the game is nice, but i died several time without understanding why: I was not noticing the rocks

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Good graphics, sound and gameplay :D
A bit hard at first but very enjoyable :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

Loading bar went upto about 95% but stopped loading. I'm using the latest chrome.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice Bit.Trip Runner style audio and pleasing graphics

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

The musical coins are interesting, and the art is pretty nice, but I found the low visibility of the rocks highly frustrating.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57am

Solid overall. Lovely graphics, my gf commented on this as she walked past. WHY AM I DYING. ahh.. the rocks (After i read the comments to find out why) As a major gameplay element they need to stand out more like the coins & lantern things. Smooth game.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

thanks for the comment, i enjoyed caverunner as well. unfortunately i completely suck at this type of game, but i liked the atmosphere! well done!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

I really like the graphics. The white mushrooms confused me a bit though, I thought I had to jump over them at first.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Loved the feeling of depth with the background, cool audio and graphics

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Pretty good. The controls were difficult, but the rest of the game was good. Nice job :)

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Not the most original game mechanics ever (It's the most difficult part, imo). Really dig the audio, though!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

This game will put you into a trance. I really really liked it (and I don't like runners) The graphics are beautiful under ground-y, quite inspiring actually.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

great job on this its pretty addictive

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

the double jump led to a weird glide mechanic i think.

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

I only played until my high score of 14 then had to attend a meeting for addicts XD Good stuff!

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53pm

i like the ambiance
perhaps a bit hard for me
good job if you just discovered construct.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Cool mood and nice graphics, a little basic but great overall :).

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Very nice runner. Would agree on making the obstacles a little more apparent. Well done tho :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Great job for your first Construct2 game. The musical coins was an interesting idea and the aesthetics really drew me in.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:21am

Wow great job for learning new software the graphics and sounds where amazing and the gameplay was solid!

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:18am

Fabulous! I really enjoyed that a lot! The controls were super solid - the double jump was a happy surprise

xhunterko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:45am

The randomness seemed to jumpy to me. Neat idea, could use a bit more work if you decide to do more with it.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice little game, a bit hard.

Moosefly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Gave it a few tries, 110 was my final score. Pretty good, but too slow. There were sometimes long strips of land with only mushrooms on them. Some of the coins were also placed so that they were cruelly hard to pick up. The beat also starts getting interesting too late. Still managed to get maybe 1 or 2 good tunes out of it. Jumping didn't feel too good, you should add some inertia to the player character. Juicing the game up (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg) would've made it feel a lot better.

Good job on your first Construct2 game.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

TobiasW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:49am

I read the description, but I'm a man with short memory - when the game started and a lot of mushrooms came, I thought I had to jump over them, haha. I was very confused that they made a sound (that I believed to be "crashing") even when I clearly jumped over them - and then I suddenly died without any mushroom in sight! Once I finally concentrated on the stalactites/stalagmites, everything got a lot easier. Good job on combining visual and audio elements!

tehryanx says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:22pm

finished with 60points fun game!

pereubu says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Cool idea. I suppose it's highly inspired by Bit trip Runner but it kinda felt really different while playing it. As the others said, the feedbacks on the rocks/obstacles might be a bit poor but anyway, cool entry :D

May 10, 2014 @ 8:09am

Nice job for 20 hrs. I ended up with about 50 pts. Nice visuals and mood. Would work on some more and polish as much as possible.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]