Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tank Game

by perfect victim - Jam Entry

Take your tank to battle a horde of aliens .

so what are you waiting for ... go



this game is NOT finished but works
have fun
grts
perfect victim

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#524Audio(Jam)2.65
#622Fun(Jam)2.43
#629Humor(Jam)1.78
#720Mood(Jam)2.03
#737Overall(Jam)2.26
#743Graphics(Jam)2.05
#747Innovation(Jam)1.90
#762Theme(Jam)1.47

Comments

helekopeter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

cool game!!!

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Off-theme

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

@Recon
the second level is underground , blame it on my bad graphics if you didn't noticed ;)
thanks for playing .

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

1. Off-theme
2. Doesn't look too promising
3. Unfinished

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Nice one! The control system took a little getting used to, but once I had, it was pretty playable (although it was a little too easy to get stuck on corners). I like the music!

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06am

Too bad it's unfinished...looks fun!

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I like tanks! Could control the tank quite good and did like to kill those aliens. Crashed at the blue towers though. It would have been great to have kind of savepoints. Nonetheless good game!

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Where's the theme!?

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22pm

If was a little difficult to tell the orientation of the tank. And the game doesn't really have anything to do with the theme...

MyrddinsOwl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:30am

Pretty solid! If I could change one thing, its the color of the turret. It's hard to tell which way it's facing, which is obviously important. Switch the graphics to make this a submarine, make the tiles blue, and you're back on theme.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:22am

I couldnt see where i was aiming, there was not enough contrast

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I liked the controls, Except for the fact that there was very little feedback on my turrets orientation as it blended in with the tank body really well. I ended up taking allot of unnecessary hits because I had to shoot to see where I was aiming, As such I wasn't able to make it very far :(

May 4, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Maneuvering tank is bit difficult and it's "above the surface" haha

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:00am

For a not finished game it's not bad. Once you realise the strengths of the tank you can get past most of the enemies without taking damage. A little more polish and you could be onto something. Well done.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nice audio and interesting controls. The engine is solid!

DraKlaW says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:58pm

controls hard to handle, theme not exploited.

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:42pm

it desperately needs more polish and better level design, but for a ludum twinstick it's kinda impressive.

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Surprisingly engaging for an unfinished game, got my ass whooped "beneath the surface". The graphics weren't too good, I couldn't even read that buttonmap. Music was fitting, but the sound effects were somewhat irritating. Played fine with a controller, but you should probably set some deathzones on those analog sticks so that the turret stays where the stick was released. Also it felt like my weapons were getting worse whenever I managed to get a new one :(.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:51pm

The tank has no reverse gear:(
I can't easily tell which way the turret is pointing because it doesn't stand out:(

It has a tank:)
What does this have to do with the theme???

May 11, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I didnt really get the theme from it, but its a good start! I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]