Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gasping for Light

by chagroo - Jam Entry

(Designed for Windows desktop machines)

Gasping for Light is a top down 2D survival/maze game and this is my first time making a game for Ludum Dare.

This game is made in Visual Studio 2010 with XNA 4.0
In the future if I make a game again for Ludum Dare I will probably choose something else to make it with.

How to Install:
Unpack the .rar file and run the setup.exe and it should install all the required files and be playable right away.

How to play:
*Use W and S (or arrow keys) to move forward and backwards and in the menu to navigate buttons.
*Click the left mouse button to activate a shield that will protect you
*Press ESC to exit the game.
You need to beat the game by reaching the surface again at level 21 by climbing ladders/stairs.
You can walk over blue crystals to increase your light meter.

The story and more detailed instructions can be found in the game itself.
Thank you for reading and enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#565Audio(Jam)2.44
#626Mood(Jam)2.53
#645Theme(Jam)2.50
#649Innovation(Jam)2.38
#683Overall(Jam)2.53
#693Fun(Jam)2.20
#754Graphics(Jam)1.81
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:36pm

welcome to Ludum Dare, hope you had fun! this entry is a bit simple but the sound effects made a good mood.

Agreon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Cool Idea

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Just played for a few minutes, and the collision bugs really got on my nerves.
But the idea is good

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Congratulations for doing a game. Its a bit simple, and I recognize that I was a bit lost playing, but good try!

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:09pm

That music is some of the scariest stuff I've heard in a while! I enjoyed the game :) Kept getting stuck to the walls which was annoying. I would suggest adding proper pathfinding to the enemies but then the game might become impossible :P

kibertoad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I like how you draw the corpses.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Idea is nice, maybe controls can use more work, but I have fun playing the game ;)

May 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Interesting game concept, I liked playing it. The control scheme was a bit clumsy, but I could eventually get used to it. The limited light makes the sudden monster encounters fairly effective.

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:32am

Collision was off.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]