Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Wolf beneath the Surface

by hathol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

3D Assassins Creed meets Pacman.

From the design doc:
You�re a predator in the streets of Victorian London. Sniff out your prey and take them down when the opportunity is there. But you have to be careful for there are others, and for them *you* are the prey.

Controls: WASD + Mouse

Developed using:
- Unity3D
- Maya
- Photoshop
- Bosca Ceoil (http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/)

My first ever Ludum Dare and it was pretty amazing. I'll probably write some more tomorrow, but now I need sleep.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#474Mood3.07
#685Audio2.52
#767Graphics2.83
#899Fun2.62
#948Innovation2.54
#965Humor1.83
#1036Overall2.67
#1179Theme2.12

Comments

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:06pm

It has a nice mood on it! Thanks for this.

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

The game freeze in title screen. (Chrome + Windows Vista)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Quite Fun! I really enjoyed playing it! Unity is a powerful tool, if you know how to use it, of course! ;)

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Found it very difficult as the victims were usually always moving with the enemies. Nice lighting in the environment - helps set the mood :)

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Lovely environment. Sometimes it's a bit hard to make out the vigilantes, they surprised me on several occasions.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Nice graphics and mood. I found it a bit too easy. In any case, good job! :-)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Really enjoy it! I was only disturbed by the not animated people, it didn't break the whole game. (?, excuse my english please :D)

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Loved it, feels very nice and the mood is pretty much perfect. The artwork is very nice.

Only had a couple of issues, when up the top right of the map my view was obscured by a building and sometimes it is difficult to make out the vigilante.

Well done sir!

GrooveMan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:45pm

A really cool concept. That the enemy units will still attack you if you haven't killed anyone yet feels a bit off. That there was no sound effect upon catching prey was a bit of a shame =c

hathol says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Probably about time I say thanks for all the great feedback guys. Much appreciated! :) Art took me way longer than expected (I'm really out of practice), so I couldn't get a lot of the things I wanted in. But I promise I will work on a post compo build as soon as my time allows it :)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Pretty cool game. I feel like it'd be great with a few different levels or just a little something to add some more complexity to it, but what you've got is definitely solid.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]