Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Free Fall

by Warzone Gaming - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second LD I have entered, and I am so stoked at how the game turned out! Last LD my game was glitched, unfinished, sloppy, and I turned it in seconds left. This game went so smoothly and quickly, I was astonished in the fact I completed my best game so smoothly and quickly with 24 hours to spare.

Free fall is a game where a unfortunate miner fell into a endless pit during and earthquake, and you must maneuver him away from the out sloping rocks for as long as you can. Beware of falling boulders, they kill me the majority of the time XD.

Everything thing in this game spawns randomly, but I do notice patterns occasionally. Ignore them if you can. The part of the game I put the most pride in is the body part flying apart everywhere. This game features some exceptional little effects that make the game so much more worth it.

EVEN IF I PLACE ON THE BOTTOM 99%, I still count this as a win! I have learned so much during the LD and my art has improved so much during this time. I love the thrill of learning new things and succeeding, and fortunately, I have been able to do both with this game. I'm so excited that I am able to turn the game in 44 hours early and not rush to cram the game in like last time. GOODLUCK WITH YOU GAMES!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#115Humor3.41
#472Audio2.89
#618Fun2.95
#649Theme3.16
#931Mood2.56
#1007Overall2.70
#1034Graphics2.42
#1117Innovation2.23

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

*Note!
The game does track how many meters you have fallen, but in web (at least for me) the top bar blocks where the score is kept. You can probably adjust it to get a better view of score.

ceosol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

The miner's face is hilarious. Nice job for how quickly you produced it.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I liked it, some of the gaps when falling were nearly impossible to fit through

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This was an enjoyable little endless runner type of game. The only real issue was that the way the background graphics moved hurt my eyes a bit. Anyways, nice job!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Ludum Dare is not about the ratings your entry receives. It's about finishing something in 48 (or 72) hours. Which you did. Be proud! :)

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Some gaps are impossible, the boulders are a guaranteed SPLOSH, but I couldn't stop playing thanks to that miner waving his arms and the untz untz. I found it actually funny :D

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

For some reason this reminds me of the jetski levels from Battle Toads. Fun, yet very very hard. (The rock falling from the top of the screen made me sooooo mad.)

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Heh, funny n.n

Shame some of the obstacles are a little unfair (I literally had two ledges that were touching each other, completely blocking the path).

But since the game is about the UNLUCKIEST miner IN THE WORLD, I reckon it only makes sense...

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Nice entry. I sometimes had impossible places where the whole area was blocked. Quite unlucky. haha :/

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Somme gaps seem to be impossibles but good game!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Very cool.

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

kind of frustrating :-P... sometimes a rock will appear and no amount of reaction time will save me... need to just be lucky

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Not the best game to be, but not the worst one too. Good luck next time :D

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Re your description: Totally. I think Ludum Dare has always been intended to be more about learning and having fun than about winning.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00pm

@ Everybody complaining about impossibility...
Yea, It can be a real pain. Fortunately, I was able to trim down the possibility of it happening. There's almost no chance of it happening (but there still is some chance). Haha, the way I see it, ur gonna die eventually, why not nowXD. Yeah, im sorry for that glitch, I hope it doesn't bother any more players

@Party Boat... Sorry for that

@Barking Cat... Haha, I love his arms waving the way it does, everytime I see them, I think of a random dude streaking at a beach, except in a cave, and upside down.

@Gaeel... Indeed he is a very unfortunate miner... Especially when his head and legs fly off from his unfortunate predicament.

@Voidqk... That's what makes it fun bro XD


@Everybody... Thankyou for all those great things you've said about the game, I was worried you may not like it, but I was pleasantly surprised that you enjoyed the game. The game meant a lot to me, and I'm glad it meant a lot to you too.

Goodluck with your games! Godbless.
#WAVY ARMS!!!!!!!!

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Overall pretty fun game. The scrolling background was a little painful. Love the little man!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19am

I really like the sense of mystery that comes with this game, I enjoyed exploring around and the sounds of the robot-hand made me smile (:

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

Oops, that comment was for another game! Sorry! I tried playing this game but I don't have flash installed, it looks good though!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31am

Awesome! I really like the flying body parts and stuff! This reminds on of the other falling games, but this one is uniques and more fun! Great job! :D GameGrape Corporation: http://www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

Falling sub-theme is pretty good thinking, good job!

granut100 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

Awesome game! I really enjoy this!

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

BOOM TISS BOOM TISS BOOM TISS BOOM. Seriously cool soundtrack. It works well with the game. I found the tone to be a bit humorous. Great concept, good execution, but when the screen rumbled I expected something to change.

MrBlade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Cool game! Okay graphics, nice sounds, solid gameplay. A fun little endless runner. Since this is just a Stencyl game, I don't know why you don't just upload it to dropbox or something and have a web option, that's probably bringing down your number of players significantly. The background hurts my eyes some, and certain gaps are impossible to get through unless you are in the exact right spot at all times. Overall pretty good work, but it could use some more polish! I've uploaded the swf to my dropbox, feel free to use this as the "Web" option if you want. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/57962942/Free%20Fall/Free%20Fall.swf

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

@ CayoDaves... The rumbling is aftershock from the earthquake that knocked the unfortunate miner into the pit, and the aftershock is there to make things a little more difficult and to give the game another cool feature.

@MrBlades... I just updated with web version, although its pretty much the same as windows. I don't know why

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

.... Accidentally pressed submit comment... As I was saying.

I don't know why I didn't do that earlier, and I wish I had, Your probably right it did damage the number of plays. Thankyou for reminding me and thankyou for you comment:)

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

First thing that happened to me was two rocks spawned at the same Y location thus completely blocking my path. :( The blood and gibs are definitely cool though - more of that please! My game is quite similar to this. :)

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

Atleast you finished something. That's what LD is all about!
(The gibs was a nice touch!) :)

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

It is a very good game, reminiscent of this old games I used to play, of cars made of blocks, "racing", where you had to move left and right, and you had either 2 or 3 lanes...

Sadly, a few times, my fist obstacle was an impossible one.

Keep it up, great job for your first entry. If you ever need help in Unity, feel free to message me.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57am

I like things crashing to the ground. :) Thanks.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Cool game, pretty good although the background was really hard on my eyes! :)

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Fun light gore-ish falling game ;) Would have been nice to get some upgrades / variation. Surviving more than 1 hit would also be a good tension device. (first hit, just lose your hard-hat for example, then next = splut)

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I like this. When I was a kid I played a game like this on MS-DOS (yeah, I'm old). It used ASCII art and was called Pitfall (but wasn't THAT Pitfall from Activision).

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Awesome! I love the music in combination with the earthquakes! But I think the background could be better ;) Nice Game :P

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:35am

The effects are super good in this. Great work on that, plus the audio works great with the game. The little guy is hilarious to watch. I think the game is unfair though. Like you're not able to get past all obstacles. And sometimes a rock will just come out of no where and kill you. Controls could also be smoother. Really glad you had a great time making this, you done good

DarkEngineer says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice game and hard

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:31pm

liked the falling runner !

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:33pm

o Mohawk verde da formiga é um folha... :), agora está com o modelo final... dá para ver melhor.

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Green Mohawk ant is a leaf ... :), is now with the final model ... you can see better.

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I really enjoyed this game, but I don't know what my score is. I could not read it, nor was it shown after I died. Still a really fun game.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Funny game! I like the humor

May 4, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice little game but a bit too punishing for my taste. Sometimes it seems impossible to pass because of the slow velocity of the miner.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]